We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLY THE BEST”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SIMPLY THE BEST”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Little late but,The Acqualina is just outstanding,stayed in some pretty good one's,Ritz,Beallagio,Wynn,this is lavish in every word of the meaning,top to bottom,from the amazing staff,lobby,suites/rooms,bathrooms to die for,pool,restaurant,you could not ask for anything more,will stay again pre cruise or maybe just a few days away,wish I were there now,enjoy

Room Tip: Ocean Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnnymelonball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    85
    24
    13
    9
See reviews for
349
373
23
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

My husband and I travelled to Miami for the first time and stayed 1 night at Acqualina. For anyone deciding on where to stay in sunny isles and contemplating this resort or Bal harbor I recommend this resort (thanks to cooboutique.com). Upon entering this beautiful property it felt as though I was in a James bond movie. Exquisite cars from Ferraris, to Bentleys to Aston martins this was the place to be. The doorman was personable and friendly and very welcoming and come to think of it they are usual the first people you see upon entering a hotel so they should definitely leave that impression it gives a taste of what service is about to come your way. The check in was seamless and efficient. The front desk was definitely on top of their game and again personable and friendly -the lady who checked us in was awesome. The lobby is narrow but very luxurious with a beautiful arrangement of flowers in the center of the hall - just those small details. Okay now I might be picking but one elevator was out of order ( hey had 6 or so ) but they had a sign made that read “Out of Order, Sorry for the inconvenience ”. Pretty standard right? Not, this hotel even had it on their company letterhead on an easel -not taped to the elevator - just the little bit of detail and class.

We booked the 1 bedroom suite with ocean view and it was amazing. A bit big for two people. Wow, when do you hear of anyone complaining of a room being too big. But in any event the bedroom was spacious with a walk in closet, not going to talk about beds and pillows because everyone has different preferences. The bathroom was very spacious and this was a perfect size for two people. Double sinks, vanity, huge shower where you can take a shower with your significant other and let’s not forget the Etro bath products.

They also had a cool art deco coffee maker with complementary illy coffee. Perfect for the morning jolt on the spacious balcony overlooking the amazing ocean view.

To access the pools or beach you need to get a wristband which is located just outside the restaurant. The pool attendant takes you to your destination weather you want pool or beach and they set you up with towels and chairs. Again the whole staff were very personable.

We decided to have lunch on the beach. They have a really cool flag concept. By your lounge chair - you have a flag post. If you want something simply raise the flag and the server will come to you. No needed to holler someone or try and find anyone. We decided to have lunch by the ocean so up goes the flag. The server was there in no time and again very personable and friendly. I decided to order fish taco's never had this before and typically only eat shrimp and salmon - but I was glad I got this. Yummy. Needed a bit more salt but really this is subjective.

After the ocean we went to use the pool. They have three pools. The main pool is where all the action is. It is quite large and plenty of chairs ( but it could be because it was not there busy season). The pool was heated which was awesome. I also used their adult pool obviously more quieter and I could do laps. Although I think the third pool is there lap pool.

Near the hotel you have a Walgreens, which is walking distance – and we strolled there in the night to buy some water. Further down you have Denny's and a few other eateries and shops.

They have turn down service which is always a nice surprise and oh ya forgot to mention we got a welcome amenity an array of cheeses, fruit and crackers.

This resort does offer a house car which is Lincoln Navigator - it will take you for free anywhere within a 8 mile radius. We took it to the bal harbor shops. The driver will leave his card so you can call him to pick you back up. Even the driver was excellent and personable. I would suggest tipping the driver because if you were going to take a taxi it would cost at least 15 bucks each way so we gave the driver 10 for each way.

Overall this hotel really embodies service service service, quality, quality, quality. I would definitely stay here again. If you’re looking for great service, quality, efficiencies, luxurious stay then don't look no further. There is not much action here but you could take a bus for 2 dollars that will take you to Miami Beach – if that is what you’re looking for. Of course you can always take a taxi or rent a car to get around.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juliathompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york ny
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I am not a big fan of the greater Miami area, but I go to this area once a year for business. That said, this hotel is a good addition the usually trashy and overly trendy Miami area hotel scene. The rooms were comfortable, the location is great, right on an uncrowded beach. The food in the two hotel restaurants was fine. The staff was very nice, but a little overbearing,do I have to be asked 15 times a day if I am enjoying my stay? I agree with a previous posting that the check in process was laborious, I waited until past check in time to get in my room, alas, a small complaint. Overall, the hotel is professionally run and very clean. The spa facilities were first rate and uncrowded when I was there.
One annoying feature about the rooms was the overly complicated lighting system. In my room there were twenty, that is right, twenty, light switches and dimmers. I counted them twice to be sure I was accurately assessing this situation. It was impossible to figure this out and more than half of the switches were completely useless, dimmers in a recessed area of the bathroom ceiling, really! And with all of this nutty excess, there was not a good bedside reading light.

Room Tip: Seaside is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrponcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Acqualina in March 2011. We pretty much loved everything about this hotel. The room was oversized, the beach was beautiful and pools and grounds were wonderful. After saying all that, the staff is probably the best thing about this place. They were attentive to every little detail. I cannot say enough about the Acqualina. It is expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank torts58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed there as the first leg of a family holiday on October of this year and the hotel could not have done more or been better. Quite expensive - but great value 100% No faults whatsoever.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milneaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
267 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We checked in for 3 nights for a family on-the-beach vacation and never saw any sun. But we liked the hotel anyway. Room (an oceanfront suite on the 11th floor) was decorated very nicely and was designed well and it feels private with only 4 rooms per floor. It was also very spacious with a great bathroom. The terrace facing the ocean was also designed well -- often people design these terraces in a way that you can't sit down and actually see the ocean. We had problems with the electronics such as the TV and the internet with the computer provided in the room. The IT department was very prompt; but we had to call on them more times than I would have liked. My wife had to get some work done late at night and they were nice about letting her work behind the front desk when the computer in the mezzanine level "phone room" didn't function that well. I'm always flabbergasted about why top tier properties cut corners with this stuff. All the food we had was very good to excellent and the breakfast buffet was rather good. Be sure and try the Italian cheese cake. The Acquamarina day camp promises a lot of marine biology and it turned out to be a bit less than promised but then again it might have not been the real program since the kids couldn't go outside. The Spa was quite good. So was the gym. Concierge, housekeeping, and valet staff were all very friendly. I've stayed in other beachfront top hotels such as the Fontainbleau and I find this one much more personal and put together better. Very good value for money overall. An eating tip: We skipped the Italian restaurant on property and ate at Timo across the street; liked it so much we went back again. Another fine choice was Bourbon Steak House at Turnberry 10 minutes drive away. Both are less than half the price and we are being consistently told by locals and other tourists that the hotel restaurant Il Mulino is simply not good bang for the buck for dinner. You can get some of their stuff at lunch from the lobby bar at a more decent price to try it.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank 649ic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I'm not sure what it is about this place that brings me back all the time. Very stuffy environment. The suite was amazing. Full kitchen amazing views. Il Mulino wasn't all that good, overrated. The sushi in the lounge was very good. ESPA has one of the best massages and spa.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,487 reviews
Sole on the Ocean
#3 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Setai
#6 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,052 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,009 reviews
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#7 of 208 in Miami Beach
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach

Property: Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach
Address: 17875 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-2718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach is a place where the charm of a Mediterranean villa meets elegance on the beach and a recipient of the coveted Forbes Travel Guide Five Star Award, the AAA Five Diamond Award and the Andrew Harper’s Reader’s Choice Award for Top #1 Top Beach Resort, #1 Top Spa Resort and #1 Top Family Resort. A seaside luxury haven located on 4.5 beachfront acres in pristine Sunny Isles Beach, Acqualina Resort & Spa features 98 impeccably appointed guest rooms and suites and 188 residencies with breathtaking views of Atlantic Ocean. Step into a world of luxury at this Miami Beach Resort with unprecedented accommodations and service, world-class dining destinations, including Piazzetta Marketplace, AQ by Acqualina with menus provided by Il Mulino New York and a separate restaurant by the Il Mulino New York, three oceanfront swimming pools, spacious boardroom, a world class fitness center offering the latest Artis technology and an innovative marine biology-based children’s program. A variety of lavish interior and exterior venues provide an ideal background for opulent weddings and memorable events on the lush property grounds boasting 400 feet of stunning Atlantic coastline. Acqualina Spa by ESPA, the first ESPA-branded spa in the United States, provides guests with an exquisite 20,000-square-foot, two-story tranquil sanctuary of excellence and relaxation set in a class of its own offering 11 multi-functional treatment rooms and an extravagant private spa suite for two, along with the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful outdoor terrace complete with a spa pool, heated jet pool, and Roman waterfall – all set against the gorgeous backdrop of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acqualina Resort And Spa On The Beach
Acqualina Resort & Spa On The Beach Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Acqualina Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Acqualina Hotel On The Beach
Acqualina Resort & Spa On The Beach Sunny Isles Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing