We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ on the mountain”

Smokehouse Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Monteagle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed May 21, 2018 via mobile

This must have been the place Cracker Barrel visited before they launched. Old times, smelling of smoked meats and loaded with country cooking. We did the $13 lunch buffet which had 3 meats and plenty of food. Don’t be scared of the xxx bbq sauce, on the thin side. Store is full of antiques,hard to know what’s for sale and what’s for show. Parking for RVs.

Thank PattiBethA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at Smokehouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

Patti, thanks so much for your 4 Star Review and for your comments, we appreciate your business! We don't try to burn customers up with having the hottest BBQ sauce, but we do have some pickles with Ghost Peppers in them that will definitely register on your hotter scale! We appreciate your time to do a review, and for stopping in to visit with us at the Smoke House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 694 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2018 via mobile

I was looking for bar b q, so we can drive through Nashville. Saw the billboards on the road & decided to stop, added bonus was the music they had tonight. 3 brothers playing some country & acoustic guitars. They are good, to bad we have to get on the road. We tried the buffet, the salad bar was good & kept chilled. The hot side, I felt could have been warmer. Had a little taste of the sides & the smoked chicken which I thought was dry. Could have been hotter on the hot side, although the cornbread was good.

Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at Smokehouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2018

Hi Monica, thanks for your review and we always appreciate your business. The new chilled Salad Bar is easy to see how it is "chilled down" because of the frost. But the hot food is at the bottom of the pans on the steam table, you have to go to the bottom to see the heat on the food steaming up. The closer to the top, the less hot. Thanks so much for stopping in and glad you enjoyed the free music from the Flat River Band, one of our favorites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2018 via mobile

Tourist trap. Took a look at the buffet and turned around....Food looked mushy and dried out of that is possible. Place felt dirty. The store is full of different kinds of hot sauces, etc. Don’t stop for the food.

1  Thank midwestgirl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at Smokehouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2018

midwestgirl38, so sorry that we did not appeal to your food needs or taste; we don't fit everyone's wants, needs, or expectations. We have many reviews that tell a different story about our business, food, and service. Thanks for stopping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2018

Have eaten here several times before and food always fresh and tasty. Was very disappointed last visit as service was almost non existent. Took almost 20 minutes before placing order and 'service with a smile' was a joke. The buffet food was average. Vegetable soup was very good. Pulled pork had no flavor and was swimming in greasy water. Needless to say - very disappointed

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at Smokehouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2018

Mike, sorry about the experience on your last trip, that is definitely not up to our normal standards, perhaps the server was having a bad day, and couldn't put on a smile, we apologize. The pulled pork is kept hot in hot water on the Buffet steam table, and some folks make a mistake thinking this is all grease; it isn't. This is the customary way to serve pulled pork on a buffet, no other way to keep it hot and moist on a buffet. Sorry for your experience this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2018

Very inviting atmosphere! This is what southern hospitality is about! Friday and Saturday nights were our favorites with live music featuring very talented performers.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamper1960, Owner at Smokehouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

Victoria, Thanks so much for your 5 Star Review, we appreciate your comments and glad you liked our hospitality and live music! Come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Smokehouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing