We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (879)
Filter reviews
880 results
Traveller rating
425
302
110
25
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
425
302
110
25
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one way system powis castle the hotel car park no lift business trip centre of town lovely hotel enjoyed my stay very pleasant stay buffet style coaching inn one night stay old building mid wales evening meal sunday lunch excellent food
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 880 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2018

We are working our way round the various Coaching Inns - so far they have all been very good. They are in interesting locations that we might not otherwise have visited so we are getting to see the England and Wales. The hotels/Inns are all different (which is nice) but of a consistently high standard. The Royal Oak fitted this description. It has really nice 'lounge' areas and is ideally located for exploring the town and visiting the small, but very good (free) museum, The car parking is at the back - so we had a couple of trips round the town's one way system before we found it. The room was lovely and given the heat wave we really appreciated the provision of a fan. Thanks to all at the Royal Oak.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal O, Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Thank you for writing a review of your experience with us here at The Royal Oak.Your feedback is very important to us and it’s gives us great pleasure when we read feedback such as yours. We’re proud that you thought our bedroom was lovely and you enjoyed our lounge and snug areas. If you return to Welshpool at anytime in the future we'd love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2018

We stopped here for 6 nights - changed rooms 3 times because of the noise in the first 2 rooms. The staff were very good about moving us but many of the rooms in the hotel are in dire need of upgrading (which is apparently going to happen in October). The traffic noise is dreadful in the rooms on the front of the hotel and thats from early in the morning (4am) so only opt for one of them if you are deaf or a very sound sleeper. The hotels concession to summer temperatures is one tiny fan in each room (no aircon at all) so the rooms are very stuffy and warm. Many of the rooms are also very small - they have put larger beds in the rooms, but the rooms are not big enough for them. The beds ARE comfortable though, and the bed linen is good quality. Breakfast is good and the staff are all very friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front (road) side of the hotel are extremely noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DeniseHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2018

Booked the Royal Oak due to being close to Powis Castle , the hotel is in middle of Welshpool, had to be shown where the hotel car park was . The hotel is very comfortable with helpful staff , rooms at the front can be noisy from traffic, this did not bother us , overall a good hotel for a short stay .

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank phanco563168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal O, General Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us. It’s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed a very comfortable stay with us. We are pleased that our staff were helpful and hope you enjoyed your visit to Powis Castle. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2018

Interesting as an Hotel; Magnificent as a restaurant. Sadly, only for one night.But Chance plays a part in our lives, so I might visit again, deliberately. The batteries in the TV remote control will have benn replaced by then!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank klea998200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal O, General Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Thank you sharing your experience of The Royal Oak with us. It’s great to hear that you though the restaurant was magnificent, your comments are very pleasing to read and we have shared them with our team. We would be delighted to see you again on your return to the area should you decide to visit the area again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018

Staff here are just exceptional ; 5* service throughout and they couldn't do enough for you. Best service we've had all year from many different hotels, it's a really happy, friendly place. Food is absolutely delicious, both breakfast and dinner, better than any restaurant in the area, would really recommend. We had a wonderful stay and would really recommend this place for a get away or an event. The only thing to watch is that it can get very noisy on the streets around the hotel on a weekend night, so ear plugs might be a good idea if you can't sleep with noise.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sightseer769233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal O, General Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Thank you for writing a review of your experience with us here at The Royal Oak.Your feedback is very important to us and it’s gives us great pleasure when we read feedback such as yours. We’re proud that you thought our staff were exceptional and that the service from our staff was 5*. We hope that on your return to Welshpool you will come back to us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews