We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value while traveling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Newport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Newport Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value while traveling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

The staff here was very friendly and helpful for us. The rooms were nice, a/c was cold and property was quiet. They only had smoking rooms on the first floor, but even for our pickiest traveler it was not a problem. They took our pet easily without even a pet fee. Breakfast was good, biscuits and gravy, sausage, potatoes, waffle maker and muffins. We had a very nice stay and would definitely stay again if we're ever back through.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loriele-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECoggins, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Newport Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
We would first like to say Thank you! for your buisness and we are overjoyed regarding your visit here at the Best Western Newport Inn! We have a great team of individuals who work very hard towards the same goal of satisfying each individual guest need. Our staff enjoys positive responses from our guests or most cases, Our Friends.

Value is hard to find especially these days. So when an individual passes through our property- they leave knowing that there pocket is still heavy or in my case it has never been (jk), memories being shared between the family, and the satisfaction of a revived body and mind from a great nights rest verses the constant phrase of "are we there yet?"

We would like to say thank you again because when we hear the great responses from our guests like you, we know that we are one step closer climbing the ladder of perfection. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    145
    44
    18
    14
See reviews for
164
128
36
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Nice clean quiet room. Ruby Tuesday restaurant on same corner with excellent food. The night clerk was very nice and helped us find fun things in the Smoky Mountains.

I locked my keys in my rental car. The manager, Glenna Hayworth talked to her employee Mark Steward who knew a locksmith that came out immediately. The locksmith opened the car within 5 minutes and only charged $30.00.
This whole event could have made our vacation very painful. What if I had to wait hours and hours to get my car opened? What if I was charged $300?

Thanks to the staff here, I had a great vacation!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flip33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECoggins, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Newport Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Wonderful!!! We here at the Best Western Newport really enjoy hearing about your enjoyable visit with us! We strive to exceed the ordinary expectations each guest acquires during a visit. The difference is simple.... we really enjoy helping guests have a great stay and a vacation. We here at the Best Western Newport understand the importance of Superior Customer Care and take pride and enjoyment making each guest feel very comfortable in a home from home atmoshphere.

We are so thankful that we were able to accomodate your needs from the great room comfortability to the service we provided from the locksmith and the time it was accomplished in. Our friendly staff treats each guest problem as if it was there own. We know that for every problem, there are many solutions.

Thank you so much for your visit here at the Best Western Newport Inn and we very much look forward to seeing you on your journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

Truck window smashed in, staff no help at all. When pushed, they provided plastic and tape when repairshop could not be located. Security terrible.Rooms old and smelly. I will never even go through the town of Newport Again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECoggins, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Newport Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Our apologies for the most unfortunate incident regarding your window! After a thorough investigation regarding the incident our records concluded that our staff worked rigourously for a few hours accomadating and suggesting different solutions to the incident! The replacement window was retrieved from a hardware store locally and temporaily installed by our qualified maintenence team.The window was actually bought with the money from one of our staff members because a repair shop could not be contacted given the time of day and wait list of the hail damage to windows from the previous devistating storms.
Also regarding the smell of the room we have no record of a complaint during the stay. Our vetern housekeeping staff has many years experience and rewards for their exceptional work and attention to detail.
The Best Western of Newport Inn is a very well lit property and we apologize again for the mishap! Each member of our staff gives each individual guest Superior Customer Care from the start of walking in the Front Desk lobby door to cheking out with a revived body and mind!
Apologies again Sir for your mishap and we do hope that your future travel will include our property here at the Best Western Newport Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orland Park
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

We were traveling to pick up our college daughters. There was a car show in Knoxville, so we traveled onto Newport. We paid a great rate for a clean room, that was nicely decorated and had a really great continental breakfast with meat and waffles, etc. The lady at the check-in desk was very kind (it was about 12 AM). I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aumojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECoggins, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Newport Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
We here at the Best Western of Newport Inn are extremely delighted that you enjoyed your stay! We strive to exceed each individual customers expectation with affordable rates that meet any families budget given how the economy has affected many traverlers these past few years.
Also we are pleased that you enjoyed our free hot breakest bar that includes a variety of items to accommodate each individual need. We strive to lead the industry in Superior Customer Care and we gladly appreciate the feedback of your exceptional and pleasant visit with us!
We hope to see you soon traveling and stopping in at Exit 435 exaclty off of Interstate I-40 and THANK YOU for your buisness and compliments! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdbargo1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

I had read all of the reviews before we went ahead and redeemed our Rewards points in exchange for a free night at the Newport, TN location. BAD choice initially, but it improved after bringing the many, many faults of the room to the staff's attention. First and foremost, we were in the lobby of the hotel while management was briefing the staff on how much work they had to do to bring their facility up to Best Western standards. We did arrive early for check in, around 11:30 a.m. and were happy to be promptly given an available room, but were told it was being cleaned and it would be a few minutes. There were several other empty, available rooms so we were a bit confused with that, but we waited. Upon arriving in our room we were disgusted at what we saw. There were dead flies in the window ledge, dirt and filth all over the curtain, the AC unit did not have any legible buttons and the safety lock on the door appeared to be fashioned out of a coat hanger sort of mechanism. The chair was absolutely filthy and should have just been removed from the room rather than left in there to add to the stench. I noticed that along the wall that there was mounds of dirt that had simply never been swept. Housekeeping has to have extensions for the vacuums. In short, we looked over the room and decided that we could not stay there – so I went to call down to the front desk to inquire if they had any other rooms available and was beyond mortified at the dirty telephone. Inez gave us another room, on the second floor, with two queen beds and we were pleasantly surprised at it's over all cleanliness and lack of odor. I am baffled as to why we would be assigned what had to be the nastiest room in the place when other rooms were available. If it were due to redeeming our rewards then that is certainly the wrong way to treat loyal customers. We have completed over 10 stays at Best Westerns this year and this is by far, the worst hotel we have been to. If you have no other choice, give this hotel a try but insist on a room closer to the office, away from the roof of Ruby Tuesday's and if possible, inspect the room before giving your credit card information. The rate is reasonable but if they continue to rent out the worst of the worst rooms their business may be gone forever.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdbargo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECoggins, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Newport Inn, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
We, here at the Best Western of Newport would like to express our deepest regrets on your unfortunate visit with us! We strive to ensure clean,quality rooms that exceeds EACH guest expectation.
Regarding the early check-in wait around 11:30am, even though our property looked empty, our housekeeping staff was working vigorously in the rooms to provide a very clean atmosphere.The wait that you experienced was in part due to many rooms that were rented the night before in addition to our late check out which is at noon!
Regardless the situation, every potential guest is greeted with a smile and offered to our best available room! We pride ourselves on creating a very positive memorable interaction with ALL guests here at the Best Western of Newport!
We are very grateful that you chose the Best Western of Newport and we do hope that you will give us another chance if your endeavors lead you our way! We will be very appreciative to have you as our guest once again and hopefully the conclusion will be very delightful!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

This place is disguisting, if it wasn't so late and I needed to continue traveling early the next morning I would have left. The room stunk (literally) was full of roaches, mold everywhere, the bathroom looked like it had not been cleaned in YEARS, grime and blood on the bath walls and mold all over a bath tub that would not drain. This place should be closed until a Hazmat crew can come in! I am not exaggerrating at all.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinktravelqueen73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECoggins, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Newport Inn, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
We would first and foremost like to apologize for your misfortunate and very unpleasant difficulties here with us at the Best Western of Newport! However after a thorough investigation we have found no record of your difficulties in relation to your response with the front desk/housekeeping staff or with the manager. Our Excellent Housekeeping award is an indicator to our staff's relentless effort to provide EACH guest with a very clean, ''home away from home'' atmosphere!!!
If you happen to make it back our way, please don't hesitate to inform our front desk or manager of ANY problem or dislike you may have! Thank you for your visit here with us at the Best Western of Newport!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

I stayed at this motel due to it's low rates.room was small and had a bad odor. The ac didn't cool the room until later into the evening. There was a small spider on the bed and a bigger spider in the bathtub. When I went to the front desk to inquire about no coffee pot in the coffee maker, the front desk clerk asked me if I was locked out of my room. I said I wasn't, and stated that there wasn't a coffee pot in the coffee maker. She told me to read the instructions on the coffee, which stated to put the cup under the maker to make coffee. I would stay at this motel again, provided the room didn't have a bad odor.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank countryd00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECoggins, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Newport Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
We would first like to say Thank You!! for your visit here at the Best Western of Newport!! Also too for providing us feedback on your stay. By your comments and experience on your stay-we can correct and terminate any unfortunate incident that you may have experienced. We here at the Best Western of Newport strive to satisfy each guest expectation and provide each guest with a rememorable positive experience at an affordable price that you as our guest will recommend to your family and friends!

The Best Western of Newport wants each guest to experience the definition of Superior Customer Care!!! Whatever issue may arrise- we happily and anxiously want to provide!!!

Again, Thank You for being our guest and Hopefully on your next trip- the Best Western of Newport will be your destination!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
4.7 km away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#3 of 9 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Newport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Morristown Conference Center Hotel
23.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 8 in Dandridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
23.3 km away
Jefferson Inn
Jefferson Inn
#3 of 8 in Dandridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Newport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Newport Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Newport Inn
Address: 1015 Cosby Highway, Newport, TN 37821-7323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Newport Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Newport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing