We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
114
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaul and johndrawing roomold vicaragehome madevictorian stylelook forwardtrained chefreturn visithostshouseheavenstudyhistoryluxurypeacegloryflowers
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 114 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2016

The Arundel Society prints captivated us; as did the hosts, the top notch food, the splendid bed, with blankets (not duvet), the garden design, and perfect peace. Our stay here was very special and we are delighted to have experienced this haven.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank habarnes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2016

Everything about The Old Vicarage is exceptional -- the house itself is stunning and immaculately restored. The owners are so lovely and outdid themselves with the breakfasts and room amenities. The gardens are really stunning and meticulously kept, and the location is ideal and very peaceful. It was a perfect stay. And I should add that the bed was the most comfortable either of us have ever slept on in our lives.

We both can't wait to return! Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SMcEnaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2016

A wonderful birthday weekend - a repeat visit for the rest of my family, but my first time. I found the gardens wonderful, the atmosphere and furniture most eclectic, but comfortable and homely and the welcome and service super.

The meal cooked for us on the Sunday night was outstanding and beautifully thought through and cooked. The berry and chocolate soufflé we had for pud was particularly divine!

Thank you Paul and Jon for making it a weekend to remember :) and really special for the Adlards.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katharine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radnorman, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Thank you for your review. It was great to host your family birthday celebration and we are so glad you all had a good time. Best wishes to you all Paul & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2016

It had been a while since we travellled to the UK for a holiday but when we did, we always stayed in Wolsey Lodges. This one however exceeded our expectations in just about everything. When reading the other reviews on the Old Vicarage I can see us again sitting at the dining table enjoying Paul's superb cooking or taking tea in the elegant drawing room. Paul and John are just the perfect hosts for this house, charming, hospitable, and with an eye for detail not just for decoration but also for making your stay an unforgettable experience. We are so lucky to have been part of this experience.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brigittededecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radnorman, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Dear Brigitte Thank you for the most kind review - we are so glad you & your freiends enjoyed your stay at The Old Vicarage. with our best wishes John & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2016

We were two couples from Denmark touring Southern and mid Wales for 10 days and had decided to end the trip with something special. And indeed it was special.
The house, the garden, the individual rooms were all charming , and so were our hosts Paul and John.
Fortunately we had preordered the three course dinner, which was nothing less than superb, and luckily Paul agreed to make one more dinner for us on our second evening.
In addition to the nice facilities, we got all kinds of informations from our hosts regarding walking trails and places to visit, including replies to all kinds of questions about Wales, e.g. the reason for tall hedges along all the roads.
The Old Vicarage is really worth a visit - two to three days should be minimum.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lars V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews