We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel-great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Milebrook House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milebrook
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
727 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel-great food!”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I stayed here with my parents for thier birthday treats for 2 nights.All we can say is it was perfect.Great food,service and more than anything the staff. Nothing was too much trouble at all .

A few people have made comment about the shabby shabby decorations -not sure if they were in the same place ? It was just great

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Droopydrawrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    20
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
43
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We booked Milebrook on a whim, as we wanted to extend our holidays by a couple of nights but, due to the bank holidays, most places were fully booked. It was recommended in one of the 'Boutique Hotels' books we found in the (wonderful) hotel we were staying in and we thought it a stroke of good luck to have found anything at all. Unfortunately, we were soon to find out that there was a reason why there was still space at Milebrook...when we got there we thought the house was beautiful, and it really is, from the outside. However, once you step inside, it's a different story. The first thing that hits you is the smell - a mix of milking shed, fried onions and boiled lamb, which permeates the entire house and lingers in the corridors and in the guest rooms (ours at least). Undoubtedly, the stench is not helped the fact that the door to the ground floor kitchen seems to be permanently open. Not a good first impression, and things didn't get any better when we saw our room. Furniture was in urgent need of an overhaul, starting with the metal bed with it’s old-fashioned sheet/blanket/sheet bedding and flaking paint, and the two wicker chairs with their dirty cushions didn’t inspire trust either. Lack of cleanliness featured throughout – there were dead bugs outside of the window, when I picked up one of the teacups it revealed a dirty doily, the bed side table was dusty…quite incredible at £118 per night. The central heating in the room didn’t work either and it took a lot of palaver to get a heater brought up to our room – with the management being unhelpful to the point of rudeness. Unfortunately we’d already paid for two nights and there was no escape. We made the mistake of booking Milebrook but you don’t have to – there are much better places in the area (the Knighton has bright, clean and airy rooms – we checked it out as we tried to change hotels). It really is spectacularly overpriced. If you have a sensitive nose (or a nose at all) and value cleanliness, comfort and value for money, avoid this establishment.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aella_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMilebrook, Owner at Milebrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Oh dear! A hoteliers nightmare, a very disgruntled customer.
These people were unhappy when they found our hotel was not in the nearby town and finding it very difficult to get a taxi (with it being bank holiday weekend) asked to leave. When told they would have to pay for the room they were, how can we put it politely, very difficult. All I can say is the bad review came as no surprise although we weren't expecting such an imaginative one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We have just had a two night break here,and first impressions were mixed,however we soon realised that the wonderful food and service made up for the rather old fashioned room and bathroom that was in need of a spruce up.The place was full with many guests who had returned and local people coming in to enjoy the good food.We really warmed to this hotel,and felt it has a great deal to offer that no top of the range bathroom can improve.Thankyou to all the family and staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francescPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Milkebrook was a liitle bit of a disappointment, given its review in Welsh Rarebits. The owners Beryl and Rodney know what they are doing but it gives the impression of being somewhere that time has passed by. The room (room 8) was clean, tidy and well equipped with most of my needs. But to illustrate, sometimes I wish owners would try the hotel from a guests point of view, the siting of the TV made it impossimble to see from the bed. A small pont yes, but when you're relaxing you don't want 5 minutes furniture moving beforehand. The bathroom was clean and well stocked with good towels. Judging by comments from other guests it would probably do well not to have a room on the front, because whilst the house is set back off the road behind trees the road is a bit of a speed run for bikers. The restaurant food was average to good though the menu did not change. The wine list was basic but OK. Breakfast was a high spot with really good fresh food. On the whole this hotel is in need of some fresh ideas that could make it a really nice spot. But somehow I guess this may not happen.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank King_Kanute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Milebrook House.

We have stayed in this hotel regularly for a number of years and feel it’s time to share our experience with other potential visitors.

We love short country breaks and the fact that we keep returning to Milebrook House tells something of the magnetic quality of the Hotel and the area of outstanding beauty and historic interest in which it is located. Readers of A E Houseman will find Clunton and Clunbury, Clungunford and Clun close by. Maybe these villages are no longer, ‘the quietist places under the sun’, but they must come pretty close. As for, ‘trouble at Knighton’, – just down the road – well, we’ve not found any yet - just an attractive village with, amongst other attractions, a good hardware shop and cafe!

There is so much to see and do in the area that to list every possibility would take ages. Highlights for possible visits include Hereford and Shrewsbury; Ludlow, Much Wenlock (with Olympic connections!) and Bridgenorth. For walkers Offa’s Dyke and Glyndwr's Way and much more. Don’t forget your National Trust Handbook.

Milebrook House has associations with the explorer Wifred Thesiger and Emperor Haile Selassie It sits in grounds which include; a pretty garden which always has something of interest to show, a woodland glade with wildlife pool and an exclusive frontage onto the river Teme. The house itself sits comfortably into its location and has been sympathetically extended to provide four additional bedrooms, one adapted for disabled access.

Our bedrooms have always been roomy, comfortable, freshly and tastefully decorated and quiet. On our last visit we stayed in room 5, at the front of the hotel, well up to the high standards we have come to appreciate.

Milebrook’s restaurant is at its very best when serving local produce – which gives it some considerable scope given the excellent quality of local lamb and beef . Breakfasts set you up for the day.

We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Housemarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

We went on a special deal, so previous comments about it being expensive didnt apply. We loved the place. It's an old country house hotel, full of character, carefully decorated and furnished with lovely taste, and because it's an old country house hotel you shouldn't expect the sort of soulless perfection you'd get in a city chain hotel. I know which I'd rather!
The gardens are quite delightful. We spent ages wandering around each fascinating little part and enjoying the interconnecting parts, the clever design and the lovely plants. We had drinks on the terrace overlooking the herbaceous beds and loved it.
The service is quite impeccable, and really should be an example to many country hotels where local staff just cant be bothered. Here every one of the staff was attentive, charming, efficient and forward-thinking, and some of them were very young and eager.
The food was superb at our dinner for four. Yes, I was surprised that there were few or no vegetarian options, and personally I hate being served a sweet sorbet before the main course, but all four of us loved our meals. The choice of desserts was not brilliant however, and my orange tart was far too sweet.
Our room was delightful and well-appointed with, joy of joys, a big dressing table that was well-lit and supplied with hair-dryer and socket within reach of it. Now that is really considerate planning!
We went walking from the hotel: amazing. It's a fabulously beautiful area.
Do hope we can go back .....

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MimiYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Although we found it very clean rooms were pretty awful with regard to the decor, considering the price charged. The bathroom which we had had large designed terracotta tiles and matching orange patterned curtains. Furniture looked like cheap homebase pieces, nothing was period piece. Paintings everywhere. Lovely wood panelling & shutters has been painted over with a nasty light green, what a shame. Although there were some nice pieces throughout a minimal approach might be easier on the eye.

The residents lounge was good but felt a bit like an old people's home sitting room. I think the gardens might have been lovely and also the house itself would look more attractive in the summer. Bed was very comfortable and it was really quiet.

Food in the restaurant was ok. My husband had scallops on black pudding, he said the plate was cold and the black pudding was overdone. Rissotto was good, and my husband's duck was nice, but my main of seabass on fettucine in was too greasy and actually made me feel a bit unwell.

Service was ok but nothing startling (the 2 waitresses were lovely), breakfast was poor my tea looked grey I couldn't drink it. Sausage was certainly not a "farm sausage" and only choice of spreads was marmalade. A little bit cheap for £122 a night I was expecting a jacuzzi!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriscates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milebrook
0.0 km away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
188 reviews
0.0 km away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
595 reviews
0.0 km away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
896 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Milebrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milebrook House Hotel

Property: Milebrook House Hotel
Address: Milebrook LD7 1LT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Milebrook
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milebrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Milebrook House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One-time retreat of Emperor Haille Selassie. A former Dower House. Home-grown, local produce used in the restaurant. Ideal to explore Mid- Wales and Borderlands. Former home of Sir Wilfred Thesiger. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Milebrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing