We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school Dairy Bar”

Karin's Kustard & Hamburgers
Ranked #1 of 10 Quick Bites in Smyrna
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

This is no 5 star dining experience, but it's cute and the food is tasty. It's a nice little detour from the restaurant circuit. My kids enjoyed the picnic tables dining experience. It was a fun way to take them out for a meal while Mommy was working late. The soft serve ice cream was nice treat for the drive home. It reminds me of a little joint from my childhood.

Karin is also my daughter's name, so she had been begging me to go for quite some time. (See photo of happy little girl holding a strawberry ice cream cone). ☺ She wanted a souvenir t-shirt but was told they were out and searching for a new supplier.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Bluetorasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 68 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

So Karin makes some decent ice cream. It's not the best I've ever had not the worst. The food on the other hand is an entirely different story. The only way I imagine this place stays open is that locals have a sense of duty to buy from there. My family went and got hamburgers and hot dogs, and corn dogs, and ice cream. The fries are below fast food grade frozen Sysco type fries, they are the cheapest thing money can buy from a food supplier. The burgers, if that incredibly thin tasteless mashed patty can be called that was terrible. Had no flavor, no substance, no redeeming quality. The hot dog was nothing special just a boiled hot dog. The corn dog was a frozen item that was deep fried into oblivion. It was served blackened, although not meant to be. The outer burnt crust was like chewing reused firewood. The only thing of any quality was the ice cream. If you must frequent this place but the frozen desserts. Stay away from the "food"

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank K2882LXandrewb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

One of the best. Love it. Fast and friendly (these 2 things rarely come together these days). Locally owned and operated. Its one of those places that you come across, and all of a sudden, its your go to spot.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

We were out and about looking at houses for sale and saw this little place on the side of the road and wasn't in the mood to eat but the menu looked fantastic and decided to try a large milkshake and it was beyond amazing. I tried a large extra extra banana and this fat boy was in heaven

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank ChrisF5024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

Quick service drive thru
Good burgers
Good chili
Good shakes
Great frozen custard
Great for kids
Crowded at times, plan ahead

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank suntan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Karin's Kustard & Hamburgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing