We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply The Best”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Lodges

The Blue Wren Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge The Kingfisher Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
239 reviews
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Blue Wren
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Blue Wren
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Local wildlife near The Lodges
The Pinnacle lookout
Halls Gap
Local wildlife in the gardens of The Lodges
Emu
McKenzies Falls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Halls Gap, Grampians, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 239 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AngloAsia...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Ignore the superlatives in the other reviews, it's better than all of them. "Outstanding quality in all respects" just doesn't do this place justice. You have to see it to appreciate it. You have to stay there to truly love it. No detail is ignored, the kitchen cupboard even has all those spices and oils that are needed for good cooking but are hard to justify buying for a short stay. In fact, that's the only criticism we had; we wanted our stay to be much longer. The Kingfisher lodge was well worth the travel from the UK and will be an everlasting memory that we hope to repeat one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilMCCRo...
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay in Halls Gap”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This property is especially designed to accommodate discerning adults who appreciate all the home comforts. The Kookaburra Lodge has a unique design which is in keeping with its location. It is a 2 story unit (bedroom/bathroom upstairs, but also has a downstairs toilet)and this may be an issue for people with walking disabilities. (Other lodge at this accommodation is one level though.) Great facilities and very well maintained and spotlessly clean. Excellent location re town centre and town facilities. We are repeat guests and love the place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky T
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxation tranquility plus!”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Absolutely lovely place to stay. Very comfortable, tidy, clean place lodge. Enjoyed a bbq outside in the little hut. Watched the kangaroos jump pass up, some stop for a look around and they are friendly. Peaceful and convenient to Halls Gap township
Enjoyed the birds and tranquility of the place.
Would recommend Blue Wren Lodge to anyone!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful, birds, kangaroos and design of the lodge
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
The wildlife around the Lodges is something special, glad you enjoyed there presence.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AceTravel...
East Anglia Uk
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“High Quality Accommodation”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We booked in here for 3 nights and enjoyed it very much. The lodges are a short walk from the town's bars and restaurants etc. Just far enough to avoid any noise.

There is a well equipped kitchen, dining & sitting areas and all you need for outside dining. Mind you if you eat outside you may be joined by the several very friendly local kangaroos!

Our only criticism was the lack of WiFi so we had to check our email etc., in town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2016
Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana014
North East England
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed in Kingfisher Lodge and it was stunning. Beautifully decorated and furnished, exceptionally comfortable, immaculately clean and with everything you could possibly wish for. A bonus was waking up to parakeets on the upstairs balcony and friendly kangaroos hopping around the downstairs patio and deer grazing in the field behind the lodge.
We ate in one night and went to the restaurant, literally across the road, on the other, where we had a lovely meal.
We have been touring Australia for several weeks and this was absolutely the best place we stayed in. Just wish is wasn't thousands of miles from home otherwise we would be staying here regularly!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning bathroom
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2016
Thank you Dianne for taking the time to do a review on The Kingfisher Lodge for us, much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliannem...
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The accommodation is modern and clean and constantly exceeds expectations. Totally enjoyed the abundant wildlife.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: modern and clean
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2016
Appreciate your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin J
Nhill, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than you could ask for”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

From the moment we drove up the short, but secluded drive, only a two second drive out of town, we found our cute little hide away for the weekend. Then we walked through the gorgeous Blue Wren adorned door... Little is a word that do not have a place when describing the property. Everything is generous and grand, with a warmth and homely feel that has the be experienced. Everything was thought of, from the binoculars to take in the Wildlife (we saw Kangaroos, Deer, a multitude of birds and a Koala on our stay) to the Welcome Basket that was far from standard and generic, with provisions for a fresh loaf of bread-delish.

We couldn't believe the scale of the building for just two people, it almost seemed a waste not to share, although we didn't mind.

The bathroom was lovely, the bed super comfortable, everything was top notch.

Thank you, Peter. We will certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: We couldn't share with friends (only one bedroom)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2015
All reviews are very much appreciated, thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$140
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing