We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the 1 night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside Motor Lodge
Ranked #44 of 91 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good for the 1 night”
Reviewed 30 January 2011

It had snowed 8 to 10 inches a few days before our New Years trip. When we arrived in Pigeon Forge and paid for our cabin (we had a cabin reserved for our 4 day stay) we discovered after going out to the cabin we couldn't get to it because of the snow & ice. We went back to the cabin rental company and after talking to them about the situation they refunded our 1ST night so we had to find a motel..... Quick! The Riverside Lodge was like just around the corner from the cabin rental company. Front sign said "VACANCY" so we went in and got a room. (didn't want to compare all the motels in the area due to we might not get one if we waited) We were put on the 2ND floor in a one bed room. The room was like a "mini-suite" It had a jacuzzi tub (which we did not use) a fireplace (gas) it was nice and kept room warm, mini-frig. (ours worked good....kept our food cold that we had took up with us) mini-stove, kitchen sink, TV (had plenty of channels and it was good) pots, pans, dishes (which we did not use) had a coffee pot (but no coffee) a couch, table & 2 chairs, and internet service and it (internet service) was GREAT! The bathroom area was big, in the jaccuzzi tub area was also a hand sink (this area was "open-area"....no closed doors) Behind the closed door (bathroom) was the toliet, another hand sink and a tub/shower combo. Bed slept good (but we were very tired and fustrated over not getting to our cabin so we could have fell asleep any where) But the neighbors were very noisy. We were woke up around midnight by someone checking into next room. His daughter would not open the door to let him in so he just stood outside banging on door & yelling (the banging rattled our windows) Woke several up in motel (one even opened his door and got on to him) We were woke again early in morning (4AM & 5AM) by running water and doors slamming. (this is one reason why we rent a cabin in the area) This motel is a older motel, some things could be updated and some things have been updated. For one night it was just fine but I don't think I would stay here for more than 2 nights. We would stay here again if we encountered the problems with the cabin again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TennesseeJustme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    24
    20
    7
    10
See reviews for
93
35
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2010

When arriving in the room the refrigerator was not working. We waited over 30 min. for the maintenance person to get it (supposedly) fixed. We had dinner from an expensive restaurant & champagne that needed to be chilled. It was supposed to take 1 hour to get cold and only stayed cool at best. No one ever bothered to call to make sure it was working. The person at the desk was not apologetic either when we first told him. We had been traveling all day and were too tired to get dressed and go down again. Supposedly they didn't have any more jacuzzi rooms. We made due with ice from the ice machine. So we are about to get in the jacuzzi and guess what, it was not working. I tried numerous times on the switch to turn it on. We didn't even bother to tell them we were so over it. Last year we went there and had the same exact room. We told them when leaving that the jacuzzi did not work but that time it was our fault because we did not know how to turn it on. Now I'm wondering if it even worked last year. One of the reasons we liked that hotel is because Food City is right next door which is very convenient. It was also close to the places we wanted to visit. If the amenities worked it would have been nice (jacuzzi, fireplace, stove, microwave, full size coffee machine). One more thing, there is no complimentary coffee, even for two. So if you dare, bring your own coffee. We were told by an employee we could get some downstairs. I go down another time to find out, if they have coffee you can have some. They did not. So our money will go elsewhere from now on.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aprincesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Rooms need to be cleaned more thouroghly. Maintenace up keep in the rooms need to be addressed. Elevator needs a good cleaning.Traffic noise was bad.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaFunOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

my family and i got to the hotel about 8pm on the 26th of feb and the room looked like it was ok, we put our stuff in the room and went for a swim . when we got back we pulled the covers back to see that there was spots on the covers and the drawers you put your clothes in had someones used underwear in. my son was going to take a shower and saw a cock roach running up the wall i video it and showed the guy at the front desk he acted like he didnt believe me. so i showed him the bug its self up close. the hotel is the nastys one ive ever seen i'm reporting them to the better business bureau. dont stay at this dump.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tennesseedragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

A suite should be bigger than a standard room. This room is a standard Room with the bathroom between the beds instead of at one end. Having only one heater A/C unit means keeping the (plastic accordion) door between the beds open. The toilet is loose on the floor and only about 2 inches from the wall. Left handers beware. There is no noise unheard from the room either. Whether it be from the floor below, the people next door or every single car that passes. I expected more for the high price.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damien210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, GA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Reservations were made about 2 months before our trip. We were quoted a price, but at check-in, the price was different. I just had to firmly, but nicely explain that I expected the price I was quoted. At first the clerk was not willing to give me the price, but the manager agreed with me. The rooms were very spacious for our family of 5. The location on the parkway was great. And the creek behind the hotel was very nice. The indoor pool was small and smelled over-chlorinated. We could hardly stand to be in there for more than a few minutes. The cleaning ladies were very nice and accomodating. The rooms were clean but dated. For the price, this hotel is ok. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jensmith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingsport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

we called the hotel from the outside parking lot to ask if they had a HEATED indoor pool and we were told they did. we parked the car and went on in to get a room. after we paid, we walked straight up to the room. we were tired of driving and just wanted to get to the room, so we just left our things in the car. we were going to go back down and get them later. when i walked into the room, i was surprised at how big it was...but i was surprised at how old and dirty it was, too. there was a couch that was just filthy. i turned the t.v. on so my kids could watch cartoons while we got settled. my husband went down to check the pool....afterall, that's the whole reason we were getting a hotel is so the kids could swim. that's why we called before we reserved to make sure it was a HEATED pool. well, he comes back up to the room and says the pool is FREEZING...it's not a heated pool....and the kids won't be able to stand the water. i was annoyed, and said let's just go to the place we stayed last time. i went down to the desk to get my money back since we had only been there about ten minutes and hadn't even taken any belongings into the room. the guy at the desk said he had to go check the room first and make sure it hadn't been "used." i said, what do you mean "used"...nobody used the toilet or the shower or anything. we didn't even unpack the car. okay, whatever...we waited while he went to check. he comes back and says that we have to keep the room because it LOOKS like someone had used one of the beds. are you freaking kidding me? we had been there ten minutes. we were there to swim, not nap. how does it look like someone used it? were the covers pulled back? nooo...i don't understand what you mean. he said it just looked like someone had sat on the bed or done something and that he could not give a refund. i said, you're saying it looks like the bed was used...i'm saying it wasn't used. i want my money back. i could understand if the toilet had been used and they could prove it because the seal was broken.....or there was water in the shower so they knew someone took a shower. but saying it LOOKED like someone had sat on the bed or done "something" was CRAZY! i told him he was a liar, and he said he had a staff member come and witness it and take pictures. of course he wouldn't let me see the pictures. a few minutes later he admitted that he was the only staff member on duty which explained why he refused to show me these pictures he spoke of. the whole episode was totally unreasonable and uncalled for because he was the one who told us they had a heated pool when we called, and wasn't willing to give us a refund when we didn't want to stay there because the pool was NOT heated "because it looks like someone sat on the bed or something." i was like why would i go up there and "use the bed" and then want my money back? what do you think my motive is here? we don't want to stay here because the pool is FREEZING and you said it was heated! he said that maybe i had found a room somewhere else that was cheaper and that's why i wanted to leave. uh, the room was 80 dollars....i don't think it gets cheaper in pigeon forge. not to mention, i was leaving that hotel to go to another hotel that costs MORE but doesn't lie when they say the pool is heated. the guy was a huge man and is miserable with life in general. i ended up telling him i didn't blame him for being so miserable cus i would be too if i were him. he proceeded to call me a [--] and tell me he was going to "whoop my [--]" then, i went and rented another room at another hotel that actually DID have a heated pool. so, i basically flushed 80 dollars down the toilet. i wouldn't spit on the place if it were on fire....much less stay there EVER....not even if i had already paid for it!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbethied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
3.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
0.7 km away
RiverGate Mountain Lodge & Wedding Chapel
2.8 km away
Shular Inn Hotel
Shular Inn Hotel
#47 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
All Season Suites
All Season Suites
#36 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
762 reviews
1.1 km away
River Place Inn & Cabins
River Place Inn & Cabins
#69 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
204 reviews
1.1 km away
Ramada Pigeon Forge South
Ramada Pigeon Forge South
#41 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motor Lodge

Property: Riverside Motor Lodge
Address: 3575 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#25 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverside Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Old Mill Avenue and Dollywood lane in Pigeon Forge, Riverside Motor Lodge has everything you need to make your vacation complete. From our wide range of suites to our over sized Penthouse, no matter what the occasion we have what you are looking for. Our heated indoor pool offers fun and relaxation even through the coldest winter days while the fireplaces in our family and honeymoon suites wait to warm you back up. Before you settle for another standard room come see what a Riverside Vacation is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Riverside Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Motor Hotel Pigeon Forge
Riverside Hotel Pigeon Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing