We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Lodges

The Blue Wren Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge The Kingfisher Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
248 reviews
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Blue Wren
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Blue Wren
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Local wildlife near The Lodges
The Pinnacle lookout
Halls Gap
Local wildlife in the gardens of The Lodges
Emu
McKenzies Falls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Halls Gap, Grampians, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 248 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Craig K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Accommodation”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Wow! The Blue Wren Lodge was perfect for us. From the first contact with Peter who was very friendly and helpful, making the booking was also easy. We received some great information before our arrival. The pictures do not show the high level of quality that the Blue Wren Lodge has to offer. The breakfast hamper was extremely generous, we loved the complimentary local wine. The spa is huge. The kangaroos with joeys just literally outside the large windows. Perfectly positioned and just a very short walk into town. We took advantage of the many activities that the town has to offer. We will definitely be visiting the Blue Wren Lodge again and we will make sure that we have longer than two nights. Thank you for providing a well detailed and maintained property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C
Doreen, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The Kingfisher Lodge was fantastic. We loved the wood fire, which we enjoyed playing cards and learning back gammon in front of. The open bathroom upstairs with spa was so nice to relax in. The telescope to star gaze was pretty cool as well. Great atmosphere and just a short walk from ice creams and restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muddy64
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The photo's do not really do "Kingfisher" justice”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is a fantastic place to go as a couple, it: is secluded and quiet; yet so close to Halls Gap, has a beautiful aspect from both levels and high quality fittings and presentation throughout. The weather we had was very cold and damp, but we just got out there on some trails and enjoyed the 'fresh' air! So pleased with our time at The Lodges and The Grampians.

May I suggest you take as much food (and drink) of your own...the stores are expensive and the produce by no means special. Halls Gap is not for the 'gourmets' among you, so don't expect too much if you decide to eat out. The pub is 2.5kms from town and not very inviting. The place could do with a warm, cosy, friendly bar/cafe because it sits in an amazing part of Victoria.

The 'Northern Grampians' are 'closed' to visitors still from the last bushfires (as advised by Parks Tourist Advisor). The Pinnacle walk is difficult, but very worthwhile...you do not want to leave it late in the day in winter; a dark walk back would be highly treacherous!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location!
Liked least: The local food and businesses
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Pirie
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Jun 2014
It is always great to have guests return and enjoy there time at The Lodges.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Victoria
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
babyboome...
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Kingfisher Lodge - nicer than the photos”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This Lodge is 2 storey cottage with the living areas downstairs and the bedroom & bathroom upstairs. The facilities here are wonderful. A full kitchen with the all important dishwasher, lounge with large wood fire, and hd TV, dvd and sound system and a laundry with washer & dryer. I was delighted to find a toilet on the ground floor too as well as in the main bathroom upstairs.
Th bedroom is huge with a king size bed & a gorgeous bathroom (with huge spa) thru a pair of "saloon" doors off the bedroom. The upstairs toilet is separate.
The lodge is placed to maximum privacy and peace and our barbeque area overlooked a large paddock with wallabys and the occasional deer trotting by. We had a few wallabys and cockatoos and a red parrot ot two dropping by our bbq area for a occasional snack which they took from our hands.
The owners provide a continental breakfast basket which includes the usual as well as wine, timtams and snakes - a really nice touch :).
The owners also provide ample supplies of wood, dishwashing tablets, coffee/tea, condiments etc, so there is nothing more do except bring your own food/meals and enjoy.
We would definitely return here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the serentity
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing