We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a college spring break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Sunny Isles Beach
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good for a college spring break”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Overall an average stay, room was not super nice but thats alright for college kids.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kati T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    1,031
    745
    427
    518
See reviews for
1,461
886
118
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bronx ny
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

great location at a bargain price considering you are on one of the best beaches in Miami. The two bedroom two bath suites were great. My 18 year old son came with his friend and we had plenty of space. The best part was that the jet ski rental was right there on the hotel beach so that my son and his friend rented them daily. The food is good and there are plenty of restaurants close to the hotel if you want to take a walk. The Tony Roma's is really good! We even took a trip to the everglades and the hotel staff were a great help with directions. Don't forget to make reservations at Mai Kai in Ft. Lauderdale for the best Polynesian show and the Rustic Inn for the best seafood.

Room Tip: request a high floor. the view is amazing!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The wife and I just got back from Newport. I am assuming the room we stayed in was an older room. The decor was older and a little worn but the room was very clean.
The staff was courteous, nice and helpful. The staff recommended a number of spots to have dinner and attractions to visit.
The location was perfect we were literally 30 minutes from everywhere we wanted to go eg. South Beach, Everglades, Sawgrass Mall and Dolphin Mall.

Now the reason we wouldnt stay there again is due to the parking. If you decide to stay at Newport you will have two options, $15.00 to park across the street (Collins is a VERY busy street) or valet parking for $18.00. For the extra 3.00 we chose the valet parking... what a mistake! Normally for valet parking you call down prior to leaving your room and your car is ready for you by the time you reach downstairs. At Newport you have to actually go downstairs and present your ticket and wait until they pull your car around. Needless to say we spent (on average) 20 - 30 minutes waiting for them to pull our car around.

There were other minor stuff such as older tv's that didint work to well, the cleaning staff walking into our room at 9:00 am (we were not provided a do not disturb card) while we were sleeping, we were supposed to receive a bracelet to give us access to the pool and other ameneities we were not offered this until the end of our trip. But again the aforementioned were minor and didnt really impact our stay as compared to the valet parking.

If you dont mind waiting for your car or crossing a busy street to get your car ... this place is for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank byander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed for two nights. The rooms are nice size, but starting to show their age. Had refrigerator, and microwave, but no coffee maker in room? The parking is crazy and always busy. The location is right on beach with good beach view, but construction is going on the beach. Many good restaurants, and grocery within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

On Saturday May 5,2012, my Organzation the Progressive Officers Club (P.O.C.) had its Annually Scholarship Ball at the Newport Beach Resort. From the on start the setup of the ball room and dinner setting was excellent. Mr. Micheal O'Malley and his staff was so professional. that he was as cool as the other side of the pillow. As the president of P.O.C. I certainly understand what service and committ means to the people. And that's exacly what we (P.O.C.) received from the Newport Beach Resort. Great Job!!!! Mr. O'Malley and staff.


Regards, James Dixon President

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We enjoyed our trip away as my daughter and I just wanted a break from her exams and my hectic work schedule. Overall I enjoyed this hotel. It was noisy with the children, but again, thats what Adult Only resorts are for. Beach was beautiful. Construction work didnt bother us, the only day it was crazy was my last day there, when they were renotivating rooms on the fourth floor. On the day of arrival, I was impressed by the Owners/Managers coming to our room to welcome us, so this was good, they obviously are working hard to impress customers and I appreciated it. One problem was breakfast area was crazy, had a unfortunate run in with one girl, but got it sorted and smiles the remainder of my time, but they do need some coaching on how to treat customers, and remember to smile regardless of how your day is going.

Room Tip: We had a lovely ocean front room, very recommended if you can get one or afford the upgrade. Air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pat1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel after a cruise. The front desk staff were very helpful, and were able to find us a room(there were 4 of us) for early check in, which we much appreciated as it was raining torrentially. The lobby is very impressive, but there were a whole lot of people lounging around in it, probably killing time until their plane left, and not be able to go outside.

As soon as you got into the elevator part, the impression started to deteriorate. The elevator has seen better days, the carpet is late 80's, a little dingy. When we got to our room, we weren't expecting much. We ended up with a large room that could be separated into 2 sections, with a Murphy bed. It was also 80's style, well worn, not the cleanest but not the worst, with wallpaper being removed from the crown molding but the glue never taken off. The TVs(there were 2 of them, side by side) were the old style TVs, the reception was not great.

We did have a great view of the ocean. If it had not been for the rain, we probably would have spent the entire day outside, but because of the rain, the entire place felt damp. The girls felt their Murphy bed was damp - but this may have been just because that's how the whole place felt.

We did go down and have a quick meal, service was okay, the meal was okay. The outdoor pool area looked nice, as did the beach. So I would really think that on a nice sunny day everyone would have enjoyed the place better. We were given vouchers for Breakfast, but with an early flight, did not get to use them.

We did run into one problem that really bothered me, but not the hotel's fault. We had a 6:50 flight in the morning, so had to leave around 5:00. Airport is about 35 minutes(and $52) away. There was 4 people, (me, my husband, my 2 daughters 20 and 21). We needed a minivan cab - there was none to be had at that time, we waited almost 30 minutes, then got into a sedan and the luggage was put in the trunk tied up with a cord. Ended up going through security etc, just as the plane was boarding. The person on the desk and the bell hop both tried to get other cabs for us, but it was just not in the cards. So perhaps pre-book a minivan cab if you are leaving with lots of luggage.

Would I stay here again. I don't think so - but just because I like my hotels a little more upscale. Nothing terribly wrong, just not my cup of tea

Room Tip: Apparently, if you ask for a renovated room, you will get something better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank macpherk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.7 km away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#3 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,818 reviews
2.1 km away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,513 reviews
1.8 km away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#8 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort
#169 of 208 in Miami Beach
4,678 reviews
1.3 km away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
288 reviews
1.4 km away
Trump International Beach Resort
Trump International Beach Resort
#4 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Property: Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Address: 16701 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-4201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Miami and Fort Lauderdale, Newport Beachside Resort offers world-class services combined with outstanding value in a beautiful oceanfront setting. 300 guest rooms include those with an ocean or cityscape view and those with balconies overlooking the ocean. Resort amenities feature oceanfront pool, on-site restaurants, cabanas, children's playground and historic pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HRS, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beachside Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Newport Beachside Resort
Newport Miami Beach
Newport Hotel Miami Beach
Newport Beachside Hotel Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel And Resort Sunny Isles Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing