We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable lunch”
Review of Wonthaggi Hotel

Wonthaggi Hotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Wonthaggi
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

My family and I were camping in Inverloch and decided to head out exploring and stopped for lunch first. We decided we wanted a pub meal and found the Wonthaggi Hotel. The meals were all lovely and enjoyable. Two adult meals plus two Furphy beers and two kids meals cost approx $95 all up. Was a bit pricey but the meals were delicious and well served.

The decor was fab! Lots of old pictures about the local whaling history littered the walls there’s even some articles and pictures inside the menu! The restaurant was clean and modern and there’s even a kids play area at the back which went down a treat with the kids!

All in all, really glad we stopped in. If we’re ever in the area again, we’ll certainly go back.

Thank Analia_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 70 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is really nice for dinner. You don't feel like you're in a bistro.
There's a kids play area which is great!

Meals are huge, ingredients are fresh, cakes are delicious, especially the house made sticky date. Staff are really really friendly. Prices are pretty standard 20-25$ for a meal, steaks more.

Lovely place for a family dinner!

Thank Zandia16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

Really good meals. I had the seniors' lamb shank, loved it! Vegetables were fresh and crisp. My wife had seniors' chicken parma; great value and well presented and prepared meals.

Thank Plodow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

Whent to the whale bone for lunch today and it was terrible.
Had fish and chips small amount on the plate fish half cooked will not go there again.

Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

$26 for a very small handful of calamari ( so small in fact that I thought I must’ve ordered an entree size in error) served with soggy chips and a limp salad drizzled with a dressing that looked like gravy. I don’t ordinarily return food but I was so incensed at the price and lack of quality of this “food” that I could not accept it. I was offered a refund which I gladly accepted however this meant sitting without a meal as my husband ate his. I chose not to order a different meal as the kitchen was close to closing for the evening and I didn’t believe the kitchen staff would appreciate having their clean up and impending finish time interrupted.
To be fair, my husband enjoyed his meal of ribs and wedges.
All in all though, a very disappointing Saturday night out. I did enjoy my MacDonalds burger on the way home though. :)

Thank Lexie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebearsonholiday, Owner at Wonthaggi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2018

Thank you for your feedback.
To my knowledge our staff did their best at at trying to rectify the issue. As you have mentioned, money was refunded and another meal was offered to you. You have CHOSEN not to order another meal. Kitchen will remain open until the last meal has been served up and customers are satisfied.
Your rating is not warranted in this situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wonthaggi Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Wonthaggi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing