We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
293
72
25
11
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
72
25
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private cinema cinema room sauna and steam room boutique hotel eggs benedict original art parking pass two nights lovely hotel full welsh breakfast two night stay dvd player bed was very comfortable both mornings market town local produce breakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 402 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and felt like VIPs from the minute we arrived until we left. Not once were we asked for our room number the whole time we were there, and the bill was completely accurate on leaving. The service was personal, discrete and efficient.

We ate on both the bar menu and a la carte, and both were delicious, although unusually, there were nothing on the dessert menu that evening I wanted.

We used the sauna which was lovely, and watched a DVD in our room. The steam room wasn't working.

There's nothing much else of note in Ruthin that we found. We enjoyed mountain biking and walking in the area.

All in all a lovely visit and we would recommend to anyone for a 'special' weekend, as it's not the cheapest place. We had a moneysupermarket deal for the stay, but we did spend more than we planned on food/drink in the hotel.

Room Tip: Oriel 5 is the suite, and is lovely, although the view from the bath is of the main road.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyB_Macc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed for an Anniversary weekend and had one of the smaller but very cosy rooms. I found the hotel really quirky, but in a good way. It is an old manor house and you really get that feel when you walk in. The Library, small but with a good choice of books and DVD collection was excellent. There is a small cinema in the basement, which looks fab but was a little too cold for us. There is a cosy drinking area for guests who are staying at the hotel and as there are only 8 rooms, there is only ever a maximum of 16 people staying. I think this is definately one of its plus points. The breakfast was excellent, with plenty to eat. If your staying over the weekend and don't want your sleep to be disturbed i recommend that you request a room which isn't next to the road. Our sleep was disturbed on both evenings, especially the saturday night at 3am. This however didn't have a negative effect on our break and i would definately stay here again. Although we didn't eat at the hotel it was busy on both evenings and all reviews of the food are excellent. For a great evening meal we went to the Star pub, which has a new menu and was excellent. It's a cosy little pub with an open log fire and a very good atmosphere. The meals were priced between £8.00 -£15.00 and were plentyful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxdiamonddazzlerxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2012

we recently stayed at this lovely hotel in the centre of Ruthin North Wales.
What a delight to be greeted by somebody (James in this case) who seemed to care you were a guest. Absolutely NOTHING was too much trouble for him. I don't know how he did it, but we never waited more than 30 seconds for his attention all weekend. the extensive dvd library and book collection was plentyful with lots of choice.

Room Tip: Ant room seemed impressive to us . ours w the 'basic' but it was more than up to the standard
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clive h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2012

A relaxing, easy-going place to stay. Comfortable, quiet, great service. All you need for a few days away.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the top of the stairs, but I expect that any rooms would be as described on the web site - ours was.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Service , food and room excellent. Could not have done enough for us.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidcroxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews