We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best B&Bs ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Presteigne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Vicarage Country House
Ranked #1 of 13 Presteigne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Everything about The Old Vicarage is exceptional -- the house itself is stunning and immaculately restored. The owners are so lovely and outdid themselves with the breakfasts and room amenities. The gardens are really stunning and meticulously kept, and the location is ideal and very peaceful. It was a perfect stay. And I should add that the bed was the most comfortable either of us have ever slept on in our lives.

We both can't wait to return! Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SMcEnaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2016

A wonderful birthday weekend - a repeat visit for the rest of my family, but my first time. I found the gardens wonderful, the atmosphere and furniture most eclectic, but comfortable and homely and the welcome and service super.

The meal cooked for us on the Sunday night was outstanding and beautifully thought through and cooked. The berry and chocolate soufflé we had for pud was particularly divine!

Thank you Paul and Jon for making it a weekend to remember :) and really special for the Adlards.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katharine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radnorman, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Thank you for your review. It was great to host your family birthday celebration and we are so glad you all had a good time. Best wishes to you all Paul & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

It had been a while since we travellled to the UK for a holiday but when we did, we always stayed in Wolsey Lodges. This one however exceeded our expectations in just about everything. When reading the other reviews on the Old Vicarage I can see us again sitting at the dining table enjoying Paul's superb cooking or taking tea in the elegant drawing room. Paul and John are just the perfect hosts for this house, charming, hospitable, and with an eye for detail not just for decoration but also for making your stay an unforgettable experience. We are so lucky to have been part of this experience.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brigittededecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radnorman, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Dear Brigitte Thank you for the most kind review - we are so glad you & your freiends enjoyed your stay at The Old Vicarage. with our best wishes John & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We were two couples from Denmark touring Southern and mid Wales for 10 days and had decided to end the trip with something special. And indeed it was special.
The house, the garden, the individual rooms were all charming , and so were our hosts Paul and John.
Fortunately we had preordered the three course dinner, which was nothing less than superb, and luckily Paul agreed to make one more dinner for us on our second evening.
In addition to the nice facilities, we got all kinds of informations from our hosts regarding walking trails and places to visit, including replies to all kinds of questions about Wales, e.g. the reason for tall hedges along all the roads.
The Old Vicarage is really worth a visit - two to three days should be minimum.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lars V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

As you step across the threshold of The Old Vicarage you're transported back into a world designed by Augustus Pugin and decorated by William Morris. Your hosts, John and Paul, have lovingly and painstakingly created a uniquely sumptuous home, which we're all lucky enough to be able to experience for ourselves. Make sure you arrive in time for afternoon tea and scones, taken in either the study or drawing room. All the bedrooms are thoughtfully designed, with character beds and traditional bathrooms. Once you've relaxed, enjoy a pre-dinner aperitif in the drawing room, then prepare yourself for what will be a wonderful dining experience. The extensive wine list always provides a perfect choice to complement your meal. We always love dining in-house, with great conversation flowing with the other guests.

Room Tip: They're all wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Growling_Bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

The Old Vicarage is a beautiful retreat. The house is a labour of love in decoration and in the hospitality shown to guests. The pictures on the website offer only a glimpse of the really special decor and fantastic grounds. This really is a unique property and the warmth of welcome matches the surroundings. Cuisine is a priority here. Paul's cooking is exquisite and would match many a London restaurant. He takes the top quality local produce and creates something very special. A short but expertly chosen wine list only adds to the experience. Foodies will find continued pleasure in the excellent local restaurants, delis, food producers, butchers, bakers - and although we didn't find one no doubt there's a candlemakers too. This really is a find of a property. Almost too good to share with others!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FerdyPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

John & Paul were excellent hosts, the tea & home made scones on arrival was really good and most welcome.
The rooms were very well appointed and the bed was most comfortable.(The Green Room)
We booked for an evening meal which was superb as was the breakfast.
The company of other guests and our hosts made for a very special evening.
Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Vicarage Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage Country House

Address: Norton, Presteigne LD8 2EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Presteigne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Presteigne
Price Range: $167 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deservedly winner of the Tripadvisor 2012-14 Certificate of Excellence and 2007 Visit Wales (Welsh Tourist Board) Best B&B in Wales, The Old Vicarage, Norton, Presteigne is situated in beautiful walking country on the Welsh/Herefordshire border. Enjoy the stunning Victorian decor, furnishings & fittings, comfortable beds, dinner by candlelight with excellent food and wine, delicious breakfasts using superb local produce and the lovely landscaped gardens with fabulous views across the hills of England & Wales. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing