We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
17
18
17
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
18
17
5
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 67 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2016

Subject: Oceanic Whitehall Guesthouse Sorrento
Front desk open from 10am to 5pm on weekends,so we never actually saw a staff member for our stay.
A room for 3 people was $200. It was a room with a sink,and just fit a double bed and a single bed. The single had a stained duvet with a sheet over it, no proper cover. The bedside lamp wasn't working. We had to leave early and breakfast wasn't served until 8.30, so we didn't get to have it.
When I called to complain later that day, the girl who took my call said "yeah that's pretty messed up" (except she didnt say 'messed' she used a word that tripadvisor wont let me post) and offered no rectification.
It's for sale. I guess they've just given up.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roxx_ing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2016 via mobile

I appreciate some of the negative comments below but in fairness to Whitehall...you know up front what to expect. Yes it's shared bathrooms. Yes the continental breakfast is average but it IS included. No you can't open all windows nor is there AC in every room (ask for AC in summer). But what you do get for around $150 on a Saturday night is - a rare chance to stay in a stunning 1904 two storey sandstone building with gracious wide verandahs overlooking the town and bush, the last building before the ocean reserve. We bought dips etc and enjoyed them in comfortable outdoor chairs and table on this beautiful verandah and it was heavenly.
Also boasts a wide staircase, wide corridors, a kitchenette with fridge and microwave. The billiards room has a piano for guests to play and open fire place and another lounge further along.
Here is a place from yesteryear...freshly painted since we were here last here some years ago. We just love it.
Don't overlook it as the property is for sale and may soon be revamped to the extent it will no longer be affordable for many.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank WineFoodTravel500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2016

Drunken hostile, random people walking around loud and sharing bathrooms is ridiculous. Are room had four walls and a bed and dirty carpet. Needs some serious attention. I will never go back there. If you are 25 on a budget with friends OK, otherwise beware.

Good: Close to Sorrento town and beaches.

Room Tip: Rooms facing veranda attracts loud drunk smokers beware
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2016

Our room was quite spacious with a decent bathroom. The hotel is close to Sorrento back beach, shops and restaurants. If your primary objective is to hang out at the back beach then this place is ideal. We had a decent stay, but there are better value places nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SophS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2016

Not your typical Sorrento accommodation but a unique surprise. This is an old guesthouse complete with creaking floorboards and large common rooms for dining and lounging as well as a huge balcony with comfy chairs and just a tiny view of the back beach. It's simple and unpretentious. Our room had an ensuite and every amenity you would expect...big soft fluffy towels, crisp clean sheets, carpet in excellent condition, bathroom newly tiled and spotless. The continental breakfast was fairly basic but plentiful, 2 types of juice, fruit, 4 cereals, yoghurt, breads and muffins etc....all you can eat. We will definitely return as the staff are genuinely friendly and unobtrusive.

Room Tip: Room 7 - ensuite. Newly refurbished, close to the balcony, very comfortable.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews