We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy vegi food ”

The Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #10 of 55 Restaurants in Welshpool
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed November 12, 2018 via mobile

We sat right by a roaring log fire, perfect for the chilly evening. Two great vegetarian options, we had one of each. A mushroom risotto and vegetarian tagine; both good but the tagine was best. Desert was great too.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 555julieannb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal O, General Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2018

We’re delighted that you have taken the opportunity to share your experience with us. It’s great to read that your visit to The Royal Oak Hotel was great and that you enjoyed our vegetarian options. It's also lovely to hear that our roaring fire made your trip even more special. Next time you are back in Welshpool we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 250 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2018

Nice comfortable place to have a relaxing drink and some food, overall a quality place. would recommend highly.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thomas;Mr.ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal O, General Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us. It’s a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed nice comfortable relaxing food and drinks with us. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

As hotel residents for the weekend we decided to give the restaurant a try. First class meal when excellent service......

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 586garj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal O, Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re delighted that you had a first class meal with us with excellent service. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018

We were travelling from Barmouth back to the Midlands. We had a walk around the town and found this lovely looking hotel on the corner. Having our dog with us I went in and explained that we had our dog with us and the team were very welcoming.

Whilst I was ordering us a drink the hotel manager came out with a gift pack for the dog, a really nice idea.

The food was excellent we had Sunday roasts which were great.

Would happily recommend this place to anyone.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris5320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal O, General Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Thank you for writing a review of your experience with us here at The Royal Oak. Your feedback is very important to us and it’s gives us great pleasure when we read feedback such as yours. We’re proud that you had such a positive experience with us. We hope that on your return to Welshpool you will come back to us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

We rocked up at about 5:30 pm on a Friday evening with no booking and were lucky to get a table. I think being so early help in that regard.

We were shown straight to a table in the warm, cosy dining room. We were offered menus which we were given adequate time to study before our waitress returned to take our order for drinks and our meal.

We both had Welsh rarebit to start (what else would you have in Wales). I am the beef short rib with horseradish mash carrots and tender stem broccoli. My partner had the Royal Oak burger with fries. I had chocolate fondant for dessert, whilst my partner had the peach and blackberry cobbler. We finished with cappuccinos.

Every element of the food was beautifully prepared and executed. Perhaps the fondant could have been a tad more fluid and the Welsh rarebit could have had a touch more mustard but that is being really picky.

The best aspect of the whole evening was the service. I wish I’d noted the waitresses name because she was excellent. She seemed to anticipate our every need and the timing between courses could not have been better.

Overall I would highly recommend the Royal Oak in Welshpool.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank NumberTwoSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal O, General Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Thank you for writing a review of your experience with us here at the Royal Oak. Your feedback is very important to us and it’s gives us great pleasure when we read feedback such as yours. We’re proud that you had such a great experience with us. We are delighted that you had such great service and you rate us as highly recommended. We hope that on your return to Welshpool you will come back to us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing