We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #52 of 156 Hotels in Nashville
Oxford, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

This is a wonderful hotel with indoor gardens complete with waterfalls! The rooms are very comfortable, modern and clean. My only complaint is you are charged for everything... Parking, shuttles, internet, water (even if you dont use them). This is a very large resort so it can get very crowded. Overall though a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soniebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,198
    2,406
    1,327
    739
    613
See reviews for
1,880
1,803
160
3,034
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,717)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Specifically went to Gaylord Opryland Resort because now Oprymills mall is open again. Paid over $250 a night for the smallest room I think I have ever stayed in. Parked in the self park area (was told it was free). An $18.00 self park fee showed up on my room bill. This $18.00 parking spot was a full 7 minute walk from the entry of the hotel. The elevator had piles of trash in the corners, reminded me of Las Vegas early in the morning. I have been to this resort many times to attend meetings, eat and for entertainment. This was my first stay. Don't plan to stay there again. Lots of really nicer rooms in the immediate area for much less money.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadouglas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
194 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

My first visit at the Opryland Hotel was in December of 2011. I booked the trip to see the Radio City Rockettes at the Grand Ole Opry House. A shuttle takes you from the hotel and back if you like. It is not too bad of a walk, but in December it was pretty cold so we took the free shuttle. The hotel atrium was magnificently decorated, the trip was worthwhile just to see the decorations. The hotel is very large so be prepared to walk a lot. I was not offered bell service to my room so hauling luggage a long way was rather unpleasant. I took the shuttle service from the airport (approximately $40 round trip). A friend met me their so I did not need a car but I would recommend having a car for Nashville. There is much to see in the Music City. The room was acceptable, though not luxurious. They have many restaurants but we only ate at the Jack Daniels restaurant (don't remember the exact name). It was good. Also ate dessert at one of the coffee/snack booths located throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Some of the atrium rooms have a blocked view. One man was at the front desk demanding a different r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canterqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at the Gaylord for 4 nights. We love it, such a beautiful place. Our room was nice, we had a balcony overlooking the Cascade Atrium of the Hotel. The pools are nice, the grounds are beautiful and very well kept. We ate at a couple of the resturants and they were very good, litte pricey. We spent some time in Jack Daniels bar listening to live music, went to the sports bar, lots of tv's great place to kick back and enjoy. They did have a shuttle that went over to the Radison their sister property which was nice but it wasn't that far to walk. Not much to do over on that side of town, but they do have a shuttle that will take you to downtown and it was pretty pricey $15 each time you went or they had 3 days for $30 pass. Overall greart place to stay, plus Michael who booked the hotel for us was wonderful, he went above and beyond to get us just what we wanted, great customer service!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank august2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I had always wanted to stay here but was skeptical because it is a little more than other places. But my husband surprised me for our anniversary. :) This place is great! It's like a little city in there! You just have to see the gardens in person!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcieack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killen, Alabama
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We booked this hotel in honor of my wife's birthday. The Opryland hotel is one of her favorite places, and we jumped at a chance of a reduced rate in their birthday special. We got a ground floor room in the Garden Conservatory section. Nice, but not overly opulent for a 5-star hotel. Since the room faced the parking lot by the shuttle stop, we had noisy busses passing by the room until 11pm. The beds were great, and the room otherwise comfy. Lots of places to eat within the hotel, but most are on the pricey side. We ate at the coffee house, Jack Daniels, and the hamburger joint. At all places, the food was real good, above what one might expect at a hotel. Also, Friday and Saturday nights were extremely crowded, so waits of 1-2 hours of a table were the norm. We killed time in some of the many gift shops (varying themes), and if you looked hard enough you might find a bargain or two.
The Spa was real nice, but the indoor pool was closed (no mention of this fact on the website or check-in) One of the staffers suggested that we swim in the outdoor pools, but with 50-60 degree weather, that wasn't happening.
The best feature of the property are the atriums/ gardens. The mix of plants and running water was real soothing and relaxing. There are many ways to enjoy them, but our favorite was to walk at night amid the trees.
Check-in was smooth and the staff friendly, with the only hiccup coming at checkout. We were overcharged by $60. Judging by the long lines at the check-out desk, many others had the same problems. Probably just a mistake, since they corrected the bill without hesitation.
Just watch the bill, and you'll be okay. Didnt use the other facilities (such as wifi).
Opryland Hotel is close to the airport, but some 10 miles from downtown. Downtown has most of the attractions, and many of the better restaurant (many of which are more moderately priced). There are options for travel from the hotel to downtown if you don't have a car, and few of them are free. If you have a car, parking is $18 a night, with come and go privledges.
This is still a special place that shows no effect of the flooding of 2010. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing outside are more quiet with height. Some ground floor rooms have entrances to the outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tabatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed there overnight for the National Show Choir competition. Staff was very attentive, room was good, food was great. Not a cheap room, but a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.7 km away
The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville @ Opryland
9.5 km away
Omni Nashville Hotel
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 156 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hyatt Place Nashville/Opryland
7.5 km away
Sheraton Music City Hotel
Sheraton Music City Hotel
#42 of 156 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Nashville - Opryland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214
Region: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
#37 Family Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2882
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's iconic Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover 2,882 guest rooms and 700,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing