We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise in the woods”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tan y Coed

Cabin Lounge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin Lounge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Summer view from the covered deck Lounge with Log Burner overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Cabin Lounge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Summer view from the covered deck
Lounge with Log Burner overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Lounge with Log Burner overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Winter view from the covered deck
Morso Log Burning Stove, all wood provided
Large Comfy L-Shape Sofa
Sheepies
Dining Area with Additional Stools
Bedroom 1 with Kingsize Bed
Bedroom 2 with Full Size Single Beds
Bathroom with WC, Electric Shower and Sink
The Lodge from the Field Below prior to Glass Balustrade
Summer view from the covered deck, 2
Decked Area off the Lounge
View from the Hill at the side of the Lodge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Plentiful Supply of Logs on Deck
Cabin Layout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Machynlleth, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lance H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise in the woods”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Tan y Coed is surprisingly close to the town of Machynlleth. It's also surprisingly close to other cabins in this small woodland. But it is quiet, peaceful and amazingly restful, whilst having a fantastic view from the lounge and verandah, looking across the Dyfi valley to the southern edge of the Snowdonia National Park and the foothills of Cadair Idris. The cabin is well equi[pped, comfortably furnished and very beautifully arranged for a romantic stay or a personal retreat.
We cannot wait to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package (it just works beautifully) and the beautiful outlook.
Liked least: The mood lighting is great, but for old eyes like mine it wasn't easy to see to read, or even to wash up.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky A
Branston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Truly wonderful!”
Reviewed June 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Can't praise this place enough, everything detail was just perfect!, thank you James! The view from the balcony was superb, have already booked again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outstanding view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magical!!”
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This place is so special, we could have sat and admired the view for the whole 4 days of our stay. Very comfortable and well equiped, stunning location and close to town. faultless. WIll be going back again and again...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C
whitstable
2 reviews
“Beautiful cabin, beautiful views and so comfortable!”
Reviewed May 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Tan y Coed is a beautiful cosy cabin with amazing views. James was extremely helpful and answered all my questions before our stay so we arrived well prepared! The cabin had everything you would want and the sofa was so comfy...I could have sat there for the whole week looking out at the amazing views! We did however have a busy time ahead as our trip to Machynlleth was organised so we could go to the wonderful comedy festival! The Festival hosted hundreds of acts in a variety of venues, many of which were very intimate and even though it rained more or less the whole time we were there this did not seem to really matter. The people of Machynlleth were so warm and welcoming it truly was a special time to experience the town. Having the cosy cabin to come back to was the added bonus and we did feel rather sorry for the campers!

The scenery was amazing and the roads were so quiet driving round the area was a real pleasure...so much to do and see. Sheep and gorgeous lambs were in the surrounding fields munching on grass most days...they were rather noisy at times but seeing the lambs skipping and playing made up for the vocal talents of their mothers!

We will hopefully be back! Thank you James

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the amazingly comfortable sofa!
Liked least: The rain!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A cosy hideaway in stunning countryside”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We were two couples sharing this holiday cabin for a long weekend. The cabin is in a quiet location, with a powerful woodburning stove, comfy beds, good shower and generally well equipped. The view from the verandah (or from behind the glass doors of the lounge) is very special, the changing light on the river and the hillside opposite, the antics of the lambs in the adjacent field and the comings and goings of birds and wildlife are reason enough to stay here. The local train passes discretely among the gorse bushes twice every hour.
If you can prize yourself away from the cabin, the nearby town of Machynlleth has restaurants, pubs, shops, cafes, the Museum of Modern Art, prizewinning fish and chip shop and a very creative deli.
Not too far away we visited Ynis-Hir RSPB reserve (ospreys at this time of year), the ruined castle of Castel y Bere in a fantastic location, coastal towns like Aberdovey with the usual seaside stuff, exploring miles of unspoilt lanes and quiet country roads.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and view from the property
Liked least: lack of a can-opener (Swiss army knife to the rescue!)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmsey70
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tan y Coed plus teen”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted somewhere quiet to stay where we'd be close to nature and could bring our collie and this was a great choice. This place had all we needed. The lambs and bird life had us out on the balcony for hours just watching. Log burner was pure joy. We went to Aberystwerth (waterstones for teen books) if we needed shops, although Machynlleth was really close and is lovely too. Ynislas had the most amazing beach and dunes and Aberdovey was our dusk beach walk - just out of the town and on the right we parked in a lay-by, crossed the railway and the dunes and the beach was gorgeous. Teen had phone and DVDs to keep her busy but enjoyed mountain walks around the Corris area too. It was so lovely in the cabin I shed a few tears when we left!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke G
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Wanted to move in”
Reviewed February 6, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Amazing little cabin in what feels like the middle of nowhere but is only a mile from the main town. I couldn't recommend highly enough just to get away from it all, (no phone signal which was great hardly touched our phones for 3 days which was nice) there were other cabins around the site but it felt like we were the only ones there.

The town its self has some nice little shops and some nice little pubs, there are great restaurants around the area that you will have to drive to but well worth it travel, a word of warning though try to book as early as possible because they fill up very quickly, we managed to get in late at a loverly little fish restaurant in Aberdovey called the SeaBreeze very nice and a fantastic drive along the coast.

Me and my partner will be going back without a doubt we loved every minute of our stay and James was very helpful and kept in contact to inform us of everything he could. Would have loved to have stayed longer if we could have.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner and the location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing