We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Yr Hendy

Yr Hendy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Yr Hendy
The main room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Yr Hendy
The main room
The twin bedroom (the beds are zip link to become super king size)
The back of the cottage
Yr Hendy from the garden
The Farmhouse
The view of Maen Dewi Farm across the common
Sunset from the farmyard
Looking out onto the common from the cottage decking
2015's calves
How to find us
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bertone10...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay.”
Reviewed March 15, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Just returned for a mini break in St Davids staying here.
Fantastic rural location a short drive from the 'city' and the beaches..
Very clean 2 bed 2 bathroom cottage.
Warm with powerful shower full kitchen, lovely views and quiet location.
A pint of milk supplied as well as tea and coffee.
We noticed and saw the owners are currently finishing their 3rd cottage and that looks just as good as the one we stayed at.
Plenty of parking on site and a friendly warm welcome.
Pippa and Steve thank you very much.
See you again soon.
G&D.



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
Thanks so much for your kind review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfrida
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderfull”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Ty Hendi is a lovely house with a terrace attached and wonderfull views.
We were welcomed with a lovely banana cake which we enjoyed.
Pippa and Steve were very helpful, nothing was too much.
Thank you for a lovely time

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langlandr...
Mumbles, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yr Hendy Cottage Review”
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we have stayed at Maen Dewi holiday cottages. The last stay was in Bwythen Dowrog cottage which was a charming 1 bed cottage. This time we stayed in Yr Hendy - a 2 bed cottage opposite Bwythen Dowrog. Yr Hendy is a fantastic Cottage - large, spacious, modern yet quirky and charming. The vaulted ceiling was spectacular and the kitchen and living room were great - well equipped and welcoming. We made use of the wifi and brought a DVD with us to watch but there were plenty of DVDs already there to enjoy. It was very quiet and peaceful in the cottage and we were lucky once again with the weather with the sun shining brightly for our coastal walk. What makes Maen Dewi cottages really unique are Steve and Pippa the owners. Always helpful, friendly and accommodating - we even joined them for a glass of wine on one of our evenings. Thanks Steve and Pippa - we'll be back :-). Dave and Giles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and peaceful nature of the cottage
Liked least: There is nothing to dislike!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anon_mm
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Noisy Neighbours”
Reviewed March 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here last summer in their larger 2 bed cottage (Yr Hendy).

Based on positive reviews on this site this seemed like a good deal - this was until our first night when we found that the larger property is not detached (as it appears in the photos). Instead it is attached to another cottage that the owner's also rent out. Unfortunately, there is zero insulation between the two cottages and as such you can clearly hear every conversation, every toilet flush and every shower that our neighbours had during the night and from 6am when they got up.

We booked the property under the impression that it was a quiet, detached cottage and as a result had a very disappointing stay. Any potential guests looking for a good night's sleep during their stay should beware until the owner's install better sound insulation between the properties.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2015
We were very surprised to get this review, from an 'Anonymous' visitor, so long after the stay. In our introduction to the cottages and in our information we ask that our visitors let us know immediately if there is a problem and we will do everything we can to solve it. Its also strange to get this feedback as the description of that noise coming from the adjoining studio facilities (loo flushes etc) dont seem to fit with they way the studio attaches to the property (one small section of shared wall) that the sort of sounds described might be heard. On testing we cannot replicate any penetrating noise and we have asked recent guests if they have had experienced a similar problem; thankfully we have had no further reports of noise. Nevertheless we take all feedback seriously and whatever the problem we can assure all our guests that if they have complaints about noise or anything else, please let us know at the time - its the only way we can remedy the situation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attic5
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful accommodation”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is beautiful accommodation in a stunning setting. Loads to do: fantastic coastal walks on the doorstep as well as surf, art galleries etc. on top of all this Steve and Pippa were very knowledgable and generous hosts.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First class holiday cottage”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautifully furnished and maintained cottage. 2 double en-suite bedrooms, well equipped kitchen area and large lounge with view across open moorland. Large decked area outside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location but only a few mins drive from St. David's.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing