We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“little gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Aggie S
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“little gem”
Reviewed February 24, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

this place was so lovely. My partner and myself stayed here over NYE and found it to be a perfect quiet getaway. The coach house is tastefully decorated and has two log burners in the main living area which we kept very busy to keep warm. There's no telly but there are games or magazines to keep you entertained. We were pleasantly surprised with our "goodie basket" which contained fresh bread and very good quality products in case one gets peckish (and there are no shops in the village) ;) We are both dairy free and it was just so funny that the chocolate Mary left for us was all dark chocolate, it definitely felt special! Would definitely recommend :]

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2018
Thanks for the lovely review Aggie and glad you felt spoilt!
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pioneer31...
1 review
“Perfect authentic Wales living”
Reviewed December 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I wasn't sure if we had reviewed this and wanted to make sure because our stay was sooo wonderful! The old coach house has been beautifully renovated. We loved the loft bedroom and and the old neighbourhood was magical! Mary was fantastic and we loved the goodies she left for us to have some breakfast when we arrived and a few treats. Highly recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2017
Thanks so much for posting - you were both great guests. We were touched by the very appreciative note you left about the cottage and this area of Pembrokeshire. Glad you loved the area so much.
Best, Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takkatek
Radstock, England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really lovely ”
Reviewed November 14, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We've really enjoyed our birthday stay at the cottage. It had everything we needed and the welcoming basket was a lovely touch and was very handy! The wood stoves made the late November evenings so so pleasant! We'll definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2017
Thank you. It was a pleasure to have you book the cottage for a birthday weekend and glad you stayed cosy.
Best wishes, Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharry_Tr...
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic little cottage ”
Reviewed November 2, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful and relaxing four days at the Old Coach House from where we visited surrounding Pembrokeshire. The cottage has a lovely feel to it, and so different to other "bog-standard" cottages etc.

We loved having the fire place which we put on every time we got back from being out and about, and it really kept the house warm and cosy.

Although the bedroom is up on the mezzanine level, it doesn't really impact much as generally most time was spent downstairs. Only if one needed to make a middle of the night "visit" to spend a penny, one had to be careful going up and down the stairs from the bedroom, as they were quite steep! The bed was really comfortable and warm, we loved the down duvet, and I think the bedroom area got nicely warm as the fireplace is directly underneath it. There is not a huge amount of cupboard space, but if packed well, it was just enough for two of us for four days' worth of clothes.
Although there are no curtains / blinds over the windows (sky lights) - it was nice to look out at the night sky when lying in bed! - although the street lights were on, we got used to them quite quickly. And as it was autumn we woke up at a fairly decent time when the sun came up in the morning, even treated to a gorgeous sunset (see picture) one morning!

The kitchen and bathroom had underfloor heating which definitely helped in the cold evenings. There is a decent amount of crockery and cooking items (such as all pots and pans) as well as all "basics" supplied such as oil, salt, pepper, cling film, tin foil, dish towels etc. There were a decent number of good sized bath towels in the bathroom, as well as a heated towel rack which was nice for warming up the towels.

As there is no TV by design, we enjoyed sitting by the fire reading etc in the afternoons and evenings. There were a few games (and lots of books!) available, however I wish we had brought our own activities / games / puzzles to keep us entertained in the evenings - we weren't prepared for how to spend our time sans TV I'm afraid to say!

Mary was an exceptional host, very responsive to messages and left a lovely hamper of food for our arrival, including eggs, milk, chocolate and bread! There's a real personal touch and it made us feel very welcome and looked after.

Thank you for a lovely stay and a great first time in Pembrokeshire!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2017
That's a lovely, thorough review Sharon - thanks so much! Glad you found everything you needed and you felt well catered for! Best wishes, Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Nov 2017
Thank you very much Martin - pleased to know the cottage is cosy in stormy weather. We are always delighted to have guests return to the cottage so look forward to welcoming you both in the future.
Best wishes, Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jadeashle...
Caldicot
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding once again!”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Cosy, romantic and accommodating this cute little cottage has yet to fail us! Will defiantly keep visiting ourselves and recommending The Old Coach House to friends and family, cannot fault one single thing! Thanks again for a great stay! Jade & Alex x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Oh wow - that's just brilliant! Thanks both and look forward to having you stay again.
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvyn B
2 reviews
“Excellent accomodation, well positioned and great welcome”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

As previous reviewers have stated, this is a great choice for a break in Pembrokeshire. The property is well equipped and has a good open space to relax in. Plenty of hot water to soak in the bath and wood for the stove if required. Mary left a welcome hamper, which was very kind, and had great communication. The only issue I should perhaps raise, is that the steps up to the lofted bed area are steep and quite narrow, so perhaps not ideal for someone with mobility difficulties. That said, it did not impact at all on us ( 60 year olds) and we had a great stay...highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2017
Thank you Melvyn - I appreciate you posting such a positive review. Great to know you had a lovely stay and thanks for mentioning that the steep stairs are manageable with care. It is a valid point and will help potential guests make a decision about suitability.
All the best, Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing