We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic building, friendly and thoughtful welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Radnorshire Arms
Ranked #3 of 13 Presteigne B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 October 2016

The Radnorshire Arms is four centuries old and seems very unspoilt outside and in, so visit if you love history and imagine all the fun and life that has been lived in these oak-panelled rooms. Our large bedroom (an upgrade) was easy to imagine candle-lit, but also had very comfortable bed (hotel is having a refurb). Collection of blue and white china jugs on window sill adds a nice detail to outside façade and there is a large garden with children's play equipment. It's not for the boutique-y crowd and you could criticise some of the décor choices but I am not going to, as the building is a privilege to stay in from a history perspective and also service was doing the place justice, outstandingly pleasant and efficient. Plenty of staff around, a well-managed team, took trouble to fix tv signal, very attentive at breakfast (another superb oak-panelled room, would make fantastic wedding setting or Christmas party).
Breakfast buffet was frequently refreshed, well seasoned eggs and bacon very good quality (this is an agricultural and foodie area with great butchers).
Bistro food a bit routine which is a shame as it is a very nice bar.
Presteigne is gorgeous - try The Coffee House along the High St for another friendly welcome - beautiful countryside and wonderful old towns all around.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank EGDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Having read some of the most recent reviews I find their comments both misleading and to be honest fanciful. The hotel is a multiple protected building and in so cannot simply throw up contemporary decor. The rooms have been fully refurbished with whirlpool baths in all including the garden lodges. The public areas are currently being refurbished but are being done so in accordance with current legislation for a 16th century building. The gardens are also within a protected area which means they simply cannot chop down trees or bushes without consent, which is currently being applied for.

If your looking for a quite stay in an historical building with great food, service and staff then this is the place for you.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank ty4824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

The food is very average and Both of our drinks had to be replaced. It would be a beautiful place to go if it was looked after. The building is now very tired through lack of maintenance. I recently visited with my family, the garden has a play area for children........ Nearly every item is damaged, unsafe and broken!! Not a place to take your children.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Dray71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We can't fault any of the staff, or how clean our room was...it's just that this hotel is dated, does not look welcoming at all and needs brightening up. The breakfast was very good but inside and out it is shabby.
Time for someone to come in and do a complete makeover.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

I had a large booking for 17 and the team there dealt with it professionally from the start, regularly putting up with me bombarding them with silly questions for about two months. Also handling me chopping and changing things at short notice. Deniyal in particular was very helpful.

The rooms were very quirky, it was quite an experience. Dinner was delicious, if a bit muddled. But then I realise we were a difficult group.

I would highly recommend it and will use it again for the rally team if we are in that area in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 563elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

We often go to the Radnor, more than once a week. Usually for drinks in the well kept beer garden which is a sun trap, and in the winter to sit in the oak panelled bar next to the open fire. The beer and particularly the ales are very well kept at a reasonable price. The staff are kind and attentive and will always talk to you if you are drinking alone.

The food is brilliant for the price and the restaurant, which has been freshly decorated, is a nice setting in which to have it.

The rooms are also good value at around £75 for room plus breakfast which includes a selection of continental and cooked options.

A great asset to the town.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Style is vintage mixed with modern...Food is very good...The staff is very helpful and friendly...The garden surrounding the hotel is superb...The city is gorgeous .... everything is beautiful...I can not wait to get back

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Presteigne
8.1 km away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
226 reviews
11.2 km away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 2 in Wigmore
45 reviews
5.1 km away
The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Radnorshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Radnorshire Arms

Address: High Street, Presteigne LD8 2BE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Presteigne
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Presteigne
Price Range: $183 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Radnorshire Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned historic 3* Hotel and restaurant, offering 17 en-suite rooms, all equipped to the highest standard with a lounge, childrens' play area and gardens. We accommodate individuals, couples, families and larger groups in relaxed and spacious surroundings whether it be for a very special occasion or for a quiet evening out. Located in beautiful countryside in the town of Presteigne next to Offas Dyke and close to Ludlow Hereford, Shrewsbury and Llandrindod Wells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Radnorshire Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing