We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very special place!”
other travellers have booked this property
secluded cabin near private lake stocked with bluegill and bass
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
secluded cabin near private lake stocked with bluegill and bass
master bedroom with comfortable king bed-imagine waking up and looking down over a misty lake! fully stocked kitchen looking into dining area that seats 6
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
secluded cabin near private lake stocked with bluegill and bass
master bedroom with comfortable king bed-imagine waking up and looking down over a misty lake!
fully stocked kitchen looking into dining area that seats 6
bathroom with stackable washer and dryer- secluded comfortable cabin in TN
comfortable livingroom with double pull out sofa - cabin rental near Cookeville and Crossville, TN
Cozy times together watching a movie or playing games at this secluded cabin rental in TN
back porch occupation is 'just sittin, doin nothin'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Monterey, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Liz S
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Very special place!”
Reviewed October 27, 2019 for a stay in October 2019

This is a wonderful place to stay! It is secluded in the mountains but is surrounded by interesting and enjoyable places within a 20 min. drive. Arriving in Oct., the fall landscape hues were incredible making the winding hillside roadways an enjoyable challenge. The view off the back porch is the money shot. Through the multi-color trees, the pond glistered in the sunlight with the wandering turkeys, deer or cows were an entertaining floor show. Though the fish didn’t like any of our bait, we laughed as them came to the surface to dine on the insects or an occasional pretzel that hit the water.
The cabin is well equipped. Because of all the amenities, we could have easily managed in half the stuff that we brought. A washer/dryer combo allowed us to come home with clean clothes. The kitchen is well stocked. We have a bottle water habit, though the tap here made great coffee with plenty of hot and great pressure for dishes and showers. An accurate electric stove and a full size refrig. made meal prep easy packing picnic lunches when we went exploring into town or Falls Creek State Park. The downstairs bed is a comfortable king with a memory form topper over the mattress. There is another king upstairs in a private loft.
It poured three out of out seven days. The cover porch provides ample protection during warmer rainy afternoons. Even with the rain, we found plenty of things to do. I was planning on reading (and working) but never got the time. We did some early Christmas shopping in the local shops and when we went to Cookeville and Crossville. (In Cookeville, there is a small discount mall with a great model train display.) Some great local restaurants with fabulous BBQ (Flying Pig.) We didn’t need to use the cabin’s grill.
My husband and I are shopping around for places to retire. This is a sweet spot! It has all the comforts of “home” with better views and without any of the stress.

Date of stay: October 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda k
Champaign
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
“In a New York minute, I would go back-as time allows !”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My husband and I and our son spent eight days and nights in the 'Whipporwill' ,cabin. They offer two other retreats, too. The Whipporwill is/was awesome. It was early spring, all the sights and sounds of Gods' wonders were alive with newness ! We sat lakeside, and fished, grilled out, roasted over an open fire. The owners were more than kind, and accommodating to any and all our needs, This was our first trip to Eastern Tenn., after a weeks stay in Nashvillle the 'hideaway' was what the doctor ordered. The cabin has so many little surprises, that add to the charm of the total package !! Everything is right at your fingertips. The local store eight miles away was close that every other day, while browsing we could stop in, rent a couple movies, as no tv is available-very nice ! We look forward to our return trip- going back as time allows.We took our two dogs, weenies, they loved it so much-;Bacation"

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion, peacefulness, closeness to nature.
Liked least: Having to leave was the har part, knowing we could not return for awhile, again. The place is usually always booked up.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty W
Killen, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful Retreat”
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Whippoorwill Hideaway has to be the most peaceful, quiet, restful place to get away to anywhere!! The cabin is on it's own private large pond. The cabin is clean to a fault and very well stocked. The books, magazines, movies and games are family friendly and uplifting. The porch swing and the deck out into the pond give good places to enjoy the peace and quiet. The hiking trail is easy and interesting. The owners are friendly and accommodating....By all means, make this a top priority for a wonderful get away!!!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say. Loved the entire package!!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edie0550
Estill Springs, TN
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Secluded relaxation”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We loved the cabin and its view of woods, pond, and birds. We came to celebrate our wedding anniversary. At night we watched movies and read.
It was a wonderful get-away. You do need to be in fairly good shape, as there are a few steps to get into the cabin.

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful wood - both interior/exterior
Liked least: Getting in and out of the cabin.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2013
Thank you for leaving a positive review for the cabin! We'd love to have you come back sometime.
Rosanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Canada (English)
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.