We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best carrot cake and bacon baguette ever”
Review of Marco's Cafe

Marco's Cafe
Ranked #17 of 128 Restaurants in Barry
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

Arrived late September on a day with temperatures in the 70s on a spontaneous day out to make my first visit in over 60 years and enjoyed a super snack at Marco's of carrot cake and bacon baguette which were the best I have ever tasted. The service and ambience was superb.
Barry Island was exactly as I remembered it except it's comparable with most Spanish seafronts.
I once compared Bondi beach in Sydney to Barry Island but now I realise that Barry is better.
This venue beats Weston Super Mare in my opinion so get down there and visit the Gavin and Stacey haunts and maybe even buy a souvenir Marco's Barry Island travel mug as we did.
What a day down memory lane - I'll be back soon.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank worldtraveller600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 66 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Made a detour on a business trip yesterday to grab break fast in the sun. Very friendly and a glorious position to look at the sea and fabulous beach on a beautiful day. Nice coffee and breakfast panini . Will definitely detour again

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 1966cbuk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2018

The finest and freshest bacon butties in Barry!

Location to die for, employees a credit, the best tea on the Island and don't even get me started on the custard slices!!!

A must for any visit to the seafront, just park over the Knap if you want to walk off the calories!

Marco - you are a genius

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank daffyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

We stopped here for some ice creams the team was very polite and friendly. The prices were excellent value and the view outside was fantastic. Well worth a visit even if you aren’t a Gavin and Stacy fan.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank balmoraljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2018

If you are a tourist to wales you must visit Marcos cafe, very famous for a TV series but wait until you meet Marco the owner. One of the nicest men you will ever meet and his children are fantastic. The view from the cafe is lovely, you look out to Barry beach which is spotless. The coffee is real Italian and the atmosphere is very friendly. I try and go there when I’m home, just sit there in piece and quiet drinking coffee and laughing with Marco. If you go to London you visit the Palace, if you come to wales visit Marcos. Massive thumbs up.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank stevemogs81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marco's Cafe also viewed

Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Marco's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing