We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Increasing disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scarritt-Bennett Center
Ranked #12 of 24 Nashville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We have stayed at S-B over a dozen times in recent years. The room(s) have been OK ($75 for a twin bed, sharing a bathroom), BUT, there were many times they were NOT clean, NOT in working condition, and the amenities were lacking (noise(s) and other guests who prevented sleeping through the night-akin to a youth hostel in comfort).

When we first started staying there (and recommended S-B to others), preferences for certain buildings/floors/rooms were accommodated if possible. Recently, they are met with indifference and inefficiency at check-in. Whatever happened to "the customer is always right"?

Lodgings at S-B seem assigned based on which rooms are easiest to access by the housekeeping staff, rather than in consideration for the traveller's comfort.

Doing the math: a family (2-4 adults) can stay at the Nashville West End Holiday Inn (2 queen beds, microwave, mini-fridge, luxury bath, upper floor view of Centennial Park, and swimming pool) for $160/night; while 2 adjoining (so-so) single-bed rooms at S-B will be the same price (for 2 people). So, what would YOU choose?

I realize that catering to special event customers might be lucrative and efficient in the short-term, yet S-B should realize their lodging-income potential if their rooms were cleaner, not so expensive, and their employees were as customer-friendly and personable as their after-hours security, who DID find me quiet/clean room(s), got my key to work, etc, that regular staff did not.

While S-B is charming, refreshing (albeit funky) and convenient, we will pay a TAD-BIT more for MUCH more in terms of clean rooms, quiet surroundings, comfort, and value.

Room Tip: Express a preference for GIBSON (overlooking the labryinth), then BRAGG. Avoid Cadwaller, where room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Mamanewsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2017

This place is a beautiful venue for weddings. We got to eat lunch here with Clemson students and it was delicious. I cannot wait to come back. The people we met with were extremely friendly. If you get a chance to tour, DO IT!

Room Tip: beautiful location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank alymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

The location was amazing. The building is very pretty. The cooks were also very nice. They could do some possible updates, but other than that the business really reminded me of historic Norwich, England. I also really enjoyed the fried chicken

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Eliza L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

My classmates and I visited the Scarritt-Bennett Center for a field trip. We got a tour of the grounds, explanations of the buildings, and a lunch provided. The grounds were very beautiful, as well as the church. We also really enjoyed the kindness of the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bridger2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Always enjoy staying at the Scarritt-Bennett Center. Primarily, this is due to the affordability aspectr. However, finding their prices have increased significantly for 2017 don't know that I will always make it my number 1 choice anymore. Of course, their prices remain lowest in the area, but considering the amenities, not as attractive as before. (Shared restroom, no TV, suspect HVAC, etc.)

Room Tip: Bragg Hall is the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bray131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay in Nashville this a good option. It's very basic: bed, desk, chair, Jack and Jill room (shared bathroom with next room). Each floor has a lobby with a tv, microwave and fridge. Since it was an old dorm, not much control over the temperature of the room. Close enough to downtown, you can get an UBER pretty cheap and fast. Several places to eat close by.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

I stayed here for a songwriter workshop I was attending. It is definitely not fancy -- just a basic bed, with a shared bathroom and a dresser. The furnishings are sparse, but if you just need a good night's sleep, the bed was comfortable enough, and it was very clean. Breakfast was included and was wonderful, and I felt like I was eating at Hogwart's or maybe the dining hall from Oliver Twist. But it was fun, and the food was great!
There was free available wi-fi. Not really any ammenities -- just very basic accomodations, but for the price, it was fine.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mechabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
The 404 Hotel
#11 of 24 in Nashville
19 reviews
SoBro Guest House
#2 of 24 in Nashville
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Germantown
The Germantown Inn
The Germantown Inn
#5 of 24 in Nashville
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarritt-Bennett Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarritt-Bennett Center

Address: 1008 19th Ave S, Nashville, TN 37212-2126
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Nashville
Price Range: $56 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scarritt-Bennett Center is an urban education, conference and retreat center that offers affordable dorm-style rooms to both individuals and groups. We're just 2 miles from downtown Nashville, in the popular Midtown, Vandy, Music Row area. Ten acres of peaceful grounds and beautiful historic architecture - Walking distance of Vanderbilt, Music Row, area shops and restaurants - Ideal location just minutes from LP Field, Bridgestone Arena and downtown - 15 minutes from Nashville International airport - Complimentary parking - Friendly, welcoming staff. Rooms include wireless Internet access. The majority are singles with shared bath. Stay with us on your next trip to Nashville! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing