We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, So-So Campground” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Daze Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazy Daze Campground
Pensacola, FL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Location, So-So Campground”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

The location is just outside the entrance to the Smoky Mountain National Park in Townsend, a quiet little town. We have stayed several times in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge, but don't enjoy the crowds and commercialism of these tourist traps - we will stay in Townsend or Wear Valley from now on. Lazy Daze has very small spots, you will have very little privacy, but the sites are nicely shaded so we never even put up our awning. Our water heater sprang a leak on the first day so we had to use the public restrooms which, like the rest of the campground, is starting to look a little run down and not always as clean as we would like. The showers were small and had a lot of "redneck engineering," which made the place look even more run-down and dingy. I didn't like their policy of no refunds, no matter how much notice you give, but it worked out for us with no problems. All in all, not a terrible place, but I think I'll look for something a little nicer next time, even if it does cost more.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pensacola_FLYar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    9
    7
    7
    16
See reviews for
44
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

We stayed here over Memorial Day and loved it! The staff was very friendly and always have a smile on their face and willing to help with anything. The campground was always very clean and the maintenance man was in the campground all day checking on people to see if they needed anything or just to talk for a minute. If you go you have to get an ice cream at the store from grandma, the ice cream is great and grandma loves to joke with the customers.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beartrucking6807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horton,al
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

Used to love Lazy Daze, but since the new owners took over this place has gone down hill fast. The store and office hardly ever stay open, and the maintenance is a joke. Will not stay there again. On down the road is wonderful at the Riverstione Lodge

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

My family and I were suppose to stay there Thursday - Sunday in one of their little cabins and ended up leaving Friday morning. Before we went to bed on Thursday night we killed 3 cockroaches and 2 spiders inside the cabin. During the night, the fridge leaked water in the floor which brought snails into the cabin. It was dirty and the management was very unprofessional. They would not give our money back nor even a discount for our inconvenience and stated they we must have brought the roaches with "US". I will never stay there again, as we stayed last year and enjoyed it. We ended up leaving and wasting the money we had already paid and drove a little further up the road to KOA and I highly recommend this campground. It is a great place to stay for tent sites or lodges!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaceesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickelsville, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

My fiance and I had originally planned on staying with them a month, and the price was not that bad, due to family emergencies we had to alter our arrangements. We had already given a $100.00 deposit and was told by the elderly lady that "works" there that we could only apply that to a two night stay and in one of the worst spots in the campground! Their "non river site rate" is $38 so basically they got us for an extra $24, which, had the old woman been a little more professional or even offered us a better site may not have been so bad. Her attitude towards us was unprofessional and extremely offensive. I would advise anyone to chose one of the better campgrounds in Townsend.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InchwormFromVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

My family and I have been camping in townsend for years, and we really enjoy lazy daze, the staff is friendly and very helpfull, if they don't have it in there store they can tell you where you can get it. The campground although on the small side, has spacious sites, with a concrete pad on most for you to have a nice place to site under your awning, and the river sites have a porch that overlooks the river, and shelters the Pinochet tables. The bathrooms are a little dated, but are always clean. The playground for the kids is nice, and the saltwater soft liner pool is very nice. The campground is in hte location to tube down from the Y. We have been staying at lazy daze for four years, and have plans of going several times this year. I highly reconend trying this place out. They are cheaper then some of the bigger places and offer the same qaulity of campsites. just tell them trouble sent you!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smokegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

Have been camping here for about 4 years probably at least once or twice a month average.Great location,great people,clean,on the river,shady in the summer,quiet in the winter.Great clean pool for the kids and a playground


Tracy

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryvilleTlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsend hotels
3.1 km away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Cades Cove Inn
0.8 km away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#1 of 10 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#2 of 10 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
2.7 km away
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Daze Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Daze Campground

Property: Lazy Daze Campground
Address: 8429 Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Townsend
Number of rooms: 74
Also Known As:
Lazy Daze Campground Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing