We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful country get away”
other travellers have booked this property
Front Door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Front Door
The Bikers Shack
The drive over South Holston Mountain is spectacular in the Fall!
Backbone Rock - Part of the trail - about 7 miles away
Bristol Motor Speedway - 27 miles - approx 45 mins - Route of least traffic
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Shady Valley, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Roam70266...
1 review
“Beautiful country get away”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The Shady House is in a beautiful rural location! The space has lots of character and accommodated us well enough. We were even allowed to have two smaller dogs stay. Kate (the owner) is kind and a breath of fresh air. She communicated with me from the beginning which is why I booked with her!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking care of the home! You were a joy to work with. My goal is to provide the best possible experience for outdoor family adventures!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill O
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a large group”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with a total of 14 family members. The house was set up well to hold that large of a group.
Really enjoyed all the indoor and outdoor games.
The area is beautiful in the valley. Roads are windy coming in from Bristol on the "snake" but fun to drive.
Kate was great in getting us prepared and set up.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
I just loved hosting your group! Thank you for taking such good care of this special home place. I hope to have you visit again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cherylduc...
Wytheville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views and perfectly relaxing!”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This year was our second annual trip to the The Shady House and we all truly enjoyed our stay. I went with a group of ladies and we had plenty of space with lots of room to spare. We loved the old country store feel to the place. The old hardwoods are gorgeous! We spent most of our time on the lawn either chatting or playing badminton. So fun. Katie is an amazing hostess and went above and beyond to ensure our stay was comfortable and fun! Looking forward to next year!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the location and amount of space we had.
Liked least: I wish I could have stayed longer!!!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Thank you! I always enjoy hosting all you girls! See you again in the Fall :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillySco...
Brantford, Canada
1 review
“Great Place to stay for Race weekends!”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A few of the boys wanted to go see a NASCAR race, and what better race than Bristol! There were 6 of us from Ontario, Canada that came down, and from the moment we got there, we all felt at home. Great place with lots of space, beds and bathrooms. A/C in each of the bedrooms and living room made it comfortable all weekend long in some pretty warm weather! Everything we needed was here! All we did was bring some food and some beverages, and Kate took care of the rest. While here we spent most of our time on the porch watching all the bikes cruising through the awesome local roads through the mountains and forest. All of the scenery, and local neighbours were fantastic. If we needed anything, I have no doubt we just had to ask, and they would help for sure. I have already recommended to a few people who are interested in travelling to the area for the race next year. But we had such a good time that it might be us again! Thanks Kate. Wonderful place, and host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large rooms, and kitchen. 3 Bathrooms. All amenities. Hostess.
Liked least: nothing, it was just perfect for us.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Thank you Scott! I enjoyed having you guys. I am sure you will be impressed with all of the additions by next year! You guys left the home is such clean condition, I hardly had anything to do. Oh, and BTW, another thing we have in common, I lived in Ontario, NY until age 5. My dad grew up in Rochester. :) Come back soon, ya'll hear?!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystalhw...
Shady Valley, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what Shady Valley needed”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We recently had a large group of friends stay over the weekend here. It worked PERFECT. It's a super nice place and has a lot of room! Very well done!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Thank you! We enjoyed having you. This area is too beautiful not to share! It really is the best kept secret of vacation spots! I am glad your friends were happy with their stay. We look forward to seeing you again! Updates are frequently being made, so next year they may notice even more space and activities.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing