We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
193
3
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
193
3
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dyfi estuary wedding venue covered courtyard scones afternoon tea wonderful wedding terrace overlooking stately home sausage rolls fine china grand house interesting history out of this world perfect venue modern amenities blown away full english breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 199 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2016

We recently held our small intimate Wedding Ceremony here, and had a most unforgettable experience.
The ambience of the |Castle is absolutely wonderful, sympathetically furnished to a very high standard.
Maureen and Peter, our hosts, could not have been more helpful in organising this special occasion. (We're certain they arranged the gorgeous weather too !!!) We did very little except turn up.
The "bridal suite" is magnificent, with breath taking views from all the bedrooms.
Maureen's culinary expertise from post ceremony canapes to the evening dinner was exceptional. Thank you for making our special day even more memorable.
We will find an excuse to return
The Hickmans

Room tip: All are excellent.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank brijil13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2016

Our friend was celebrating his 60th birthday, my husband and I plus our 2 good friends stayed overnight. The dining room was beautifully laid out for our meal of 14 friends and family. The food was cooked to perfection and so much left over. We were the only 2 couple staying at the castle and Maureen (who was lovely) upgraded us to the second best room, being that our friends had Osprey. The small touches didn't go unnoticed, fresh flowers, chocolates and Clarins products. Breakfast was fantastically cooked, we felt like kings and queens of the castle. Just beautiful!

Room tip: Osprey was breathtaking, but we were just as happy in Nightingale
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandiemay67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2016

Have just left Glandyfi Castle where we were the only two guests (being witnesses) of a magical fairy-tale wedding. From the moment we were welcomed into the castle into our beautiful bedrooms by Maureen and Peter until the moment we left we were treated like royalty. The wedding ceremony which was just for our two friends and ourselves(as witnesses) had as much care and attention as if it had been for a large number.The lovingly prepared canapes and champagne on the sunny terrace and later the wonderful dinner,was straight out of the most romantic movie.
After a cosy night sleep,we joined our newly wed friends for a very special breakfast with every attention to detail. We left so much richer from our experience and being so much wiser about the castle and the local surroundings Peter had furnished us with when he took us up to the top of the turret the day before. All beyond the call of duty,just down to the caring and consideration that was shown every moment we spent at Glandyfi Castle.We are yet to come back down to earth Thankyou very much Mauren and Peter.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank YrHenFelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2016

The location and grounds were picturesque and peaceful. The owners were welcoming and helpful. The building was stunning both from outside and inside wooden panelling throughout with rooms tastefully furnished with objets d'art. The bedrooms were warm and comfortable and we were kindly offered a free upgrade. We dined here and the food was superb. I can't think of anywhere better to spend some time relaxing and hope to come back here for my birthday.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ford_H_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2016

I booked a room at Glandyfi whilst staying in Machynlleth for the Comedy Festival. I am SO glad I did. From the very first conversation with the owner during booking, I knew that this would be something a bit out of the ordinary. I was not disappointed.
It is no surprise to me that this place only gets good reviews- its special.
Nothing was too much trouble for the patrons.
Enjoyed every minute there. If you want somewhere that is distinctive, private and classy, yet extremely friendly......LOOK NO FURTHER. All the rooms can be seen on the website and they live up to expectations. Fantastic gardens too.
Thank you Maureen and Peter ( and Sidney!).
This will not be our last booking with yourselves
:)

Room tip: All the rooms have character- you can't go wrong
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews