We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sole on the Ocean
Nearby Hotels
US$127
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marenas Beach Resort(Sunny Isles Beach)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$89
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Trump International Beach Resort(Sunny Isles Beach)
US$218
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$143
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
US$377
US$146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Best Holiday Suites(Sunny Isles Beach)
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$500
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Intracoastal Yacht Club(Sunny Isles Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,028)
Filter reviews
2,028 results
Traveller rating
1,004
499
236
137
152
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,004
499
236
137
152
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoleamerican bistrofront desksunny islesbeach servicesouth beachspecial thanksvalet staffpool barliving roomfull kitchenvalet parkingcity viewbeautiful beachmiami areaaventura mallgio
Filter
Updating list...
1,063 - 1,068 of 2,028 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Wanted 2 hours to get a room (until 5:00PM) 13'x16 room -no chair for computer work -not even one on the balcony -room was hot. - coffee maker not working - only decaf coffee left out -business center computer does not have a printer - therefore you want in line again for the front desk to print your boarding pass - received a coupon for free glass of wine - only 2 customers in the bar but still took forever to get a drink - THERE IS NO LEVEL OF SERVICE HERE

Room Tip: Don.'t stay here
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie S, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Dear valued guest, we are terrible sorry that your expectations were not fulfilled as we would have like it to. We have a great team of staff members that are willing to assist you at anytime you required to. All the information that pertain the Sole is specified in our website; such as: dimensions of the rooms and amenities offered, to mention some. As we are committed to offer you the best quality possible, and we understand that bedding is very important in our guests relaxation, all rooms are equipped with king size beds with pillow top mattresses. This might have taken some extra space in your room, but this was a decision made consciously, to ensure our guests had a very relaxing experience. Other amenities that we offer are: Keurig coffee maker ( with complementary refills of coffee and tea at your request), Fiji water, rain head shower, sauna and steam room with a fully equipped gym, and many other amenities available upon request to the guests relations desk. We appreciate your feedback and will be happy to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I had a great time there. The inside is like new compared to the other hotels on that beach which seem really run down. It was the perfect environment to relax and have fun at the same time. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. I had a city view suite and the view was pretty killer. There were a couple of things that I think could have been done better but nothing major.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie S, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Dear valued guest, we are thrilled to know that you had such a wonderful time at the Sole, as well as great service from our caring staff! Your detailed review is very much appreciated, as this is exactly what we want our guests to experience when they walk into our hotel and rooms. The management have made a conscious decision to maintain the décor simple and sophisticated, as well as soothing lighting in the rooms to create a relaxing atmosphere at all times. Sole offer spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, as well as the luxury to have a very strategic location: between Fort Lauderdale and Miami Beach, for our guest’s convenience. We would like to thank you for your great review of the Sole and the staff and we look forward to see you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Where to begin...the view from our 1-bedroom suite was amazing. It all ends there. While the view was nice, the room was void of necessities. No tissues, no hand towels, no utensils in the kitchen. You pay a daily resort fee that should give you a chair and towels. The weekend was busy and they quickly ran out of chairs and towels. Speaking of towels, you want two on the beach? They say one per person. You want two for your room? They say one per person. If the Seinfeld soup nazi episode is replaying in your mind, you're not alone. You want your room cleaned? No problem! But they make sure it's at 6 PM, just when you're smack in the middle of getting ready for dinner. But the worst was the TV which made me want to jump off the ledge over my pretty view. It barely worked. Every time you changed the channel, you had to enter a parental code. There was no fixing this, we asked. When we tried to change the channel, the guide popped up and the picture froze. In summary, you want a great view in a great location, stay here. You want service, you're completely on your own.

Room Tip: Stay in the suites, I heard people complain about how small the regular rooms were
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie S, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Dear valued guest, as we continue to improve in every aspect of our operation, we are glad to hear from our guests and how they feel about their experience while staying at the Sole. Your opinion is very important to us as all concerns are given the same consideration and appreciation. From the moment we hear the lack of tissues, we decided that now they are part of our standard set ups in all staterooms. Some of the amenities we offer upon request such as utensils, iron & ironing board, are available upon request to the guests relations desk. The Sole on the Ocean have been continuously booked for the last few months and this might have caused shortage in some of the amenities we offer, however, this have been resolved and we are currently pair level with everything, to ensure our guests are not being inconvenienced. We kindly invite you to join us again and enjoy our beautiful Sole, and all the convenience to have the most amazing beaches at your feet, the best shopping malls in Miami, great restaurants and many more luxuries that only Sole on the Ocean at Sunny Isles can offer you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Bad service. They got our money and Sorry if we can not help you does not cut it. No hot water in our friends room. At least they got the suite. We prepaid for a suite and got a dump without tissue, blow dryer no fridge. You want ice? Call downstairs and wait a looong time that is ifff they pickup at the front desk. They came to clean the room, left no towels, no cups. Their excuse...no towel delivery. This is a noStar dump. Do not believe their website!

Room Tip: We called several times to confirm including the date of the trip. They sent us somewhere else for 2 nights. Do not trust this company!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrispyForBadPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights terrible nights. On arrival at 1p, we were told the room was ready but we would have to pay a $75 early check-in fee because check-in was not until 3p. Why bother to say the room was ready if we could not check-in without paying the fee?? The next issues were on-going through out the stay----There were no ice machines on the floors and guests had to call the front desk to request ice. There were never enough towels in the room, and again you had to call the from desk to make a request. It took anywhere from 4 to 24 hours to get ice and/or towels. Four days of constant waiting for ice and towels can ruin a vacation. The rooms were not cleaned until 6p or later every day and even when the housekeeper came by, they did not have towels. What the heck?? The bar services at the beach was also terrible, the person going around taking orders never came to every guests, so it was hit or miss whether you would get to place a drink or food order. And food orders were taking more than an hour according the guest we were seated by at the beach. We opted to walk to the market across the street for our food and snacks, and by the time we returned, the guests seated next to us still did not have their food!! The tv---each and everytime you changed the channel, a parental access code had to be put in, which can be extremely annoying when trying to channel surf to find something to watch. On the fourth day, engineering finally came up to the address that issue. The tv itself was very small, maybe a 20' flat screen. The room was decorated very nicely and the location was good, but all the waiting was more than we could bear. I would not recommended this hotel to anyone and with the many other hotels up and down the street, I am sure the Sole does not have any return visitors.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank 623traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie S, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Dear valued guest,
We are truly sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. We thank you for the detailed review of the issues you encountered so that we may address these directly with our team. Rest assured all your comments have been heard and were addressed promptly. Regarding check in times, the hotel check in time is 4pm. However, if a guest arrives prior to check in and the room is ready at that time, an early check in is granted free of charge. An early check in fee is assessed when a guaranteed early check in is requested. We take your comments to heart do hope you will visit us again to see the improvements resulting from your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews