We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor booking management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Reviewed 9 May 2012

In December 2011 I booked a double room for myself and my husband to stay at the Ruthin Castle Hotel for 2 nights towards the latter part of March 2012, to attend a wedding.

Five days before we were due to arrive at the hotel,the hotel management left a message on our telephone ( we were away at that time) to inform us that the hotel was overbooked during the weekend of the wedding and alternative accommodation was being arranged. We retrieved the message 2 days later.

On arrival at Ruthin Castle Hotel on 24.3.12 we were taken to a nearby guesthouse which we found totally unacceptable. We were next taken to a local Inn which was a little better but still not up to the standard we expected. Nevertheless we accepted to stay there because it was getting late in the afternoon and we were due to join a dinner party.

On the whole we were extremely disappointed with the way the hotel managed our booking. We were told that the overbooking was due to refurbishment work running late. The hotel could have communicated with us at an earlier date and I cannot help feeling that their attempt to communicate with us was rather half hearted.

Because of the bad experience we would not recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank tourist190729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,983 - 1,989 of 2,253 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

Booked through work for a business trip and was very pleasantly surprised as i pulled up the drive and the very picturesque castle came into view. Interior of the hotel (reception, lounge etc) is decorated very nicely, warm but in keeping with the heritage of the building. Room was very nicely decorated, with great views over the castle ramparts, moat and grounds. Ordered room service which was a little slow but of good quality. Breakfast had a good selection....though i just stuck to continental. All staff members were very friendly, and i thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaunyp37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My partner booked this for us for my 40th birthday treat, it is a wonderfull place to stay, the food is absolutley fabulous and worth every penny. the staff are very helpfull as it can be a bit like a rabbit warren trying to find your way around. the grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. I throughly enjoyed my stay here and would recommend this to anyone. Thank you Ruthin Castle for making my 40th a wonderful experience

Room Tip: Pay that little bit extra for the rooms and you will not be disapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We purchased this 2 day break with KGB including breakfast for £99.

The castle has a very grand entrance, and we weren't disappointed with inside!

Upon arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded to a suite.

Room 311 - and it was fabulous. Huge room, 4 poster bed, flatscreen tvs in the bedroom and the bathroom.

Lovely big sunken bath, separate shower.

Beautiful views.

The dining rooms are very grand. Breakfast is continental and excellent, but you can pay extra for cooked.

The A La Carte seemed a bit pricy so we ate from the bar menu. Lovely homemade chips!

Only disappointment we had was the weather which was terrible!

And the peacocks which roam around the grounds are very noisy during the night!

Staff excellent.

Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiky39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Ruthin Castle is a beautiful place to stay for a couple of days.
I did find it strange to find, upon check in, that only one key is allocated to a room. I would recommend that they get some more keys cut

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emcdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had reservations about booking this hotel given the mixed reviews we had read but we need not have worried. From our arrival to departure the service was very good. We were greeted by a true castle with plenty of history and beutiful gardens to walk in giving a very tranquil feel.

Although the castle is undergoing a renovation at no time did it impact on our stay. The room we had was very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast although continental is more than enough and is served buffet style, a cooked breakfast is available if required. The castle is an ideal base to explore North Wales with lots of beautiful countryside on the doorstep. Ruthin is a lovely little town and is a mixture of medieavil and modern which reflects well with the castle.

We were there for two nights on a KGB deal but wished we had booked three we will definately return again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Visited Ruthin Castle for sunday meal with kids and parents, pre-booked table. Unfortunately on the day of our visit there was a wedding on the premises..Therefore we did not get enough attention to detail in respect of service and towards the end I had to chase staff to pay my own bill...probably could get away without paying at all..'Very good' rate of mine mainly belongs to the picturesque surroundings of the castle and nice decor of the place..food wise..I have ordered roast lamb, which was average..Prices are fine and expectable..I would suggest that this place will thrive with professional chef and well-trained staff..Would come back but would not tolerate rubbish service

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.4 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
384 reviews
39.9 km away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,718 reviews
26 km away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Conwy
1,337 reviews
32.5 km away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
32.9 km away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruthin Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthin Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Price Range: $165 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthin Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical Welsh hotel with mediaeval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on award winning cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ruthin Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Ruthin
Ruthin Castle Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing