We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!”
Review of Melba Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melba Lodge
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We needed a 1 night stay in the Yarra Valley to attend a wedding and managed to get a decent rate at the Melba Lodge on expedia ($175 for the night). Many of the other hotels in the area required a 2 night stay and that was just not possible for us so finding Melba was perfect. I was very worried as there was only 2 trip advisor (my bible!) reviews, the last being 2008. I shouldnt have been. Melba Lodge was wonderful! It isnt a hotel and if you dont expect it to be then you should be fine.

The owner greeted us as we walked in, gave us a friendly tour of the conference room, games room with bar, billards table and darts, TV room, dining room and our room. He showed us a small kitchenette where you could make tea and coffee etc and told us breakfast would be served between 9-10:30. The hotel is a quick 2 minute drive in to Yarra Glen and only a couple of minutes from some fantastic wineries.

The room was small but more than comfortable. It had a comfortable bed with nice linens, soft carpet, 2 side tables, a wardrobe, ceiling fan, air conditioner and TV. The bathroom had a shower, toilet and nice sink area. It had a nice country federation feel. The bathroom provided soaps, shower caps and quality toilet paper (cottonelle! Yep these things are both noticed and appreciated!!) The entire lodge was spotlessly clean and very well kept. It was quiet and nice and cool on a hot day.

Breakfast was delicious with freshly cooked eggs, bacon and toast as well as an assortment of cereals, fruit and juices. Overall we were very pleased with Melba Lodge and would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliegirl_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2008

Pretty much as expected, middle of the road motel, nothing special, clean, tidy, standard breakfast, situated on the edge of a main road.

This is advertised as '4 star comfort' 'boutique feel' and is a good example how meaningless star ratings are. Nothing more than a checklist of features and definitely not a measure of quality. Tiny room, dated decor, awful bed, antique A/C system, noisy plumbing are but some of the features not listed.

After our first night we asked to cancel the booked (via wotif, never again) and paid for third night. Though obviously hesitant the owner agreed, we booked alternative accommodation in Melbourne only to return later in the day for him to have changed his mind, refusing to refund our final night. We cut our losses without hesitation and returned to our vastly superior (and cheaper) accommodation in Melbourne.

It seems a shame that such a major tourist destination as Yarra Glen is blighted by an outrageously over priced accommodation cartel, we'd recommend spend a fortune for somewhere truly special, or base yourself in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitchbucanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbabb, Owner at Melba Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2009

When a customer has booked through Wotif and wants to cancel during their stay, we need to speak to Wotif before responding to the customer. It was unfortunate that the customer spoke to me as I was mowing the lawn and he misunderstood what I said,i.e .. I would check on the cancellation policy and let him know. He seemed happy with that and I was surprised to find he had booked into a city hotel before I had a chance to check our cancellation policy with Wotif and speak to him again.(only an hour later) He did not offer a pressing reason for cancelling. I accept that I should have had better knowledge of our Wotif policy which is now clear for both the customer and for me. When I explained we had a no cancellation policy after date of arrival he seemed to accept that as fair. I learnt a valuable lesson in customer service, the need to have a good chat to the cutomer in this situation before they leave.

Our accommodation offers a variety of rooms, this guest stayed in a Queen room which is a good value option that with everything else our Lodge offers (lounges, billiard room, spa room, dining room etc ) meets the 4 star rating. For a little extra we have larger rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2005

Melba Lodge is very easy to find, a 5 minute walk from the centre of Yarra Glen, set back from the road to the north of the town. Everything was spotlessly clean, our room was not huge, but perfectly big enough. The ensuite came equipped with spa bath, with the option of a full-sized jacuzzi room just down the hall. There is a well equipped kitchen area for the use of guests.

Walking through the dining room there is a lounge area with a huge collection of DVD's for your convenience. Further down the hall is a conference/meeting room, and a bar complete with 3/4 size snooker table.

Outside are some very well kept gardens with a large patio area guests can use for BBQ's etc.

Melba Lodge is a B&B, and the breakfast was excellent. Full selection of cereals, juices, and of course a fry-up of your choice!

The owners are very friendly and will even give you a lift to local restaurants enabling you to have a drink and not worry about driving. A good job really as you're in the centre of one of Australia's finest wine regions.

Really enjoyed our stay, and would happily return.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank いとさん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
0.8 km away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
150 reviews
10.2 km away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
552 reviews
2.3 km away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
2.7 km away
Art at Linden Gate
Art at Linden Gate
#2 of 7 in Yarra Glen
27 reviews
1.2 km away
Yarra Glen Bed & Breakfast
Yarra Glen Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 7 in Yarra Glen
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melba Lodge

Address: 939 Melba Hwy, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Yarra Glen
Hotel Class:4 star — Melba Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing