We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice Hotel; Beware of Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt
Ranked #22 of 156 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel; Beware of Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Very enjoyable stay, very nice property, however it was farther from the downtown area than I thought (I had assumed that it was walking distance which it is not). They did have a free shuttle to take you downtown and back, but we did wait quite a while for the return trip home.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashbill, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear MK,

Thank you for recently staying with us,

On behalf of our entire staff I want to thank you for your review. You are correct, our hotel is located one mile and a half west of the downtown area and even though I have seen many guests walk that distance I would recommend taking the shuttle.

Your comments have been shared with our staff.

Please come back and see us again next time you are here in Nashville.

Sincerely,

Juan C Mera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    386
    145
    50
    22
See reviews for
275
331
48
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arichat, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We booked our trip with Expedia and our trip included King rooms with Whirlpools and despite calling ahead two days before arriving and requesting an early check-in(We had left our home airport at 1:00am Nashville time) our rooms were still not ready until after 4:00 pm. My hubby had a bout of the flu the day we were arrived and had to stretch out on the couch in the lobby library. Gerry certainly wasn't very accomodating and eventually put us in a smoking room. We didn't bother mentioning it as heaven only knows what we may have incurred! Upon check-out he motioned us to the other staff member.Having said the above, the rest of the staff were exceptionally efficient and friendly. The shuttle drivers especialliy Jennifer and George went out of their way to accomodate our requests. Kudos to them. The hotel was immaculate and the rooms were spacious. Would I stay again? Certainly not before 4:00pm!!

Room Tip: Don't arrive early as you will have a long wait and be treated rudely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marlin121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashbill, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Marlin121,

Thank for your trip advisor review.

I am very sorry your room was not ready until after 4pm, your comments have been shared with our entire staff specially with those you mentioned.

We do hope you stay with us again next time you are here in Nashville, I will personally make sure every thing goes smooth with your stay, including an early check in.

Sincerely,

Juan C Mera
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had a corner room on the 8th floor and were treated to a really cool view of downtown Nashville's skyline all night long, not to mention people-watching on the streets below. Bed was comfy as usual, and the TV had a Comcast box with lots of HD channels, a far better channel selection than normal. Only quirk was that we couldn't turn off the closed captions. Also beware that parking isn't free.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quantro8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashbill, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Quantro8,

On behalf of our entire staff I want to say thank you for staying with us.

Your awesome review has been shared with our associates and we do hope to see you again next tome you are here in Nashville.

Sincerely,

Juan C Mera

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Everything about this hotel said "high quality, full service hotel" other than the price (I paid $103 which included breakfast but not the steep $20 for parking).

The place is new and very well thought out. Outlets on lamp next to bed for your phone/alarm clock? - check. Set-it-yourself wake up calls on the phone (and cancel, change any time)? check. Clean, comfortable, spacious room? check. Walking distance to decent restaurants and nightlife? check. free wi-fi, coffee in lobby, etc? check.

I really liked it - it literally met my every need - and I hope to stay again on my next Nashville visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashbill, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Susan JB,

It is always refreshing to read a review such as yours and it is a joy to share it with our staff.

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your great review.

Please come back and see us again next time you are here in Nashville.

Sincerely,

Juan C Mera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,186 reviews
420 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 606 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed here for one night on business. It was a standard HGI -- the rooms looked exactly the same as many HGI rooms. That's not a bad thing -- the rooms were relatively spacious, had a nice working area, a good sitting chair, lots of places to plug things in, etc. I don't love the HGI bed (the sheets and duvet are cheap feeling), but the bed in my room was at brand standard, so I can't necessarily blame the hotel for that.

The hotel has a business center. I appreciated that it was well-stocked and easy to use...and free. The gym and pool are decent, too. The gym is pretty small, but it had equipment in good shape and some free weights (not just cardio).

Internet access worked well. I had a brief problem accessing the internet originally, but that was instantly resolved with a call to the front desk.

Location is good. It's relatively close to Vanderbilt and the restaurants, etc. on West End. It's less central to all of that than some competing hotels, but I still walked to dinner, etc., which I enjoyed.

Valet parking was efficient and polite; the price was reasonable.

So, why the average rating instead of very good? Well, when I went to take my shower in the morning, I discovered a broken shower head. The thing nearly fell off and a huge stream of water came off of it during my shower, resulting in terrible water pressure. I find that really irritating; I can't believe that the housekeeper would not have noticed that when she cleaned the shower. So, that was the one dissatisfier.

Overall, though, I'd call that a fluke and would probably consider the property again when business brings me back to the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashbill, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Bmusicman,

Thank you for your trip advisor review, your comments have been shared with our entire staff.

I am very sorry we had a problem with the shower head in your room, the housekeeping department as well as maintenance have been informed of he situation.

We do hope to see you again next time you are here in Nashville.

Sincerely,

Juan C Mera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

I must say that the staff of this hotel's front desk was EXCELLENT! Nice surprise for our anniversary with chocolate covered strawberries and sparkling wine.

Good spt for all types of travelers.

Located only a quick shuttle (free) to and from the hotel within 3-5 miles until 10p. Cab oneway to locations near the Bridgestone never over $10 including tip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Because09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashbill, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Beacuse09,

Thank you for your trip advisor review, your comments have been shared with our staff.

We are glad you found our hotel to be a great choice here in Nashville.

Please come back and see us again next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Juan C Mera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel with a small group of friends. The hotel is close to Vandy and the downtown areas, with a great shuttle service anywhere within three miles. The valet service is very friendly and prompt. parking is a little expensive at $20 per night, but it comes with in and out service. Parking in Nashville is expensive anywhere you go.

The front desk was quick and full of smiles. Our room, while a standard room, was clean and well appointed. The air conditioner was a little loud, and i did hear some hallway noise late at night, but for the most part it was quiet and restfull.

Free coffe in the morning in the lobby was very welcome as were the cookies at the front desk every afternoon.

The breakfast was very good. we did not have any other meals there.

All in all a very competent and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtp1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashbill, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Rtp1960,

Thank you for your great trip advisor review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, your comments have been shared with our entire staff.

Please come back and see us again next time you are here in town.

Sincerely,'

Juan C Mera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.1 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Nashville Vanderbilt
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
0.2 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Nashville at Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Homewood Suites Nashville Vanderbilt
2.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Nashville Downtown / Convention Center
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Vanderbilt - Elliston Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt
Address: 1715 Broadway Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nashville
#3 Green Hotel in Nashville
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#16 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in mid-town Nashville conveniently located off I-65/I-40 on Broadway Avenue. Within a short distance of our newly built hotel is Nashville's bustling downtown area, the famous Music Row, and both Belmont and Vanderbilt Universities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing