We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but not the best Middle Eastern I have had”
Review of Kazbah Balmain

Kazbah Balmain
Ranked #11 of 150 Restaurants in Balmain
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Balmain
Description: Taste of Arabia Middle Eastern Cuisine Tagines Shisha
Reviewed April 26, 2018

Went to this place for lunch last week.
Service was good.
Food was good, but not the best Middle Eastern food I have had in the area. The dips and breads were excellent, but the couscous lamb was ordinary IMO.
It wasn't cheap either.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cromansydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazbah_Group, Manager at Kazbah Balmain, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Hi cromansydney and thank you for your review of our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 239 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2018 via mobile

We came last Sunday for lunch with our family. The service is always great ! And the food is always tasting AMAZING!
Could not recommend this place enough :)
Highly recommend.

Thank Yumchaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazbah_Group, Manager at Kazbah Balmain, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Thank you Yumchaaaaa for your lovely review of our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you dine with us again sometime soon at Kazbah Balmain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2018

We were told that they were busy when we entered even though there were lots of available tables.
Caught waiter to order food. Waited a while for food which was ok.
But whilst delivering a dish waiter knocked the water bottle from the table that smashed all over the floor water and glass going everywhere. Waiter ran off to get the mop and another man came to sweep glass. Floor was very casually mopped still large puddles of water. Not an apology nor were we taken to another table.
Bottom line no apologies or an offer of free coffee
/desert as a sign of good will. "CUSTOMER SERVICE"
Man on table next to us had his dinner delivered then waited at least 30 mins for his friends to get there's. Mmm
I don't think reading reviews this is not the first time people have mentioned bad CUSTOMER SERVICE.

1  Thank 70Billie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazbah_Group, Manager at Kazbah Balmain, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Hi Sue,

To start off, the empty tables you saw were actually reserved for customers who had booked online so we can't just give those away to walk-ins. Accidents do occasionally happen and the water jug breaking was not intentional. I was the barista for the day and stopped making everyone drinks to run outside and grab a mop to help clean up the mess. We cleaned up the mess as best as we could and also put a Caution Wet Floor sign on the area where this happened. As for no apology?? The manager apologised to you on several occasions so I do not understand why you would say otherwise, also he did ask you if you would like to move to another table which you had declined saying it was ok. As for free coffees or dessert?? We would have given you free coffee or even not charged you for your meal if the water jug broke on top of your table and gone all over your food or even yourselves but this did not happen, the water spilt onto the floor so there was no need to offer free items. When you asked for the bill the manager asked you if everything was ok and was sorry for the mishap earlier to which you both said that was ok and everything was great. So I have no idea why you would write this negative review when you told the manager everything was great. You do not need to mention what happens on tables around you as you have no idea what is going on on their table or in the kitchen so you should just keep your reviews to your own experiences. Finally, as for the comment bad CUSTOMER SERVICE, you can go through all our reviews and see we are highly rated in the quality of our service. We serve hundreds of people over the weekends and occasionally things will go wrong but we do our best to fix any issues that arise.

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2018 via mobile

Had grilled haloumi, fried cauliflower, baba ganoush, king prawns, spiced feta cheese, chicken shish kebab and lamb kebab. Tasty food, fresh ingredients, authentic flavour. Good service, nice decor and ambience. Casual but pretty place. Easy to book online. Great location- can get there by ferry from Barangaroo to East Balmain Wharf, then either walk or take the bus “up” Darling Street... stop by any bars along the way for the pre-drinks.

Thank lilandy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazbah_Group, Manager at Kazbah Balmain, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Thank you lilandy80 for your lovely review of our restaurant. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the quality of our food and service and look forward to having you dine with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

I’ve been meaning to go to kazbah for ages because I walk past it nearly every day and it looks so nice with it’s intricately tiled walls. I finally went for brunch, it was hard to choose because there were so many amazing sounding options. In the end I went for the vegetable breakfast tagine with pumpkins, peppers, onions, mushrooms and egg with flatbread and toast. When it came I didn’t actually like it, the pumpkin was super sweet and there was too much of it. But I think I might have ordered the wrong dish I will definitely go back and try something else.

Thank Isobel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazbah_Group, Manager at Kazbah Balmain, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Thank you Isobel for your review. Maybe next time you can try the Lamb Mince breakfast Tagine rather than the Pumpkin one as the Lamb option is the most popular and is our signature breakfast dish which is the main reason people come to Kazbah for breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kazbah Balmain also viewed

Balmain, Sydney
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Kazbah Balmain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing