We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, relaxing, enjoyable stay for B&B first timers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Garden Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Monterey B&B and Inns
TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Clean, relaxing, enjoyable stay for B&B first timers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We didn't know what to expect having never stayed in a B&B before, but we needed somewhere decent between Knoxville and Nashville. Garden Inn at Bee Rock turned out to be fabulous. The location is a little odd in that it is close to the interstate kind of in the middle of nowhere, BUT it is lovely once you are there. The views from the back of the house are completely amazing, and the house is lovely. It was built as a B&B, not converted, which means every room is good sized with its own really nice bathroom. Some have fireplaces and some have jacuzzi spa tubs. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and quiet. The owners were very nice and unobtrustive and served us delicious dessert during the evening and a gourmet breakfast the next morning. Dinner is a bit far to drive to unless you only want take-out, but we found a really delicious dinner at Brass Lantern who gave us 20% discount if we were staying at the Garden Inn. Great place for nature photographers and hikers as beautiful picture-taking opportunities and hiking abound. Overall, a fantastic and highly recommended experience!

Room Tip: Descriptions on the website are accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank needsunandsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
75
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

We (spouse and 2 extended family members) loved this B&B. the food was unique and delicious. the rooms were immaculate and nicely furnished. The owner Mike was very helpful with restaurant suggestions and we enjoyed having a gourmet dessert awaiting us each evening upon our return from dining out.

Monterey was close to the Appalachian Center for Crafts in Smithville and not far from
Fall Creek Falls State Park. Also not too far from Nashville.

We played the Mountain View golf course nearby which was beautiful and challenging. We hiked to Bee Rock, which was on the B&B property, for a gorgeous plateau view. The plateau view was also available from our rooms.

I would look forward to staying here again if we are in this part of Tennessee

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Just returned from a great stay. Mike and his staff were very kind and hospitable. We enjoyed walking the beautiful grounds and trails. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. Sitting out on the back deck watching dusk roll in on the magnificent view of the fall foliage was so peaceful. Mike went out of his way to ensure that we could gaze at the incredible night sky. Guests have plenty of shared spaces and personal places to enjoy.We highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing time away from the hustle of life.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynpel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

When we arrived, we were greeted by a woman who came to the door as an employee, not as an owner of the B&B - and was fine telling us that. She wore a dirty shirt, was a bit course in her manners and language and was sloppily dressed. I agree with other reviewers in one regard - this was a very clean B&B. Having stayed at many very nice B&Bs over the years, we were hoping to experience a breakfast 'like no other' as B&B's are noted for. Instead we woke to the smell of onions ... for breakfast? The breakfast consisted of warm orange juice with more pits in it than I've ever seen (o.j. shouldn't be chewy!), a cut up fruit salad (watermelon seeds and all!), a fluffed up egg quiche thing and a very greasy hash brown casserole with an inch of cheddar cheese on top and plenty of onions! Not one piece of warm cinnamon bread or homemade specialty items of any kind. When we woke the second morning to the smell of onions again, we got out of there quick and enjoyed a nice breakfast on the road. The rooms were nice but small and it was overpriced for what you get... All in all, we will not recommend this place to others (obviously).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara30196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

A real get away without having to get away from it all. With just a short drive from Nashville, our leadership team retreated to the Garden Inn without taking too much time or budget. Sitting on the edge of magnificent beauty, the place was perfect for focused creativity. The hikes were refreshing, the beauty breathtaking, and the food - well words can not describe the flavors. The lemon-almond tea, french toast and cheesecake were worth the trip. A perfect place for a couple's get-away, business retreat or just a personal hiatus.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hereandtherespoiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Dear Mike and all the team at the Garden Inn.

WOW! what a nice time we had. Brenda thought I had been planning for months - and we are not going to tell her any different. I have actually been meaning to bring her to your place for many years - since my former workplace had a planning retreat at your Inn about 10 years ago.

I must say you have kept the "quality standards" high - everything was "spotlessly clean" and everyone was so gracious to us. We did feel like "royalty"!.

We had a good trip to some of the wine makers and enjoyed Muddy Pond and the Mennonite stores and a brief time in Rugby - I think what she enjoyed most was the nice afternoon nap back at the Inn - comforted that the hosts had gone thru her room and made it up just like before we came. Our 40th Wedding Anniversary get-away was capped off with an excellent meal at the "The Brass Lantern" and a great night's sleep back at the Inn.

Breakfast both mornings was fabulous - and so graciously served. Everyone made us feel at home and my wife (who is a gracious hosts herself) was very pleased with everything.

You helped me pull off a memorable wedding anniversary for my wife - and all I had to do was throw in a little "jewelry" and you would think I hung the moon!

Thanks again,

Rick and Brenda Egnor

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickEgnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

The Garden Inn was such a wonderful surprise. We enjoyed ourselves so much the first time we stay at the Garden Inn in 2009 we decided to stop in again in 201o. The host is extremely gracious, the breakfast was wonderful and the scenery is spectacular. We plan to stop again in 2011.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne_Austin_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterey
14.8 km away
Travelodge Cookeville
Travelodge Cookeville
#9 of 18 in Cookeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
33.1 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 12 in Crossville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
26.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Crossville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
19.6 km away
Hampton Inn Cookeville
Hampton Inn Cookeville
#2 of 18 in Cookeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
19.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cookeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Inn

Property: The Garden Inn
Address: 1400 Bee Rock Road, Monterey, TN 38574
Region: United States > Tennessee > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of a Cumberland Plateau bluff, enjoy a romantic stay with a fantastic view of the valley below. Relax on 15 magnificent mountain acres with hiking trails & picturesque foliage. Our guests tell us they wish their home was as clean as our Inn. We specialize in corporate, church & family retreats and Traditional & Destination Style Weddings. Let us host your exclusive use event! Just five minutes off I-40 BUT a whole world away... At The Garden Inn, breakfast IS the second half of our name! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your The Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing