We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting (decor) for the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Big Spring
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Big Spring
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
165 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Interesting (decor) for the area”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We were enroute from the east coast to the west coast, when a blizzard shut our 'northern route' down and we had to detour through Texas-and traveling with a pet, La Quinta is our first choice. Upon arrival I was impressed with how new this one was. But during the stay, I found myself amused at how..out of place it seemed. Here in the middle of oil country, sits a very trendy-almost NY-ish, boutique-ish? La Quinta. Very modern fixtures in the bathroom, the decorator used lots of black, geometric designs. Place was full of oil workers. They were all very quiet, no doubt from working out in the fields all day! I felt sorry for many folks arriving assuming they would find rooms available. Front desk was turning folks away, but I noted that they were trying to call other hotels in the area to find accommodations for them.
Back to the bathroom, I'm 5'2", and I could NOT wash my face (easily that is) because the counter was too high, and I couldn't bend over it to rinse. Seems petty maybe, but really...what a pain. I needed a booster chair.
So, my husband was out walking our dog, and struck up a conversation with a local. According to this local, this hotel was built in record time (hence, all the little boo-boo's and shoddy workmanship noted in previous reviews) Maybe this is what happens when there's not enough supply to fill the demand of oil companies...throw up a hotel, quick! I too noticed many, many construction issues and short cuts. Now, this doesn't take away from whether or not it was comfortable. It was very comfortable. Absolutely no complaints there. Room was very big-bed was wonderful, and it was quiet.
What was left of breakfast in the morning was really just OK-most of these places are all about the same. Most of the time, one just needs to use some imagination.
Front desk staff was very very friendly. Night staff suggested a place for a fast bite for dinner-morning gal was very pleasant-perky first thing in the morning isn't always easy. You could tell she was very happy to be working there...nice change from some places I've been where the staff almost seems to be upset they have a job!

Room Tip: Make reservations well in advance, as it was full on a weekday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    51
    14
    12
    11
See reviews for
58
37
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Spring, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Hotel is new and rooms pretty but staff poor. Room had faulty lock. Called front desk and was told by person answering she would come and look at it but she failed to come so after approx. 40 min I called again. Different person answered and said someone would come. This time person came. This woman proceeded to inform us that the lock was intentionally made to not function!

The walls in this hotel are paper thin with very little sound insulation. In our room traffic noise was heard as if trucks were rolling through the room.

Again looks nice will never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Even though this is one of the newest hotels in Big Spring, it's already showing signs of wear. The caulk in the shower surround was beginning to mildew, the soap dish had been broken off, the door to the room was cracked, and the hallways and elevator were a little dirty. Breakfast is decent, with waffles, eggs, bacon, etc., but it was not nearly good as some other chains. Despite these problems, it's still a good hotel. The rooms are clean, and the staff is really nice. I would still stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raoulduke101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard, Texas
Level Contributor
388 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Stayed here this week with my company on business. The rooms are nice, clean, comfortable. The breakfast was the best of the whole trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack2148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We had a short stopover here on our way to historic Fredericksburg. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the accommodation was spotlessly clean and comfortable - in fact given this is a chain establishment the staff seemed to go out of their way to make sure visitors still receive an individual experience. There is a very reasonably priced cajan texan kitchen restaurant nearby which is useful if you do not want to drive too far for dinner at night. Breakfast at the Inn was fairly basic but fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cag65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The staff is great. A full hot breakfast. And the rooms are wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmiepooh1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel on a business trip and the people there were absoulutely wonderful. I always stay at a La Quinta hotel when I travel, and this hotel ranks up there. I especially enjoy the cleanliness of the room and the beds are super comfortable. Even though I get up early in the morning for breakfast, the staff was very helpful and cheerful. They always looked at me with a smile. I strongly recommend if you are traveling through Big Spring.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexi125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Spring hotels
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Big Spring
2.4 km away
Hotel Settles
Hotel Settles
#1 of 17 in Big Spring
268 reviews
0.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Big Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Big Spring
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Palace Inn & Suites
4.1 km away
Quality Inn Big Spring
Quality Inn Big Spring
#5 of 17 in Big Spring
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Big Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Big Spring

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Big Spring
Address: 1102 IH 20 West, Big Spring, TX 79720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Big Spring
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Big Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Big Spring 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, LaQuinta and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Big Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Big Spring Hotel Big Spring
La Quinta Inn And Suites Big Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing