We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and chips mmmmm Devine ”
Review of Fontygary Fish Bar

Fontygary Fish Bar
Ranked #10 of 18 Quick Bites in Barry
Price range: US$1 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Fontygary Fish Bar is a family owned, family run business situated just outside Fontygary Leisure Park. We sell traditional fish and chips from March until the end of November every year. We, as a family, have owned Fontygary Fish Bar from 25 years as of 2014 and are very proud of our British approach to traditional fish and chips. We open Thursday - Sunday from the weekend of March 1st every year until Easter. We open 7 days a week then all through the summer until September, when we close on a Sunday. We then continue to open 6 days a week until the last Saturday in November. Do not hesitate to telephone us for our opening times. As of November 2017, we will be closing 2 weeks earlier on the 11th November. Due to illness, we regret that we have to close early. Sorry for any inconvenience caused. Thank you to all our loyal customers.
Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

Called into the fontygary fish bar situated at the entrance of fontygary caravan park food was perfection we both had fish and chips wrapped to eat in the car ( old school)
Fish was cooked fresh and was lovely chips again freshly cooked and nice and crispy
We couldn't fault the food

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Nathaniel-Richards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 55 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2018

Have visited twice in the last couple of weeks, both times we ordered Cod and Chips, the fish is cooked to order and each time the chips were freshly cooked too. This is the best fish and chip bar for miles. We live in Llantwit Major and drive here for our fish and chips as it is much better than the fish and chip shops in Llantwit. We take an insulated bag so that the food keeps warm during the drive back. It is a shame that they close for a few months during the winter. It is also great value for money.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lesleyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Had battered sausage and chips the sausage was not fresh and the batter rock hard.The chips were ok.I suggest if you have some food from here you wait till there his a que then you know that it will be freshy cooked when its your turn.I would be willing to wait for good food to be cooked.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Bluetnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

Really disappointed in this place heard so many good reviews but the chips were cold and very greasy and microwaved pies and pasties, not your traditional type of fish & chip shop

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank apollowales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2018

This is a fish and chip bar at a seaside caravan park. Yes, I thought the same at first, which made the experience even more surprising. The quality of food is exceptional, the roast Chicken has a coating to make your mouth water. As far as quantity goes, I have to tell them to hold back on the chips, I can never eat them all. Whether you're staying at the park or just in the area, you must try their food.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robbyd220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fontygary Fish Bar also viewed

 
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
Rhoose, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Fontygary Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing