We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay With Just A Couple Of Suggestions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn On The River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn On The River
Ranked #3 of 90 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chickamauga, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Great Stay With Just A Couple Of Suggestions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

My friend and I spent the weekend in Pigeon Forge at this hotel from Sat. to Mon., Mar. 31-Apr. 2, 2012 which was the start of the main week for spring break. We stayed in room 237 which was a 2-queen bed standard room. The hotel was nearly full due to the holiday time period.

The hotel itself was very well maintained and in good condition. Our room was very clean, even around the corners and under the beds. We use a "white noise" fan to drown out other room's "bleed in" noises, so we couldn't tell how quiet the room actually was for outside noise. The furniture and television was in very good condition and the beds were very comfortable. I was pleased to see C.F. bulbs being used in the light fixtures.

We had just a few issues/complaints with the room. First, the heat and A/C unit badly needed a filter change as the odor coming out of the A/C settings was very foul and musty/moldy like. It was so bad, we couldn't use the A/C in the room and it was warm enough you really needed it. Secondly, there are no actual towel "racks" for hanging up towels in the bathroom and if you wanted to reuse your towel, there was no way to hang it up to dry other than over the shower rod. Thirdly, we really thought they needed a second garbage can in the room, as the only one we had was in the bathroom.

The morning breakfast was very good with a lot of variety each day of both hot and cold items. The cooked food was good quality and was hot enough. We sampled the eggs, sausage, toast, and the "make it yourself" waffles with toppings of syrup, strawberry, and whipped cream. They had both 2% and skim milk, orange and apple juice, several types of coffee, and packets for hot tea and cocoa. They had three types of cereal, fruit cocktail, bagils, doughnuts, and containers of Yoplait yogert. They probably had more I'm forgetting, but suffice to say the breakfast variety is very good. I would like to see them add bacon to the meat selection, and it would be perfect for me.

I went down in the evenings and got some of the fresh popcorn they have in the lobby and also briefly used the business center to check my email. I requested extra bath towels from the front desk one evening when we need a couple extra ones, and they were very quick to provide them with no hassles.

Overall, we had a great stay here and I would definitely recommend staying here at the Inn On The River to anyone visiting Pigeon Forge. The location is very near traffic light #3 (Hwy 321) and in a good location for being "mostly center" to both P.F. and Sevierville.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side all have balconies while the ones on the parking lot side do not. There ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat_Cubs_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,500
    378
    89
    28
    13
See reviews for
943
628
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We bought our room off groupon and were very pleased with how comfortable and clean the room and whole property were. Have to comment on how pleased I was to find that the outside guest areas (balcony on our room and outdoor breakfast patio) were completely free of spider webs and dirt. Beds were super comfortable, balcony had a nice view over the river and Pigeon Forge, pool was large enough that several children could play without getting in each other's way (there are two pools, inside and out and a hot-tub). Breakfast was good, usual hotel fare, but it was hot and fresh and a good variety of food. Staff was very accomodating with directions and area info. Lobby was clean and really quite comfortable and homey.

Overall, excellent hotel and we would have no problem staying there again. I can't stress how clean it was, and I would have no problem staying again.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room on the river side of the hotel. Hotel is not really within walking distance of ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jitterbugperfume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the inn on the river .we had a room overlooking the river which was nice we sat out most mornings and had a coffee on the balcony.rooms very clean and beds very comfortable.breakfast was good every morning plenty of choice and the coffee is lovely and free.staff very freindly always made you feel welcome no matter what time day or night they were always there to help.we were in and out alot sightseeing etc.the inn on the river is close to many attractions and there is a trolley stop right outside for the places that are a litlle further.all in all a very pleasant stay here and would definately stay here again and would reccomend to freinds and family.we travelled from uk

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liverbird002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We had wonderful stay at Inn On The River. I made reservations through one of the online reservation companies and was totally lied to. When we conveyed what had been promised to us, the desk staff did their best to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Of course they could not magically create the things we had been promised but for a small charge they really did all they could for us. This place is very clean and I can't say enough about the staff.
The location is perfect! Walking distance to alot of restaurants and short drive to outlet mall.
We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking river are very relaxing and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

It was so good that I wish we had longer to stay. Will definately consider this place again if we ever pass through in the future.

Room Tip: I got it on Groupon so it was chosen for us...but it was excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnielou70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

My husband, adult children, grandchildren, and friends stayed at the The Inn on the River during March 2012. While we were there, we all became sick. The care that Rebecka and Bridgette offered to us was beyond typical employee duties. The Inn was clean, breakfast was great, and the staff was phenomenal! We will be staying with the folks at The Inn on the River again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Treva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
We are pleased everyone enjoyed their stay and look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We actually stayed here with a groupon and were expecting middle of the road type of room, but we were pleasantly surprised. Rooms are clean and the staff is great, especially AJ, he actually got more blankets and sheets so my 3 year old could build a tent/fort in the room and when my 13 year old daughter questioned them about the hot chocolate they mention in the brochures AJ found some and even helped make it. Great time, indoor pool is awesome too.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jernigan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your comments! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.2 km away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#2 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
0.4 km away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#6 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
1.0 km away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#7 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
2.3 km away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#8 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.2 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The River

Property: The Inn On The River
Address: 2492 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#4 Green Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn On The River 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the River presents 128 newly renovated guest rooms with interior corridors featuring one half with private balconies or patios on the beautiful Little Pigeon River. All tastefully decorated Deluxe Guest Rooms have Serta pillowtop mattresses, white duvet bedspreads, maple furniture, granite counter tops, in-room Keurig coffee makers, mini-fridges, hair dryers, iron and ironing boards. King Suites are available with in-room gas fireplaces, and in-room Jacuzzi tubs. Mini Suites with a sitting area and Queen size sleeper sofas are available along with handicap accessible guest rooms. Along with your room, you'll enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast, nightly complimentary popcorn in the lobby, and 24 hour coffee and tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn On The River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The River Hotel Pigeon Forge
Hampton Inn Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing