We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Experience”
Review of Gaia Riverlodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gaia Riverlodge
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Magical Experience”
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Gaia was an incredible experience. The location right on the falls along with the accomodations were straight out of a movie set. But what made this trip special was the staff. Everyone went out of their way to make our trip something to remember. Calvert and Darryl for making our tours memorable, and Lucy, Nigel and Reuben for taking care of all of our needs at the lodge.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the falls are worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portia415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
157
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Pond, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We originally planned to go to Belize to enjoy some beach time and snorkeling on the reef, but decided to combine our trip with some time in the forest. We couldn't have been happier with that choice and especially with our choice of Gaia Riverlodge as our home base for three days. The setting is beautiful and whether you sit on the deck at the gorgeous main lodge and sip a drink overlooking the river and falls with birds zipping here and there and butterflies flitting from flower to flower or whether you hike the trails and venture down to the river by tram or stairs, you will enjoy being surrounded by nature at its finest. We enjoyed taking a few dips in the river and under falls, both at the resort and at nearby waterfalls also. The cottages are immaculate, comfortable and charming. The restaurant has a small menu with delicious options - as you might expect from the finest restaurants. The staff is friendly and helpful, providing very personalized attention. We enjoyed several excursions-to the Mayan Ruins and to the Actun Tunichil Cave. Both tours were set up through Gaia and were absolutely amazing with very informative guides. This was a dream trip! Gaia Riverlodge is a little slice of heaven!

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lin735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We wanted to have a small, intimate wedding with our closest family members and Gaia was the perfect venue. We were given the option to choose where we wanted to have the ceremony. The staff spent the entire morning beautifully decorating the area and went above and beyond what we expected with flowers in the water and decorating the tram that takes you down to the waterfalls. They also provided a bouquet that was just beautiful and made me really sad to leave behind. They also decorated the dining area for our dinner that night. The wonderful staff at Gaia made our wedding very special.
We chose Gaia because we read in other reviews that they offered vegan and vegetarian options (my husband and I are both vegan). We asked for some sort of vegan dessert for the wedding and were expecting chopped fruit or chocolate mousse or something easy. But as with everyone else at Gaia, the chef came up with a list of about 10 vegan dessert options to choose from! Our dessert was exceptional.
The staff at Gaia are a special bunch and the location is very beautiful and serene. We hope to come back to celebrate our anniversary :)

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Not only is this location beautiful, it successfully combines nature, with comfort. The staff is among the best I have ever known. They really know how to make you feel as if you are their only guest. The food is always delicious, and as an added bonus, there is a garden on site, so most of the fruits and vegetables are fresh. I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelTampa_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We spent two nights at the Gaia, and wish we had stayed on many more! This eco-friendly resort is absolutely magnificent, the scenery breathtaking and the room enchanting. We received a very warm welcome and were treated very kindly during our stay. We had the opportunity to do a lot of hiking, swimming in natural pools, zip lining, and cave exploring, We witnessed incredible wildlife too. It was therefore all we could've hoped for, and more! We will not hesitate to return to this delightful resort and part of the world.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller4267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2016

My family was visiting for the 8 night reef and rainforest package August 1-8, 2016. We were picked up by Calbert at the International airport and driven to Gaia, we enjoyed a wonderful welcome and dinner and we were looking forward to our adventures the next day. The following day Calbert a fantastic guide, took us to canoe Barton Creek, after our return we biked and hiked to the falls, both activities were amazing!

That night, Nigel the hotel manager informed us a class 1 hurricane was on its way and we needed to be evacuated the following morning! We were shocked, we had only been on our all inclusive vacation for a day and a half. The next morning Gaia drove us one and a half hrs away to put us up at safer accommodations until the storm passed. We Listened to the storm all night and the next day went into San Ignacio which was half underwater due to the flooding Macal River. Nigel kept in touch with us and informed us we would be driven 3 hrs south to Placencia, where we could continue our vacation in a beach town. He also put a hold on rooms at a couple different hotels for us to choose from. We were driven to them allowed to pick which fit us best and were able to check into a Beach Resort. We were then able to enjoy the last 3 nights of our vacation and book activities. He also lined up our flight from Placencia to Belize to catch our flight home.

The trip was not the all inclusive high end vacation as planned, but we were safe at all times and the unplanned vacation ended up being fantastic and truly unforgettable.

I can't express enough how amazing it was to have Nigel get us to safety from the Hurricane and then drive us to a new location to continue our vacation. I didn't have a rental car and was not familiar enough with Belize to be able to come up with an exit plan with alternative lodging. Nigel also was willing to review our all inclusive trip and refund unused portions. Wow, that's customer service at it's best!!!

Thank you everyone at Gaia Lodge for your fantastic Service!!!
Sincerely Kevin, Virginia and Gavin Harrington

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016

My husband and I visited Gaia this past July and were very impressed with how beautiful and serene this river lodge is (the drive is a lot longer than expected; when you turn off the main road out of Belize City it is all dirt for about an hour). We had never been to Belize before, so we wanted to experience both the inland and coast destinations. I used Trip Advisor and a few travel guides to learn about places to stay, and fell in love with Gaia from the pictures and reviews from past travelers. You never know, however, until you experience a place for yourself, but Gaia didn't disappoint. I was very happy traveling to Belize in July; very uncrowded due to it not being the peak season, and it felt like we had Gaia to ourselves. There were, in fact, other guests, but there is such a great sense of privacy and personal service there; you never feel like you are part of a tourist horde. The service was so friendly and down to earth, we engaged in conversation with our servers at the restaurant everyday, especially Lucy; who had such great local knowledge. The Five Sisters Falls directly below the lodge was just amazing; they have built a few cabanas down on the river to enjoy the beauty and serenity (if you don't want the challenge of 200 steps up and down, they have a little tram). I went down there on our last morning very early for a swim; a special moment to remember. The room are fabulous, just like the pictures on their site and on Trip Advisor. We booked a waterfall view cabana and it was spectacular; comfortable beds with mosquito netting, gorgeous furnishings. Be warned though; there is no internet or TV's etc. in the rooms. It is a place to unplug and unwind, but they do have Wi-Fi in the bar and restaurant. We ate there exclusively during our stay since we were there for only 3 days and were gone all day for the 2 full days of our stay due to site seeing at Caracol (we went by ourselves in our rental jeep and Gaia prepared and packed an amazing lunch for us) and ATM Cave (we booked this with a private tour company). But the restaurant was great; the food not cheap but better than expected. Again the service was excellent. Make sure to order the Basil Mint Martini... so perfect. I think my only complaint, and this is consistent with all my experiences with Belize, is that the coffee was not great. No espresso, no in-room coffee, and the coffee was not ready in the restaurant until 6:30 am. Ok for some, but not for us; especially my husband who gets up around 5 or 5:30 most days. We experienced this at another location we stayed also, and I hope that the resorts and lodges in Belize figure this out since early mornings there are so pleasant and beautiful, and most people who get up early would like to have a coffee in hand to enjoy their surroundings. Regardless, I would not hesitate to stay there again. We went on the jungle walk trail the first evening, ending up down at the river for a cool water swim, this was predicated with a stop in at their incredible vegetable garden and a lengthy chat with their chief gardener who let us nibble on various herbs and veges. Thanks Gaia (and all the staff; Lucy, Ruben and others) for a memorable visit and for being part of a very special trip to Belize.

Room Tip: Waterfall Cabana. Spend a bit more and get a Cabana with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmandPete50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
34.9 km away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
621 reviews
3.4 km away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
433 reviews
12.1 km away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
811 reviews
9.2 km away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
377 reviews
5.5 km away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Riverlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Riverlodge

Property: Gaia Riverlodge
Address: P.O. Box 173, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaia Riverlodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Eco-Lodge is located in the Scenic Mountain Pine Ridge Forest Reserve. We offer earthy yet stylish thatch roofed cabanas with excellent views of our waterfalls or Mountain Range, amazingly comfortable beds, Frette and Matouk linens and towels and bathrooms with hand painted Mexican tiles. Among our amenities are our natural fresh water pools, waterfalls, authentic Belizean cuisine, nature trails, day tours to the many Maya archaeological sites and adventure trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Gaia Riverlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Sisters Lodge
Five Sisters Hotel San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing