We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
114
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaul and johndrawing roomold vicaragehome madevictorian stylelook forwardtrained chefreturn visithostshouseheavenstudyhistoryluxurypeacegloryflowers
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 114 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2017

We had an extremely pleasant experience staying at the Old Vicarage during the Presteigne Festival. Even though we checked in late at night, we were greeted and shown around the very impressive property and made to feel at home. Breakfast was absolutely awesome, all produce was of a very high standard, including home made items, presented in a very attractive way. Paul and John could not have done enough for us whilst we were there and were very accommodating to fit around of busy Presteigne Festival schedule. We would certainly recommend this country house and look forward to our stay in the future!

Room Tip: All of the country house is of an extreme high standard. We stayed in the Burlison Room, which had a very impressive four poster bed!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jameslongden2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2017

We visited this beautiful house, and stepped right back to a stately Victorian era. All the interior of the house had been restored and renovated by the owners John and Paul. All you could hear was SILENCE and so very peaceful and relaxing. The garden was absolutely splendid with flowers from way back.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radnorman, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

Thank you for this wonderful review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Old Vicarage. Paul & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2016 via mobile

Visited with friends and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were very well looked after by superb hosts Paul and John. The house has a warm and friendly feel about it and is furbished with genuine Victorian attire all of which is presented in an immaculate state. The beds are something else and one thing is for sure, you won't be cold! The food was prepared to our specific requirements and served in a gorgeous dining room. This place is most certainly on our most favourite list and it is only a matter of time before we return!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Stoths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radnorman, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2016

Thank you for your very kind review.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
With best wishes
Paul & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2016

We had a lovely stay at The Old Vicarage, feeling thoroughly pampered from our arrival to our departure. The attention to detail here is amazing, applied to the house in general and to the food. The hosts, Paul and John, were so keen to make sure that we had everything to suit us. The emphasis on local, even home grown produce, was a definite plus. Sitting in their beautiful dining room with the sun streaming in, the views across the hills, and eating local sausages and bacon - hard to beat!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, with good views.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank engineery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2016

We have now visited the Old Vicarage five times, every time we are blown away by the fabulous hospitality, magical traditional interiors, and truly delicious food. Paul and John must be so proud of the amazing reputation they've built up for their superb B&B business! If you'd like to experience the ultimate in hospitality, you need look no further! We regularly stay in luxurious B&Bs and 4/5 star hotels, not one of them has ever come close to matching the Old Vicarage. The attention to detail inside this property is just mind blowing, all the restoration works have been loving carried out by the owners to the most exeptional standards. Then there's the wonderfully beautiful garden, and unbelievable views over the rolling hills and churchb from the terrace and bedroom windows. Do keep this secret to yourselves though, we'd be very disappointed if they start getting booked up too far in advance!

Room Tip: All the rooms in the main house are fabulous
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sislio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews