We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“slightly disappointed”
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sole on the Ocean
GreenLeadersBronze level
aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“slightly disappointed”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Arrived after a fabulous weeks cruise on the Oasis of the Seas,expectations were high. check in not til 3pm but very pleasant porter stored our cases for us. Guest relations, young chap, advised us on best shopping areas and what bus to get and from where, even offered to take me to the bus stop. Went away quite happily.
room- view was amazing, room a good size, in desperate need of a good clean, sand and dust everywhere, carpet dirty. no safe, no waste paper bin, no hairdryer, no toilet roll holder. coffee making facility only included one cup, had mine then husband had to wash it out for his! Beds were clean, woke up early with the noise from room next door, ?honeymooners!
Plenty of clean towels, shower was fixed but plenty hot water.
enjoyed the location, lovely beach, easy access to where we wanted to go by bus, diners and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellyamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie S, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear valued guest, your comments are an important part of our growth and we regret that there were some flaws during your stay. In the other hand, some of our amenities are offered via the guest relations desk upon request, such as safety deposit boxes. We are proud to offer Keurig coffee maker with complementary coffee and tea refills, Fiji water, pillow top mattresses, rain head showers. It is very complementing to know that our staff member at the guest’s relations desk was very helpful and informative. At the Sole, we would like to welcome you back and hope to see you soon in a near future. The Alba lounge offers continental and American breakfast for our guest’s convenience with the most breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel is located between Fort Lauderdale and Miami Beach, which allow our guests to have great access to the best Miami areas. We will be very happy to welcome you back and look forward to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    431
    196
    117
    116
See reviews for
512
585
89
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamsas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Wanted 2 hours to get a room (until 5:00PM) 13'x16 room -no chair for computer work -not even one on the balcony -room was hot. - coffee maker not working - only decaf coffee left out -business center computer does not have a printer - therefore you want in line again for the front desk to print your boarding pass - received a coupon for free glass of wine - only 2 customers in the bar but still took forever to get a drink - THERE IS NO LEVEL OF SERVICE HERE

Room Tip: Don.'t stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie S, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear valued guest, we are terrible sorry that your expectations were not fulfilled as we would have like it to. We have a great team of staff members that are willing to assist you at anytime you required to. All the information that pertain the Sole is specified in our website; such as: dimensions of the rooms and amenities offered, to mention some. As we are committed to offer you the best quality possible, and we understand that bedding is very important in our guests relaxation, all rooms are equipped with king size beds with pillow top mattresses. This might have taken some extra space in your room, but this was a decision made consciously, to ensure our guests had a very relaxing experience. Other amenities that we offer are: Keurig coffee maker ( with complementary refills of coffee and tea at your request), Fiji water, rain head shower, sauna and steam room with a fully equipped gym, and many other amenities available upon request to the guests relations desk. We appreciate your feedback and will be happy to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I had a great time there. The inside is like new compared to the other hotels on that beach which seem really run down. It was the perfect environment to relax and have fun at the same time. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. I had a city view suite and the view was pretty killer. There were a couple of things that I think could have been done better but nothing major.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie S, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear valued guest, we are thrilled to know that you had such a wonderful time at the Sole, as well as great service from our caring staff! Your detailed review is very much appreciated, as this is exactly what we want our guests to experience when they walk into our hotel and rooms. The management have made a conscious decision to maintain the décor simple and sophisticated, as well as soothing lighting in the rooms to create a relaxing atmosphere at all times. Sole offer spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, as well as the luxury to have a very strategic location: between Fort Lauderdale and Miami Beach, for our guest’s convenience. We would like to thank you for your great review of the Sole and the staff and we look forward to see you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Where to begin...the view from our 1-bedroom suite was amazing. It all ends there. While the view was nice, the room was void of necessities. No tissues, no hand towels, no utensils in the kitchen. You pay a daily resort fee that should give you a chair and towels. The weekend was busy and they quickly ran out of chairs and towels. Speaking of towels, you want two on the beach? They say one per person. You want two for your room? They say one per person. If the Seinfeld soup nazi episode is replaying in your mind, you're not alone. You want your room cleaned? No problem! But they make sure it's at 6 PM, just when you're smack in the middle of getting ready for dinner. But the worst was the TV which made me want to jump off the ledge over my pretty view. It barely worked. Every time you changed the channel, you had to enter a parental code. There was no fixing this, we asked. When we tried to change the channel, the guide popped up and the picture froze. In summary, you want a great view in a great location, stay here. You want service, you're completely on your own.

Room Tip: Stay in the suites, I heard people complain about how small the regular rooms were
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie S, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear valued guest, as we continue to improve in every aspect of our operation, we are glad to hear from our guests and how they feel about their experience while staying at the Sole. Your opinion is very important to us as all concerns are given the same consideration and appreciation. From the moment we hear the lack of tissues, we decided that now they are part of our standard set ups in all staterooms. Some of the amenities we offer upon request such as utensils, iron & ironing board, are available upon request to the guests relations desk. The Sole on the Ocean have been continuously booked for the last few months and this might have caused shortage in some of the amenities we offer, however, this have been resolved and we are currently pair level with everything, to ensure our guests are not being inconvenienced. We kindly invite you to join us again and enjoy our beautiful Sole, and all the convenience to have the most amazing beaches at your feet, the best shopping malls in Miami, great restaurants and many more luxuries that only Sole on the Ocean at Sunny Isles can offer you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Bad service. They got our money and Sorry if we can not help you does not cut it. No hot water in our friends room. At least they got the suite. We prepaid for a suite and got a dump without tissue, blow dryer no fridge. You want ice? Call downstairs and wait a looong time that is ifff they pickup at the front desk. They came to clean the room, left no towels, no cups. Their excuse...no towel delivery. This is a noStar dump. Do not believe their website!

Room Tip: We called several times to confirm including the date of the trip. They sent us somewhere else for 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrispyForBadPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights terrible nights. On arrival at 1p, we were told the room was ready but we would have to pay a $75 early check-in fee because check-in was not until 3p. Why bother to say the room was ready if we could not check-in without paying the fee?? The next issues were on-going through out the stay----There were no ice machines on the floors and guests had to call the front desk to request ice. There were never enough towels in the room, and again you had to call the from desk to make a request. It took anywhere from 4 to 24 hours to get ice and/or towels. Four days of constant waiting for ice and towels can ruin a vacation. The rooms were not cleaned until 6p or later every day and even when the housekeeper came by, they did not have towels. What the heck?? The bar services at the beach was also terrible, the person going around taking orders never came to every guests, so it was hit or miss whether you would get to place a drink or food order. And food orders were taking more than an hour according the guest we were seated by at the beach. We opted to walk to the market across the street for our food and snacks, and by the time we returned, the guests seated next to us still did not have their food!! The tv---each and everytime you changed the channel, a parental access code had to be put in, which can be extremely annoying when trying to channel surf to find something to watch. On the fourth day, engineering finally came up to the address that issue. The tv itself was very small, maybe a 20' flat screen. The room was decorated very nicely and the location was good, but all the waiting was more than we could bear. I would not recommended this hotel to anyone and with the many other hotels up and down the street, I am sure the Sole does not have any return visitors.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 623traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie S, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear valued guest,
We are truly sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. We thank you for the detailed review of the issues you encountered so that we may address these directly with our team. Rest assured all your comments have been heard and were addressed promptly. Regarding check in times, the hotel check in time is 4pm. However, if a guest arrives prior to check in and the room is ready at that time, an early check in is granted free of charge. An early check in fee is assessed when a guaranteed early check in is requested. We take your comments to heart do hope you will visit us again to see the improvements resulting from your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Switzerland, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The management should either focus on their sales of appartments, on long-time residents or on hotel guests. All together does not work very well and i would not call it a hotel. I am sure the staff does everything they can but the room was dirty and dusty and extremely noisy. No sun after 2pm because the building is stealing you the sun. All in all not its price worth. I believe they do not have a lot returning customers as long as they don't care about your opinion.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xsjado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoleSalesManager, Sales Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear valued guest,
We are very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. We value your comments and opinion about Sole on the Ocean and will address the issues you mentioned on your review with the appropriate departments for immediate follow up and correction. In regards to the sun, we are located on the east coast and as the sun moves into the west in the afternoon, buildings do in fact shade the beach, as is the case with beachfront hotels here in Miami. The shade does start at 2pm on the pool deck and moves toward the beach by 4pm. We are a boutique hotel and each and every guest experience is important to us. In the future, if you have any requests, our guest service agents and our concierge are always happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
1.4 km away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
0.6 km away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
13.8 km away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#33 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#8 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
5.8 km away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
0.7 km away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole on the Ocean

Property: Sole on the Ocean
Address: 17315 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-3410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sole on the Ocean 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sole On The Ocean, Sunny Isles Beach is located between Miami and Fort Lauderdale. Our boutique resort soars above some of South Florida's most celebrated shopping destinations, restaurants, nightlife, and the Atlantic Ocean. Sole on the Ocean's 24-stories and 249 rooms offer a fresh perspective on Sunny Isles Beach. Services include access to our gym, steam room, sauna, outdoor pool and sundeck, as well beach umbrellas and lounge chairs, including breathtaking views from Fresh American Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sole on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole On The Ocean Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Sole On The Ocean Sunny Isles Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing