We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very nice - even though not in AAA Tourbook, nor listed on orbitz.com” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of American Eagle Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monteagle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
American Eagle Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Richmond, Va.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very nice - even though not in AAA Tourbook, nor listed on orbitz.com”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

This business isn't listed in the AAA Tour Book, nor on orbitz.com; the only way I found it was on tripadvisor, thanks to earlier reviewers. Also, you can't book online, you have to call the 800 number. But it is a fine motel. The location is definitely "just off the interstate," our view was of the back of the liquor store in front of the motel. But no big deal.

The rooms were bigger than some, quite clean and the bathroom was more spacious than some. It was quiet.

I thought the continental breakfast was just fair, but a table of 4 kids and their grandmother had just cleaned out the offerings.

I asked the front desk person about not being listed on other motel sites, and she said that the owner was OK with doing it his way, that most of their business was from Sewanee (a university 6 miles away), and that they were happy relying on word of mouth.

I recommend it, a good value for the money, a throwback to a well-run motel before the days of ubiquitous chain lodgings. We had supper at Modern Dave's, and my rainbow trout was excellent. The place looks like a garage from the outside, but it's got good food, and a large selection of beer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrsrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
7
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
loganville
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

we was on our way back to atlanta,was very tired and decided to stay some place new. stop at american eagle inn and wow,this place is very clean,the staff was very nice and the price was very good.if you get the chance stop and see these folks you will be surprised!!!!! thank you again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cvcocktails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

The people at the American Eagle could not have been any nicer! The location is so great and the rooms are nice. An earlier reviewer indicated that the room has no shampoo or conditioner, but we were supplied with nice toiletries. The breakfast was fine as well. I would definitely stay there again and I would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ljcraddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2009

We really enjoyed staying here! The staff was great and supplied us with a wealth of knowledge about the area and the places to see. Nothing fancy and no frills but clean rooms. It's close to a gas station/McDonalds, and a Sonic and within walking distance of Papa Ron's (a great pizza and Italian place and the Monteagle Diner. It's about a mile to the HighPoint (a fine eating place if you don't mind a leisurely stroll. Great food and atmosphere. We came in for a motorcycle rally. They had a place marked off for our motorcycles and put rags out for us to clean up the cycles. Overall a really clean and nice place to stay. They are cheaper hotels in the area but TRUST me..you don't want to stay in them. That's another whole story since we left one and were willing to take the loss of $ just to stay in a clean,normal place! We would definately stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janjan1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2009

I've had the misfortune of staying at the American Eagle Inn more than once for the simple reason that every place else in town was sold out for University events. This time, I was put in a room next to the exit door which opened to the parking lot. All night long, the door slammed as people came in and out. Absolutely no soundproofing. This particular room should be used as a laundy facility or storage room. It's that bad. I told the girl at the desk who informed me that the manager would talk to me. Never saw her. The hotel is fairly new and actually looks charming from the outside.(Except for the liquor store that is plopped down right in front of the place) It's amazing how awful they could make the place look on the inside. Plastic wallpaper, ugly, cheap No-Tell-Motel quality decor, and depressing atmosphere, even in the common area where they offer "breakfast" of stale breads and sweet rolls with plastic utensils. Beds are hard as a rock as are the pillows. All, in all, one couldn't create a more unpleasant lodging experience if they tried. All this for the bargain price of $98 per night!! (Note sarcasm..)

  • Liked — Leaving it.
  • Disliked — Everything.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank LillyAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monteagle hotels

clarityrise
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

The only really bad thing about this hotel is that you cannot make reservations online. The rooms are well kept and clean. The staff was courteous and accomidating in every way. I had forgotten to tell them that I needed a handicapped room when I called, so when I went to my room and saw that it wasn't handicapped they switched my room without any arguments or even a frown. The fireplace was going and it was absolutely beautiful. The hallways were a bit cold but they had the heater going in the room when I arrived. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. I hope you stay there too!

  • Liked — Everthing. that and the rate was 79.92(with tax). We stayed on a thursday night.
  • Disliked — You wouldn't be able to bring a pet.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank clarityrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

We came to Monteagle for a family reunion and booked five rooms here. The check-in was manned by one person, so we had to wait a while to get checked in. However, this one person was always nice to whoever she was helping, no matter how difficult the person was. The hallways were usually very cold. The rooms had everything you needed in a hotel room except a refrigerator and microwave. Towels in the bathroom were thin. The whole room was pretty clean. The breakfast was pretty basic-- pastries, cereal, oatmeal, bagels, watered down apple juice and orange juice, coffee. Get to breakfast early, because they don't refill things like the pastries and water. If they're gone, they're gone. The swimming pool needed to be cleaned; we could still swim in it, but there was brown stuff on the bottom of the pool. We had to go to the front desk to get towels. The pool faces the parking lot of a liquor store. A privacy fence surrounding the pool would've been great. Whenever there were customers buying liquor, they would always stop to look at who was at the pool. It was uncomfortable at times. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the American Eagle Inn. It wasn't absolutely great, but it was worth the price for a place at Monteagle, considering that they don't have many hotels there. The rooms were clean. What more could we ask for?

  • Liked — clean rooms
  • Disliked — dirty pool
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank calebswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
0.9 km away
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
0.5 km away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.3 km away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
26.5 km away
Hampton Inn Kimball
Hampton Inn Kimball
#1 of 5 in Kimball
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
30.2 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Eagle Inn

Property: American Eagle Inn
Address: 509 W Main St, Monteagle, TN 37356-7023
Region: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
American Eagle Hotel Monteagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing