We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restful gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenscliff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kia Ora at Queenscliff
Ranked #4 of 9 Queenscliff B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 November 2015

A friend and I decided to circumnavigate Port Phillip Bay from Melbourne via Geelong and Queenscliff across to the Mornington Peninsula (via ferry) and back to Melbourne, stopping at wineries, for cheese tastings and at thermal pools. First night we stayed at this very restful B & B on the cliff edge at Queenscliff. The (adorable) owner couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The room was lovely - very luxurious. The en-suite was just fine. The street was very quiet and I slept with the curtains open to enjoy the view of the sea. There is a guests' lounge with fridge and tea and coffee making facilities (these were in the rooms as well) . There's a park over the road - great for tai chi with a view. The choices offered for breakfast were almost endless! Fruit, cereals, cooked breakfasts - something for everyone and served oh so elegantly. Loved the home poached fruit and home grown fresh fruit. Value for money. Book now! Don't delay as it may not always be an option for accommodation in Queenscliff.

Room Tip: Front room has views to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WaihekeIslandCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2015 via mobile

Great overnight stay at Kia Ora B&B last weekend. Host Pauline was attentive and the Breakfast was excellent.

Building has real old world charm.

Thanks for making our stay enjoyable.

Tim & Emma Howden

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2015

The Kia Ora B&B is a comfortable period residence that is well located on the main road in Queenscliff. It presents well as a comfortable sea side cottage and the (genuine) antiques that adorn it's interior complete the picture of a by-gone era. Fortunately the amenities are more late 20th century than 19th. The room we hired had it's own ensuite and guests are provided with a communal lounge and dining area with 24/7 complementary refreshments and a small library. The bed was comfortable and a good night's sleep was assured. The owner of the establishment was very accommodating even though they were away at the time of our stay. This meant that breakfast was not provided but a price reduction was offered at their suggestion to address the inconvenience. We therefore cannot comment on the quality of the breakfast, but appreciate the owner's intent to ensure we still received value.

The Kia Ora is opposite a public park with subtle views across the water. Access to beech is easy and most amenities, including restaurants and bars, are little more than a short walk away.

If there is any room for improvement it would be the ensuite - while everything functions perfectly, it is showing it's age and a refurbishment would be due in the next couple of years. Regardless, we had a relaxing time and we will consider this venue again when we are next in the area. Happy to recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for the front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zalton101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Queenscliff was recommended as a great starting point on our trip travelling the Great Ocean Road even though it is a little way off from Torguay. We are so glad we did as not only is Queenscliff a hidden gem, Kia Ora is an amazing BnB. Pauline is a gracious host who was very welcoming. The rooms are not large but big enough for a couple with luggage. Very tastefully decorated with lots of antiques. The continental breakfast was certainly enough to keep us going through the day with fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal choices and an amazing array of toast and other goodies including homemade pikelets. We would thoroughly recommend Pauline and her charming home. This opinion is shared by the other couple travelling with us.

Room Tip: King size room has an amazingly comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2015

We stayed only one night whilst travelling down the Great Ocean Road. It was a great start to our trip as the location is perfect for strolling around this quaint borough. Pauline was a gracious host and very helpful. Despite a significant milestone in her husbands and her life she took time to advise us where to have dinner and the other local attractions.
We have promised ourselves a return trip and to stay a few more days in this great B&B.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2015

This is a period house with period furniture and decorations to match yet with all the comforts of the modern age. It is a thoroughly modern 19th century experience. The bedroom was large, very comfortable and with a superb en-suite - again with the modern comforts but styled to fit the old house. A cooked breakfast is available but we settled for the straightforward and very generous cereals, fruit, breads etc. This is much more being invited into a home than booking a room and the hospitality and friendliness were a great welcome. And our host knows the best places in Queenscliff and area for food and drinks. The Bellarine peninsula was lovely and for us a far better base than surf land from which to explore the Coast Road, the Mornington Peninsula and the Coast Road.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2015

A delightful B&B with antique furniture. The host Pauline was very nice, attentive and helpful. The website is not very detailed including an absence of rates. The "full scrumptious breakfast"" was a scrumptious and very full continental breakfast. It is not a full hot "bacon and eggs' breakfast. But the continental one was more than adequate. Another problem I had was the rooms were not serviced daily. No cups washed/replaced, no beds made, no bins emptied, carpets vacuumed etc. Not good enough for $195 a day. Also, although a centrally controlled air cooling facility is in place, it is not controlled in the room by the guest. No roof fan either. We had a hot weather stay with no cooling turned on, and no fan either. There was a heater in our room so cold weather survival would seem to be OK.

Room Tip: All rooms are small. The front room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Francis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenscliff hotels
0.2 km away
Vue Grand Hotel
Vue Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Queenscliff
308 reviews
0.2 km away
Athelstane House
Athelstane House
#1 of 9 in Queenscliff
182 reviews
0.2 km away
Rubys Queenscliff
Rubys Queenscliff
#3 of 9 in Queenscliff
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
467 reviews
12.3 km away
Faulty Towers
Faulty Towers
#6 of 9 in Queenscliff
23 reviews
0.1 km away
Circa 1902 Queenscliff
Circa 1902 Queenscliff
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kia Ora at Queenscliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kia Ora at Queenscliff

Address: 38 Gellibrand St, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Queenscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Queenscliff
Price Range: $187 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With Bay views KiaOra is perfectly placed in historic precinct, opposite park and facing Port Phillip Bay, minutes from Beaches, Pier, Shops, cafes, restaurants and Harbour. Picturesque and offering classic luxurious comfort and quality, four en-suite guest rooms suitable for singles, couples and small groups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kia Ora At Queenscliff Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing