We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of London House

Front view of London House with off road parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of London House with off road parking
Quirky main lounge with flat screen TV, orginal oak beams and wood burning stove. Dining kitchen, table seats 8 people
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Front view of London House with off road parking
Quirky main lounge with flat screen TV, orginal oak beams and wood burning stove.
Dining kitchen, table seats 8 people
Main downstairs traditional lounge wnich seats upto nine people.
Attractive spiral staircase provides access to upstairs bedrooms and bathroom.
Second downstairs lounge furnished with modern attractive furniture.
Second lounge with sofa bed, books and board games.
Fully fitted kitchen with modern units electric cooker, fridge/ freezer  and microwave.
Second bedroom with double bed, wardrobe and bedside drawers.
Large main bedroom with king sized bed, wardrobe and bedside drawers.
Main bedroom with sofa bed for occaisional use
Second double bedroom with original oak beams.
Third bedroom with twin beds,bedside draws and cabinets.
Upstairs family bathroom with bath, WC and wash basin.
Downstairs wetroom with shower, WC and wash basin.
Upstairs bathroom
Acess to garden also utilityroom containing dishwasher and washing machine.
Large garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Machynlleth, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
J0hnClare
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious, comfortable in warm weather but located on A487 trunk road.”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The cottage was booked at a very cold time of the year. Downstairs shower only had a 700w towel dryer for heat. Bathroom upstairs has a hand held shower without a curtain in bath. Gave up on the big logs, no kindling and 3 pieces of firelighter. We were out most of the time, wood fires need lots of attention, we have one at home. Why drive miles to find logs and kindling? Wood burner was not viable for us to heat the water.
My daughter visited and worked out how to turn on the immersion. Car parking space was awkward no dropped kerb and traffic. Otherwise as above, spacious and comfortable. Would have liked to have known that it was on the A487.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrs susan...
1 review
“A home from home”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I booked this property as we were attending a wedding in the area. It was ideal for our needs and everything we could have asked for was provided. The pillows and duvets were so comfortable that I may just have to ask where to get them from! Unfortunately we didn't have time in our schedule to explore the area so another visit might be called for.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jagqed
Cambridge
1 review
“Very welcoming.”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were very comfortable, and the house is equipped thoughtfully and thoroughly - not just teabags, but decaffinated ones as well; newspaper as well as kindling and logs for the fire; everything you need for laundry, etc. Being able to park is a great asset. It is a stunning area and we discovered that the poet R.S. Thomas was vicar of the local church. We're planning to come back with more of the family next summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy beds
Liked least: Busy road
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2015
Thankyou, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked the cottage. I look forward to hearing from you in the near future and welcome you to your return in the summer.
Best wishes,
Glenis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharleyDa...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy and very well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

What great little cottage! Perfectly placed for Aberystwyth, Machynlleth and Corris.

More than warm enough in November thanks to the wall heaters and the wood-burning stove. If you're not used to wood burners, it's often easier to get them to stay alight by burning strogs (compressed straw logs, also available from the garage in Machynlleth) rather than conventional logs.

Lovely bedrooms and bathrooms too (don't forget to switch on the heated towel rail in the downstairs wet room).

Watch out for the top step in the spiral staircase as it's double-depth so a bigger-than-usual drop.

Definitely added to our list of holiday cottages we'd love to hire again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthaloo...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, well appointed property in a convenient location”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had very good communications with the owner prior to our arrival. On arrival (late evening) the house was lovely and warm with the electric heaters already on. The property is extremely well equipped, the only utensil we cold not find in the kitchen (and it was almost a game) was a pizza slicer, everything else was there. The property has two lovely bathrooms, the wetroom downstairs which was very useful with the children.
The property has bedrooms and a lounge with bed settee all offering comfortable and private sleeping arrangements for up to 10/11 people.
The only negative was the fact that it was on the main road, but of course this enabled us to find it easily . We all loved the fact that it had wi-fi
The property also has a wood burner boiler, which provides a nice focal point but also he hot water for the property. I would definitely stay at this property again and I would recommend it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the fully equipped kitchen
Liked least: probably the parking as we had 3 cars
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheColema...
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay, where we felt at home straight away.”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

What a lovely, cosy, comfortable place to stay. Kitchen was well equipped (we cooked all our meals), beds comfortable, and both the wet room and bathroom had plenty of room. The utility area and porch were very useful for storing wellies ETC.
The cottage was very warm. Plenty of logs supplied, and no hidden extra charges.
We always got a response when communicating with owner, which we found very reassuring.
Definitely go again.

Our only concern would be the top of the stairs. Not suitable for those with mobility problems, but all the facilities you need are downstairs anyway.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cottage was clean and we felt at home.
Liked least: We would like a diagram of which garden belongs to the cottage!
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosyness of the cottage with the woodburning stove and the brilliant kitchen and the lovely large bedrooms
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Dec 2013
Thankyou for your commments I am very pleased that you had a good holiday and that you enjoyed the surrounding country side. It is good to hear that you found everthing you needed in the cottage. I look forward to you visiting London House in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;