We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
114
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaul and johndrawing roomold vicaragehome madevictorian stylelook forwardtrained chefreturn visithostshouseheavenstudyhistoryluxurypeacegloryflowers
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 114 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2016

A wonderful birthday weekend - a repeat visit for the rest of my family, but my first time. I found the gardens wonderful, the atmosphere and furniture most eclectic, but comfortable and homely and the welcome and service super.

The meal cooked for us on the Sunday night was outstanding and beautifully thought through and cooked. The berry and chocolate soufflé we had for pud was particularly divine!

Thank you Paul and Jon for making it a weekend to remember :) and really special for the Adlards.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katharine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radnorman, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Thank you for your review. It was great to host your family birthday celebration and we are so glad you all had a good time. Best wishes to you all Paul & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2016

It had been a while since we travellled to the UK for a holiday but when we did, we always stayed in Wolsey Lodges. This one however exceeded our expectations in just about everything. When reading the other reviews on the Old Vicarage I can see us again sitting at the dining table enjoying Paul's superb cooking or taking tea in the elegant drawing room. Paul and John are just the perfect hosts for this house, charming, hospitable, and with an eye for detail not just for decoration but also for making your stay an unforgettable experience. We are so lucky to have been part of this experience.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brigittededecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radnorman, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Dear Brigitte Thank you for the most kind review - we are so glad you & your freiends enjoyed your stay at The Old Vicarage. with our best wishes John & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2016

We were two couples from Denmark touring Southern and mid Wales for 10 days and had decided to end the trip with something special. And indeed it was special.
The house, the garden, the individual rooms were all charming , and so were our hosts Paul and John.
Fortunately we had preordered the three course dinner, which was nothing less than superb, and luckily Paul agreed to make one more dinner for us on our second evening.
In addition to the nice facilities, we got all kinds of informations from our hosts regarding walking trails and places to visit, including replies to all kinds of questions about Wales, e.g. the reason for tall hedges along all the roads.
The Old Vicarage is really worth a visit - two to three days should be minimum.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lars V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2016

As you step across the threshold of The Old Vicarage you're transported back into a world designed by Augustus Pugin and decorated by William Morris. Your hosts, John and Paul, have lovingly and painstakingly created a uniquely sumptuous home, which we're all lucky enough to be able to experience for ourselves. Make sure you arrive in time for afternoon tea and scones, taken in either the study or drawing room. All the bedrooms are thoughtfully designed, with character beds and traditional bathrooms. Once you've relaxed, enjoy a pre-dinner aperitif in the drawing room, then prepare yourself for what will be a wonderful dining experience. The extensive wine list always provides a perfect choice to complement your meal. We always love dining in-house, with great conversation flowing with the other guests.

Room Tip: They're all wonderful!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Growling_Bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

The Old Vicarage is a beautiful retreat. The house is a labour of love in decoration and in the hospitality shown to guests. The pictures on the website offer only a glimpse of the really special decor and fantastic grounds. This really is a unique property and the warmth of welcome matches the surroundings. Cuisine is a priority here. Paul's cooking is exquisite and would match many a London restaurant. He takes the top quality local produce and creates something very special. A short but expertly chosen wine list only adds to the experience. Foodies will find continued pleasure in the excellent local restaurants, delis, food producers, butchers, bakers - and although we didn't find one no doubt there's a candlemakers too. This really is a find of a property. Almost too good to share with others!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FerdyPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews