We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best in miami”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“not the best in miami”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I enjoyed this hotel but the customer services from day 1 was not great, the beach staff are very nice, and it is directly on th ebeach and not far from aventura mall ..... good for shopping etc but for nightlife it is a quiet hotel, august is hurricane season but you will have 2 bad days and the rest will be gloriuos, i would reccomend going and getting food from the nearby shops as the restaurant becomes a expensive and b fattening lol

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank sineadleane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    287
    382
    165
    214
See reviews for
428
313
60
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

brilliant lovely rooms
lovely little america style cafe
out the rooms into the hot tub, into the pool, onto the sand into the sea

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie140806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I grew up in Miami in the 1960s and remember this hotel from then. At that time Sunny Isles Beach was filled with small motels on the beach. Most are gone, replaced by high rise condos and luxury hotels. But the Thunderbird remains, looking not much different than it did back then. Pretty much all the previous reviews are on target. It is an old place that has had minimal refurbishing and looks it. And compared to the Trump and Double Tree nearby the quality of the rooms is poor. However, for the first week in April the upscale hotels were charging near $400 per night and I got the Thunderbird for $115. I got what I expected in that the room was adequate not luxurious, the AC kept the room comfortable on hot days, and we were on the beach. The hotel has self parking for $8 per day which is a great deal in Sunny Isles. This is not the great Florida beach resort, but it is an adequate place to stay if you want to be on the beach in Miami and don't want to break the bank. Just don't have high expectations.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rbkmrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The room was spacious. Nothing fancey. Location is great right on the beach. Had to ask for towels everyday we were there. The charge a daily resort fee of $10.00 which is ridiculous considering everyday they were sawing and hammering making palm tree umbrellas. Loud rude and not relaxing. I ask for a refund for the resort fee Baldwin told me NO. If u are just looking to stay somewhere with pool and beach access this it. But parking is 8 dollars a day across the street. Other hotels are 20&up..

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyckedwon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

It's a Days Inn on the beach, competing with much more gorgeous hotels (a Trump hotel is next door), so what can be done? The rooms look a little tired, but the balcony faces a courtyard that is decently landscaped with palms and a pool. We were told we could have 2 towels from the pool attendant and 2 chairs, included with the room, at the beach. The rooms have a little kitchenette, so that might help a young family on a budget, but be sure to check to make sure the pilot lights are lit upon entering the room. We kept smelling a faint propane smell, and sure enough, the mini-stove's pilot light was un-lit. We only noticed it the next morning, which was alarming, since we slept in a room all night inhaling propane! When we notified the manager, he just said, "Uh, thanks, probably the pilot went out" and didn't offer any apologies or compensation. To be fair, we used our points for the room so it's not like he could give our money back, but still, he seemed unconcerned and blase' about it.

Room Tip: Just check your kitchenette for a propane smell to be safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank MakeamemoryThair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Never again! Services are poor, hidden fees, restaurant and the pool are not part of the hotel, they try to add fees for every towel you use at the pool, you don't have freedom to move closer to water at the beach, restaurant quality is very poor.
The lights on the balcony stay on all night, you don't control them, so you can't enjoy you night sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yelena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Check in was a breeze and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The room was ok - bathroom looked a little tired but was a good size so overall nothing to moan about. I'm not the type to let a bit of broken tile ruin my stay! The balcony was a very pleasant place to eat and enjoy the sounds of the ocean - couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kj52_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
1.2 km away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#3 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,779 reviews
0.2 km away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,487 reviews
0.5 km away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort
#170 of 208 in Miami Beach
4,650 reviews
4.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.8 km away
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Re...
#7 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort

Property: Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Address: 18401 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-2402 (Formerly Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Resort Miami)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Miami
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort Sunny Isles Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing