We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
85
120
74
38
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
120
74
38
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grand dining roomrooftop barturret suitestreet barbuffet breakfastold world charmspa roomhigh ceilingslovely old hotela bit tiredthe main streetperiod hotelcomfy bedcourse dinnermuesliovernight staymid week
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 339 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2018 via mobile

Dining room was booked out, so we are at the front bar, nice and cosy. There were 6 of us and we waited over an hour for our dinner, but the owner/manager came out and apologised due to a function they were flat out and that he would give us coffee and port for free after our dinner. We all enjoyed our food immensely. Everything was delicious! He was very apologetic, actually too apologetic. We even got a discount on our bill but gave him a well deserved tip.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank lesleyrands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

During the Faulty Towers show an insulting remark was made by a lead character to my partner in front of the entire dining room, resulting in her bursting into tears.

We had booked the dining experience and a room to stay overnight. The hotel refused to speak to us afterwards to hear our grievances. Phone calls were not returned and emails were left unanswered.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2018

This is a grand example of a hotel from a bygone era. The new owner is renovating it to former glory with the grand dining room truly grand and very comfortable rooms with mod cons but traditional furnishings. We asked for a room on the ground floor as there is no lift.
We spent two very pleasant days staying here and exploring the area..
We would stay again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are preferable as there is no lift.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 255060Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2018 via mobile

We went to the impressive Vue Grand hotel for a dinner and show, which was packaged together. The show was really good but the dinner left much to be desired, the food being unimaginative and very ordinary. The drinks included in the overall package were good but choices were very limited. A simultaneously enjoyable but disappointing experience. On the basis of this visit, I wouldn't bother eating at this hotel again.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2018

The hotel is a historic building, really neat place - high ceilings, unique dining area and interesting pictures on the walls. The staff was pleasant, nice comfy bed but the place is in need of some udpates. There was no in house dining, but they offered places local. Nice to have the free Wi-FI, but the outlets in the rooms are few and in odd places, cuppa cups but no glasses, small bathroom - shower and the lighting for the room was the entire room, could not be limited to bedroom and sitting space. I would recommend but the place could do better with some improvements.

Room Tip: Consideration as they do not have lifts.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank macenchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews