We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Wonderful hotel, very efficient and friendly staff. I wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else in Nashville. Pricey but worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fall-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,250
    166
    43
    31
    20
See reviews for
249
652
43
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
244 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

This hotel has everything - service, service, service. Elegant lobby that is worth spending time in - sink into the lush sofas and chairs and gaze up at the amazing ceiling. The staff are exceptional and I think the rooms are up there with the best of the bes - spacious, well appointed (towels, linens). I think the hotel is great for a romantic stay or (like me) for business. It's close to a lot of attractions if you ever want to leave the property but there is plenty to keep your eyes, ears and taste buds occupied with staying put, especially if your stay is short. Also, tucked away beside the front desk is a display area with photos and mementos from the 100 years of the hotels existence - interesting for history buffs.

Room Tip: The room was a little noisy - I could hear my neighbors every move and the hallway traffic was a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NonaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signal Mtn, TN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

My husband and I decided to take a romantic getaway to Nashville recently, and I selected The Hermitage Hotel in Nashville, just across the plaza from the TN State Capitol, and about 4 blocks from Broadway and the Ryman Theater. It's the only AAA 5 Diamond hotel in Tennessee, and at 100-plus years old, is on the National Register of Historic Places. The lobby and public rooms are absolutely gorgeous, dripping with turn-of-the-century grandeur.

Our room was large, elegant, and beautifully appointed. Everything was top-notch, from the fantastic marble shower to the luxury French linens on the bed. The room came complete with a hardbound book detailing the history of the hotel, from its glory days to its near demolition in the 1980s. Our view was the only imperfect thing, as we looked down on a rooftop and parking garage, but we had booked late and were lucky to have even gotten a room.

The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, and I need to mention the little dress and jewelry boutique to the left of the front entrance, where I purchased a sweet little black dress and some jewelry - great selection for a small space, and a lovely salesperson! While the hotel is a bit pricey, it doesn't disappoint.You'll feel like royalty, even if you've just visited some of the honky-tonk bars on Broadway!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors with a view of the State Capitol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SignalMtnMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

By chance my wife and I stayed in April at the Hermitage Hotel in Nashville, not cheap but worth every dollar we spent. Great service and a wonderfully restored building. It was walking distance to all of the music Nashville has to offer on Broadway.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepercarChicago_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Love this place! Historic elegant hotel with amazing food,totally attentive service from the valet parking to the fabulous concierge to the French linens and windows overlooking the State Capitol.
Friday night Happy Hour was filled with locals and tourists chillin out after a long week. Well worth it!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

Complimentary Sugar cookies and lemonade in the most beautiful grand lobby, friendly service, great shower and towels, spacious rooms, feeling of luxury with robes and house slippers laid out upon our return from dinner. Made me feel like I was at Downton Abbey! Don't miss it. Walking distance to Ryman and Country Music Hall of Fame, and Broadway Street. Great experience all around.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PleaseNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed here one night for a business trip and was underwhelmed. The valet service was efficient, but I didn't like not having access to my car. The check-in was bumpy due to a very inexperienced front desk clerk. My luggage took 15 minutes to arrive in my room, which made me nervous because I mistakenly added my computer and briefcase to the valet cart. The room itself was nice, especially the bathroom. I was unhappy with the cleanliness, with sticky remotes and stains/crumbs on the night stand. The staff I met were all friendly, but did not seem very knowledgeable--a lot of hemming and hawing with my questions about hotel policies and area information. I ordered a room service dinner and it was inedible. I ordered the hanger steak Cobb salad with the meat medium-well done. The lettuce was limp and mealy, the meat was raw and the dressing was flat and tasteless. For the price and the reputation of the hotel's Capitol Grille, I expected quite a bit more. Had to settle for a bag of cookies from the mini-bar. I was tempted by the 30.00 in-room pint of wine, but managed to resist.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaotropic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,957 reviews
Thompson Nashville
#2 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#23 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#14 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,598 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing