We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway with our pup”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roan Mountain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway with our pup”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We had such a great time during our stay. We were tired from a long work week and thought we might have picked a bad week to go, but we were able to sleep in (breakfast at 9!) and not worry about finding a dog sitter (pet friendly with no pet fee!). Breakfast was wonderful and filling which came in handy for our hike on Saturday. Room and bathroom were very clean and cozy and felt like we were staying over at a family member's house. We had great weather throughout the weekend. Also you must eat at Roan Mountain Bakers. It is a hole in the wall bakery/pizza place with wood fired pizza...probably one of the best pizzas I've had

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash_Pit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
51
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We went up with the intentions of hiking the mountain trails and relaxing in our room. Mother nature had a different idea with temps in the low 30s and light snow falling in October. However, we enjoyed our stay in this very homey and comfy b&b. We enjoyed the company of our other travelers while we played dominos in the great room (has various dining tables, a living room set up and a kitchen with an island). Mary, the owner, was beyond helpful and so nice. She cooked an amazing breakfast spread (different each day) that was sooooo filling and deliscios.

She suggested local places to eat (there isn't much to this small town).

The b&b has horses and goats, that we watched as we sat on the porch with our hot chocolate (which Mary always has ready to go) while the snow was going down.

We stayed in the Jefferson room which is HUGE! It has a gas fireplace that comes on with the push of the remote and a jacuzzi tub that fits 2 tall people comfortably! Creating such a romantic setting to relax and get to know your partner again.

What I loved about this place is the atmospher, very laid back and relaxing. Unlike many other b&bs with parlors and dining rooms which isn't condusive to a comfy stay. We actually got to know other guests and enjoy playing games and watching football with them in the great room. The grounds are sooooo beautiful too.

Room Tip: Splurge and get the Jefferson room with the Jacuzzi. Though there is little privacy for the toilet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justaboutjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Mountain Harbour Bed & Breadfast was a delight. The owners, Mary & Terry couldn't have been nicer. Their home is comfortable and clean with a real " welcome home" type charm. We stayed in the Jefferson room which was very spacious, complete with microwave, refrigerator, jacuzzi tub and everything you need to feel comfortable. Breakfast was a delight for your tastebuds, each day something different and alway delicious. We enjoyed sitting on the porch swing looking at the beautiful countryside and watching the horses. If you are looking for something more adventurous, you're only a short drive to the Appalachian Trail or many other moutain destinations. We loved every minute of our stay and look forward to future visits..

Room Tip: The Jefferson has a private bath, while the other rooms share a very nice bathroom in hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir City, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This was the best weekend getaway spot my husband and I have ever been to. The owner Mary is the sweetest, kindest, most thoughtful person and that comes through in every minute detail she has included to make your stay perfect in every way. The breakfast is AMAZING!! WOW!! I never expected such a beautiful, delicious spread of food and the variety is awesome; something for everyone. My husband and I can't wait to go back. This was one of those times where you are happy to pay someone for a service!

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and beatifully done, but I would definitely recommend the master bedroom. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrivendedragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We rented the Jefferson room because it was very large and had a Jacuzzi. Mrs. Mary and Mr. Terry were extremely accommodating. We found home-made cookies next to our door on both nights were were there.

The entire place was extremely clean and comfortable, we couldn't have asked for more. Terry will happily give you a shuttle to a hiking trail, but you'd be better off driving yourself to the top of the Roan Mountain and hiking the Balds trail, for some breathtaking views.

The breakfast deserves it's own paragraph, as it was unbelievably delicious. They had sausages, bacon, eggs, french bread, fruits, and lots of other stuff. The best breakfast I've ever had, hands down!

Room Tip: The Jefferson room is the largest, perfect for couples looking for romance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We were first-timers to a bed and breakfast, and very much pleased with a great experience. The historic home is situated on a knoll in the midst of a valley, surrounded by country living. It is a very nice setting with just the right atmosphere to provide for a peaceful, relaxing experience. There are horses and goats in sight and a free flowing creek that runs thru the gorgeous grounds. A moment on the front porch swing or hammock with the goodness of nature sounds makes you appreciate the solitude. The owner, Mary is very sweet and full of good stories. The homemade breakfast was exceptional. The home is very inviting and comfortable. We were very impressed with our experience at Mountain Harbour.

Room Tip: The Jefferson room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyreeree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Awesome variety and quality breakfast. Owner Mary is awesome. Laundry included. Fab for AT thru, section or day hikers. All details considered for comfy stay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliviapulley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roan Mountain
14.5 km away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
34.8 km away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
561 reviews
39.1 km away
Mountain Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
The Inn at Elk River
The Inn at Elk River
#1 of 9 in Banner Elk
177 reviews
12.8 km away
The Shady Lawn Lodge
The Shady Lawn Lodge
#1 of 3 in Newland
182 reviews
12.9 km away
Archer's Mountain Inn
Archer's Mountain Inn
#7 of 9 in Banner Elk
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9151 Highway 19 E, Roan Mountain, TN 37687-3349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Roan Mountain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Roan Mountain
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast is nestled in the mountains of North East Tennessee. We are 3/10 of a mile from the Appalachian Trail. We offer a gourmet breakfast and a relaxing atmosphere. We provide hiker services such as shuttles as well as a cozy hostel to relax and recharge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing