We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manorhaus Ruthin
Nearby Hotels
US$121
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Hotel(Ruthin)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Feathers(Ruthin)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plas Hafod Hotel(Gwernymynydd)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaufort Park Hotel(Mold)(Great Value!)
US$52
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coetmor(Ruthin)
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveller rating
289
71
25
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
71
25
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate cinemacinema roomboutique hotelsauna and steam roomwet roomeggs benedictoriginal artparking passtwo nightsfull welsh breakfasttwo night staybed was very comfortablekippersexcellent breakfastlocal produceboth morningsmarket town
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 396 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed February 2, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had our wedding reception here and were very well looked after by Gavin from first email of enquiry to the end of the night and beyond. Lovely food and setting, fantastic service and accommodation for some of our guests who stayed in the hotel. We couldn’t be happier with picking this for our venue. Thank you so much for helping to make our day so special!

Stayed: January 2018
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavinvharris, Owner at Manorhaus Ruthin, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Thank you for your kind comments and glad you both enjoyed your day. We enjoyed hosting your wedding and hope we can welcome you back another time. best wishes for the future.

Gavin & Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017

I Always love the Manorhaus. It has an indefinable something. Great food and rooms - suits the tranquil setting of Ruthin. Chris and Gavin as always the warmest of hosts. Peace from the moment we walk through the door.

Room Tip: All rooms have a different character.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2017

Booked for elderly mother who on arrival did not like the noise of the room that she was put in as was right on the main busy road so she ended up driving home the 3 hours in the evening.

She was advised on checked out by Gavin that a partial refund would be issued and so was at the time of leaving happy with that as she had not spent more than 10 minutes in the room and had no real complaint with the actual hotel other than noisy main road location. However, the owners decided to renege on their agreement to issue a partial refund and issued nothing at all. In fact when I queried this for my mother, the response from Chris was "if she does not like noise then she should have booked a hotel in the country".
Their response was appalling and in particular as the visit was to try and see a dying relative who unfortunately was not in on the day as was rushed in to hospital and passed away a day later. When this was communicated to the owners not a single word of sympathy was issued, they just kept stating that as had booked a non cancellation booking via booking.com the no refund could be given.
All in all very poor experience of very unsympathetic owners who were at times quite rude which really just was not necessary, in particular given the circumstances. Shame they could not even refund half of the £63 as a gesture of goodwill as we would have all stayed again for the funeral day but instead we stayed elsewhere as will never return or recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavinvharris, Owner at Manorhaus Ruthin, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2017

We are sorry to read the review you have written regarding your mother's stay, and the factual inaccuracies that it contains.

The fundamental issue is that when your mother advised us a couple of hours after check-in that the small room she had booked would be too noisy for her (even though it has acoustic secondary glazing), we offered for her to stay in another larger very quiet room which was at the back of the building and away from the road for no additional cost, but that we needed 20 minutes to prepare it. She said that she no longer needed to stay (as she had arrived much earlier than she had expected having been unable to visit her relative) and would be happy instead to travel home before it got dark. I advised that we could consider as a gesture to refund her pre-paid discounted single occupancy rate of £63 if we were able to re-let the room, and this would not be known until later. We were unable to re-let the room on the same night so the refund was not able to be made.

I am not aware of any hotel that could refund a guest after they have spent 3 hours in the room and then chosen to check-out early. We offered an alternative room but she chose not to accept it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

I fell in love with this hotel from the gate.
Gavin and Chris do an excellent job at making you feel special and welcome, such a warm and friendly place. And the decor in the rooms as well as around the hotel is incredible.
The Welsh breakfast was so tasty and well cooked, my partner had eggs Benedict which he thoroughly enjoyed. There's a great selection of cooked breakfasts, for meat eaters and vegetarians. As well as a great selection of cereals, yogurts, juices etc.
The bar is lovely and relaxing, great selection of beers, wines and cocktails.
I can't recommend manorhaus enough, great value for money. Looking forward to returning.
Thank you Gavin and Chris!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Francesca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2017

The Manorhaus is located close to all amenities in Ruthin. Boutique style with en suite wet rooms which resulted in a god nights sleep. Breakfast was extremely nice and consisted of local produce. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Declan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews