We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Tour”
Review of RCA Studio B

RCA Studio B
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.95*
and up
RCA Studio B Combo Tour
Ranked #4 of 252 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Historic RCA Studio B--once the recording home of popular music titans such as Elvis Presley, Chet Atkins, Eddy Arnold, and The Everly Brothers--is both a classroom for Nashville area students and a popular cultural attraction. First made available to Country Music Hall of Fame® and Museum visitors in 1977, RCA Studio B was donated to the Museum in 1992. Studio B tours are available as part of the Museum's platinum ticket package, which also includes Museum admission and audio tour, and depart from the Museum hourly between 10:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m. daily. Transportation provided.
East Moline, IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Tour”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our tour of Studio B, thanks to a wonderful tour guide. Nothing spectacular but a good stop for country music and Elvis fans!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,767
    432
    111
    17
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
358 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“How can so much great music have been birthed in such a small studio?”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

For lovers of country music and early rock and roll, a visit to Studio B is a must. While occasionally still used for recordings (now mostly for nostalgia), the studio was the site of creation of 1000 top ten hits, a remarkable accomplishment by any standard. Run by the legendary Chet Atkins, it was the main recording studio for Elvis Presley, who recorded fully half of his song catalogue here including dozens of his hits. While dated and simple, it's filled with great history and the echoes of wonderful music! I love Elvis and really enjoyed my visit here.

Be sure you make advanced reservations as there are only 25 people allowed to visit each hour. Reservations are made through the Country Music Hall of Fame.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank drfumblefinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Jump on the bus”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Try to go after you tour the museum. It is a short bus ride away and very worthwhile

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EaglesSteelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“REALLY Historic Studio B!”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

A really fascinating peek behind the scenes of an old-time recording studio. Granted there’s not an awful lot to look at (a few old recording machines and several instruments used on legendary recordings) but the building has an amazing history and is well worth witnessing. Our guide was cheerful and played more clips from records than I had during a previous visit – sheer heaven! The tour is very informative and a beautiful insight to such an historic studio.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank KeithNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings, Il
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“AMAZING MUST SEE TOUR!!!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Not only is the Country Music Hall of Fame a must see in Nashville, but it would not have been complete without the amazing RCA Recording Studio Tour. It is definitely worth the money to add this tour to the cost of your ticket. Our tour guide, Nyla, was a burst of high energy full of fun, fact-filled stories that made the tour actually come to life. The kids did not even remember some of the stars that recorded in the studio, but she had a way of making every nuance about its history interesting, fun and exciting to listen to. I could have listened to her adorable, sincere southern accent and stories all day. Her spunky personality is perfect for her part in the tour, and all the little snippets of information and stories she tells brings it all together. Her positive spirit is infectious, to say the least. She and the tour were the highlight of our whole visit to Nashville. The kids got a kick out of sitting at Elvis’s actual piano. Where else do you get that kind of access to history? We stood in the room where 1,000 country hits were recorded, and that felt incredible. That along with Nyla sharing her stories really got our imaginations working, and we were transported back in time. We cannot wait to do it again! Actually, our intent is to purchase the group tour, so we can record our own CDs. Now that will be an amazing adventure!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RCA Studio B also viewed

 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to RCA Studio B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing