We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace in luxurious unique surroundings with genial hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Presteigne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Vicarage Country House
Ranked #1 of 13 Presteigne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017

This is another return visit to The Old Vicarage. Paul & John are wonderfully warm and friendly hosts, always interesting to chat to, and with a wealth of knowledge about the area. We stayed in the Green Price Room, with the beautiful view over the gardens to the church tower, and a fabulous room it is too. Every tiny part of the whole house is restored and returned to the glory of its past, and every detail of our stay was as wonderful as always. It is not a 'bed and breakfast' like any other, and you will move from room to study to dining room to drawing room, and wonder at the amazing surroundings. Add to that the locally sourced or home made items in the generous breakfasts, and this really is a complete gem of a place.

Room Tip: all three rooms are marvellous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LazyRizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radnorman, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit. It's always a pleasure to welcome you & Mark back to The Old Vicarage. Thank you do so much for the lovely review. Paul & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

We had an extremely pleasant experience staying at the Old Vicarage during the Presteigne Festival. Even though we checked in late at night, we were greeted and shown around the very impressive property and made to feel at home. Breakfast was absolutely awesome, all produce was of a very high standard, including home made items, presented in a very attractive way. Paul and John could not have done enough for us whilst we were there and were very accommodating to fit around of busy Presteigne Festival schedule. We would certainly recommend this country house and look forward to our stay in the future!

Room Tip: All of the country house is of an extreme high standard. We stayed in the Burlison Room, which had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jameslongden2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We visited this beautiful house, and stepped right back to a stately Victorian era. All the interior of the house had been restored and renovated by the owners John and Paul. All you could hear was SILENCE and so very peaceful and relaxing. The garden was absolutely splendid with flowers from way back.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radnorman, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thank you for this wonderful review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Old Vicarage. Paul & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Visited with friends and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were very well looked after by superb hosts Paul and John. The house has a warm and friendly feel about it and is furbished with genuine Victorian attire all of which is presented in an immaculate state. The beds are something else and one thing is for sure, you won't be cold! The food was prepared to our specific requirements and served in a gorgeous dining room. This place is most certainly on our most favourite list and it is only a matter of time before we return!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Stoths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radnorman, Owner at The Old Vicarage Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Thank you for your very kind review.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
With best wishes
Paul & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We had a lovely stay at The Old Vicarage, feeling thoroughly pampered from our arrival to our departure. The attention to detail here is amazing, applied to the house in general and to the food. The hosts, Paul and John, were so keen to make sure that we had everything to suit us. The emphasis on local, even home grown produce, was a definite plus. Sitting in their beautiful dining room with the sun streaming in, the views across the hills, and eating local sausages and bacon - hard to beat!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank engineery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We have now visited the Old Vicarage five times, every time we are blown away by the fabulous hospitality, magical traditional interiors, and truly delicious food. Paul and John must be so proud of the amazing reputation they've built up for their superb B&B business! If you'd like to experience the ultimate in hospitality, you need look no further! We regularly stay in luxurious B&Bs and 4/5 star hotels, not one of them has ever come close to matching the Old Vicarage. The attention to detail inside this property is just mind blowing, all the restoration works have been loving carried out by the owners to the most exeptional standards. Then there's the wonderfully beautiful garden, and unbelievable views over the rolling hills and churchb from the terrace and bedroom windows. Do keep this secret to yourselves though, we'd be very disappointed if they start getting booked up too far in advance!

Room Tip: All the rooms in the main house are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sislio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Another 2 days break on our way to Northern Wales. Again this place went all out to ensure our comfort. The Old Vicarage is well placed so that we didn't have to travel far on our days out. Went by train to lovely Llandrindod Wells.

Room Tip: We had the Green Price room with great views of the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Vicarage Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage Country House

Address: Norton, Presteigne LD8 2EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Presteigne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Presteigne
Price Range: $167 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deservedly winner of the Tripadvisor 2012-14 Certificate of Excellence and 2007 Visit Wales (Welsh Tourist Board) Best B&B in Wales, The Old Vicarage, Norton, Presteigne is situated in beautiful walking country on the Welsh/Herefordshire border. Enjoy the stunning Victorian decor, furnishings & fittings, comfortable beds, dinner by candlelight with excellent food and wine, delicious breakfasts using superb local produce and the lovely landscaped gardens with fabulous views across the hills of England & Wales. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing