We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but unorganized hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marenas Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sunny Isles Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Blumenau, SC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place, but unorganized hotel”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I've been there last week. The doormen and the concierge are very nice and kind, but people at the frontdesk..... Forget them. They are desorganized and not so nice. I wouldn't stay there again, althoug the location is wonderful

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    483
    212
    102
    71
See reviews for
626
479
42
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I'll start at the beginning. Got to resort around lunch time but couldnt check in till 4 PM. No problem, we left our luggage and put on our bathing suits and went out to the wonderful beach with free chair and towels. There was no food/drink service on the beach, so went inside to order. The food was good, nothing memorable. We went in at 4 to check in but still had to wait almost 45 minutes to check in. I think they need more housecleaning staff at least on the weekends when the hotel is full. We had a classic room which is super small, but the bathroom is large and it was adequate for our needs. The view was to die for. On our balcony we looked left out to the ocean and right to see the intercoastal. Just spectacular. I just wish we had a couple of chairs to sit in so we could enjoy the view. After showering and napping we went downstairs for before dinner drinks. We were the only ones at the bar, but that was fine. The bartender was helpful without being annoying.
The bed was very comfortable. It was also very quiet. I didnt hear anyone at all.
The next morning we enjoyed the breakfast buffet. While again, it was nothing wonderful, it was adequate and filling. The waitress was very friendly. The only think I would have liked was maybe a whole pot of coffee on the table. The cups were super small and I like alot of coffee in the mornings.
All in all, I had a really nice time and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The classic room is so small, it reminded me of European hotels. YOu may want to upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My husband and I were hesitant about booking our 5 night vacation at the Marenas Resort, especially since we were bringing my in-laws to visit Miami for the first time. Wow, were we surprised by the beautiful view and the wonderful accommodations at this resort. Okay, lets be honest, its not a luxury resort, but we didn't pay luxury resort fees either. There is free Wifi, free chairs on the beach which most hotels DON'T offer. The one restaurant, Caracol, is reasonably priced, however the food wasn't memorable. Anyway, we got a 2 bedroom oceanfront suite, which was clean, convenient and had the amazing views of the ocean. Well, one of the bedrooms wasn't quite oceanfront, but at least we weren't awakened by the beautiful, yet harsh sunlight. The location was great, and lots of the stores and supermarkets nearby to stock the fridge in the room in case you have kids or elderly people staying. All in all, we got a lot for what we spent, and would consider returning. Oh and by the way, we booked through AAA, which is probably why we got such a good deal.

Room Tip: If planning on using the kitchen, make sure to tell the reservation person when booking or front des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lysistrata79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee Fl
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I came in to a business meeting (being held at another property) and I was looking for an alternative that had the comforts of home...I found it! I loved having a full kitchen, a washer and dryer and my own balcony. Everything about the unit was first rate and whether I needed room service, laundry soap, or a package available to be picked up at 6am the staff were there for every need. I think this is an excellent place to stay for the value and I will stay here for every meeting I have in the Hollywood/Miami vicinity. I was very pleased with all aspects of my stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The staff was nice; however there is no communication as to the amneties available. We weren't aware of the spa and hot tub until we did our own investigation on the day we were leaving! Never told that there would be a $25/day charge for valet parking - which is forced on you - there is no self parking. There is mold growing on the sprinkler system and above door frames. Dust is an inch thick; what looked like blood stains on the bathroom door and hair in the tub (almost forgot - a broken toilet seat too!). The buffet breakfast was cold; even the hot water for tea. The tv is old fashioned (mid-90's) and the carpet is old and stained. The bed was good! The view of the beach was nice and the chairs and towel service on the beach was excellent. I would try a different hotel next time I'm in Miami.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from elevators and hvac room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creese685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This was our second visit to the Marenas and it was just as wonderful as we remembered it. The units are spacious, bright and clean. We had a full kitchen and washer and dryer. Very convenient location on the beach (with great beach chair service!), and in walking distance to a grocery store, pharmacy and restaurants. The hotel breakfast was very nice, and the buffet included fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, bread and danishes. All the staff were helpful and efficient. A special thanks to some of the amazing staff for making our stay extra comfortable and pleasant - Aziz (breakfast), Ana and her wonderful front desk staff.
We cannot wait for our next visit to this amazing hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sari O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We went to Las Marenas a month ago. We were so lucky, and we had an upgrade to the suite! It's really worth it! The normal bedroom is quite small. In the suite, you have a living room, washer and dryer, full kitchen (a fridge is a plus, the grocery store is 5 min walk, very useful since it's not an all inclusive and the breakfast are pricey).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecrystal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
1.4 km away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#3 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,817 reviews
0.2 km away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#8 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,121 reviews
0.8 km away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.6 km away
Trump International Beach Resort
Trump International Beach Resort
#4 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
2,161 reviews
0.9 km away
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Be...
#1 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marenas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marenas Beach Resort

Property: Marenas Beach Resort
Address: 18683 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-2404 (Formerly Le Meridien)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marenas Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated midway between Miami and Fort Lauderdale, Marenas Beach Resort enjoys a desirable location on a glorious 2.5 mile stretch of pristine white sand in Florida's French Riviera of Sunny Isles Beach. Combining classic and contemporary styling to make up its design, Marenas offers a combination of rooms and suites each with views of the glistening Atlantic Ocean and Intracoastal Waterways ideal for family retreats or an intimate couple's getaway. As a member of Benchmark's Hotels and Resorts, Personal Luxury collection Marenas is sure to exceed your expectations. In addition, newly redesigned event space to span over 10,000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor function areas with breath taking panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Marenas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marenas Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Meridien Sunny Isles Beach
Le Meridien Sunny Isles Beach
Sunny Isles Beach Meridien
Sunny Isles Beach Le Meridien
Marenas Beach Resort Sunny Isles Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing