We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,734)
Filter reviews
10,734 results
Traveller rating
4,271
3,055
1,679
944
785
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,271
3,055
1,679
944
785
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat ride atrium view this place is huge water features delta section garden conservatory beautiful resort old hickory steakhouse grand ole opry under one roof balcony room irish pub jack daniels christmas decorations opryland resort outlet mall downtown nashville
Filter
Updating list...
5,688 - 5,693 of 10,734 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2014

Our stay began by a 1 hr wait (seriously, not joking) in line on the exit ramp to hotel. While waiting in line I called the front desk to inquire and was told that there was nothing they could do about all of the people who wanted to attend events at their hotel. I did however confirm that rooms (booked 2 mos prior) were ready. When I did check in the person didn't seem to have that info and looked for rooms. Two of rooms were in one wing and a third was in another. This hotel complex is huge and with all of the foot traffic and layout of the hotel, it is literally a 15 minute walk between the rooms. I called to complain about location after trekking back and forth with my 3 yos twice, and was told that they did not place rooms together unless specifically requested and hotel was entirely booked.

Even though exhausted, we headed over to the Ice! exhibit as we had purchased tickets ahead of time. It was actually an interesting exhibit and at the time we went, while there was a line, it was manageable. Following that, it was dinner time and we were afraid to leave the property and have to return to the exit ramp line again. There are multiple eating establishments on site, but with the volume of people in the hotel, they could not keep up with the guests. We waited an hour for a "fast food" burger that we barely mediocre. Staff and guests were all exhausted and stressed and in looking around, no one seemed to be having a good time. Also, while there are many things at hotel geared for children, none of the eating establishments we saw seemed to have kids menus.

Room was adequate. There was a hanger left in the floor which suggested poor cleaning and bathroom was tiny, but otherwise ok. We were so exhausted after waiting in lines all day that we collapsed into bed. We checked out extra early and really didn't get to see any of the hotel more than prior night as I had a plane to catch and didn't want to risk more if the same fiasco.

I'm sure it would be a fine place to go when they don't have an event, but they really shouldn't host such a big event if they cannot handle the foot traffic. Also, there should be some benefit in actually staying on site, but as best I could tell, there really isn't any as we were subject to the same crowds as everyone else. This was a holiday tradition that we definitely won't repeat.

Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank katrinas888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2014

Greetings! Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay here with us.We would have to agree after spending some time reading this, we did not treat you like a valued traveler. Once in a while, a guest will encounter a problem when they stay here with us but your stay was definitely not the norm of our guests. Your feedback regarding staffing and options available for your family are not taken lightly and have been passed along to our management team. Again, thank you for your feedback which allows us to continually improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2014

This hotel is huge but awesome. Everything is there that you need!!
The staff were very friendly & helpful,
Restaurants, coffee shops & a radio station too
There is a little boat tour in the hotel you can take.
The dome glass roof makes it feel vey tropical & the surrounding plants & trees are outstanding.

Room tip: Be prepared to walk, it is such a huge property
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sherry62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our on-property restaurants and that our staff was friendly and helpful throughout your visit. We look forward to serving you again on your next business or leisure trip to Nashville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2014

This trip was a gift from my husband for my birthday. Our stay at Gaylord was really a roller coaster. Check-in was miserable to say the least. First off, we couldn't find where to go, we drove in countless circles around the parking lots until finally getting out to enter a random door. As the kids and I waited in the car several mean looking patrol officers came and basically shooed us along. This caused us to continue driving around in circles, herded like cattle, and just hoping to catch a glimpse of my husband when he finished. Totally horrible! Not to mention that we weren't the only ones confused, several cars and people were just as lost as we were.

Once we finally were able to park we walked, at least 10 minutes, around hallways, up elevators, down more hallways, around this corner and that until we FINALLY got to the room. And to our disappointment it wasn't the room we were supposed to have (as promised by hotels.com). We were so disappointed and our family of 5 was going to have to squeeze into a king size bed for two nights. Not looking forward to that.... But this is where the Gaylord was really helpful. They moved us to a double bed room at not extra charge, which was kind and we REALLY appreciated it. However our room was supposed to include breakfast (a package deal from hotels.com) but the hotel totally didn't honor it, and we were just left totally hi and dry.

Overall, our trip to the hotel was just ok. In my opinion there are far better actual family choices in the Opry Mills mall nearby. We had a blast there from Dave & Buster's to fun family underwater eating places. It was really nice, and helped to make our disappointing trip to Gaylord Opryland more pleasant. There wasn't much to actually do here for families aside from spend money! Parking alone was like $27! Robbery!

After driving 7 hours, we won't be back, unfortunately this place was a Grand Ole blow to the wallet and that's about it!

Room tip: Eat elsewhere, you're wallet will thank you!
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Momtogogos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2014

We sincerely appreciate the time you took to comment on your recent stay. We strive to ensure each customer has a flawless guest experience and we’re very sorry we did not provide this for you. Please be assured that your comments are not taken lightly and they will be reviewed with the appropriate personnel. Again, thank you for your feedback which allows us to continually improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2014

The Christmas lights and decorations are beautiful. The hotel staff go out of their way to provide great service. Room was good value for the price. Great restaurants, we ate at Old Hickory and it was very good. Nice shopping inside the hotel. The complex is huge and you will walk a lot. The only negative was the valet parking - the company is contracted to provide services and they are not employees of the resort. One day the service was excellent and the next night at 11:30 in the evening it took over 30 minutes to drop the car off. I spoke with the Hotel Manager on duty, a very nice person by the name of Harrison. He waived the valet charge for the day and was grateful for the feedback. I look forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2014

Thanks so much for taking time to share your recent experience with us. Our staff strives to provide flawless service, and while we are disappointed that the valet service failed to meet your expectations, we are thrilled that our STARS (employees) were able to make it right. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Loved the Christmas lights and displays. Amazing garden walks. Plenty of restaurants to choose from. Clean room. Attentive staff. Pillows were a problem. Small for king size bed. They brought more when asked for. Expensive breakfast buffet. We recommend a separate line for guests returning vehicle to valet parking rather than waiting in same line as arriving guests.

Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank margieg912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2014

Thanks so much for sharing your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed our Christmas decorations and on-site restaurants. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews