We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodge in the jungle right by the river”
Review of Gaia Riverlodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gaia Riverlodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great lodge in the jungle right by the river”
Reviewed 29 December 2016

This is a great lodge with amazing staff. The whole resort has been very tastefully decorated, and very well maintained. The cabanas are very clean and comfortable. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The food is good. The location is perfect for some outdoor activities. We did the hiking tour and the cultural tour which were fun. We also swam in the river. You just neec to walk down or take funicular from the hotel. There are hamacs, chairs, beach beds etc.

Room Tip: We had a mountain view cabanas that very comfortably accommodated me, my wife and our 16 years old s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noyan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
157
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

From the moment you arrive on this spectacular, remote, jungle paradise you know you're in for a treat. We arrived just as the sun was setting over the beautiful pine ridge mountains and were greeted with fantastic hospitality and delicious welcome cocktails that we enjoyed on the deck overlooking the five sisters waterfall. This place is magical. The rooms, the food, the scenery, the service… All excellent. You will not be disappointed. We felt like we were on honeymoon. Highly recommended. In fact, we went for drinks at the nearby Blancanaux and I think this is nicer.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SueKSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clackamas, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Gaia felt like the Jurassic Park set with the friendliest staff you could ever hope for. Our stay was very comfortable and we loved the way the staff treated us like family. The property is situated above a spectacular waterfall with a great swimming and lounging area. To our great surprise and delight, there were fewer biting insects here than at the coast. Do take advantage of the tours and activities available. We only had time for the trip to Caracol, but it was an awesome adventure. If you're a water person, you'll love the tours in the local area. All the other guests were raving about them and I'd like to return someday to take those in.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the waterfall view room from our private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookinbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Giai was truly a hidden gem in every way...the rooms, the view, the food, the staff, especially the staff, Aisha, Sam in the garden, Talbert, (amazing guide .driver) and everyone else, fabulous in every way. Going there is truly a lifetime experience. The pictures here don't do it justice. Going to the Mayan ruins is a must.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc7157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Lunas, New Mexico, United States
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Gaia was an amazing place and the staff was incredible. Unfortunately we ended up here during tropical storm Otto and even though it's a heavenly place, there isn't much that can be done here in a rain storm that lasts for days. Good news is we spent the evening playing board games which turned out to be fun. The tours we wanted to go on were cancelled and their Wifi was down. The staff was so very helpful. They helped us rebook to their sister property on Ambergris Caye where there would be more for my 16 year old to do. The room was very special, the resort was unbelievably gorgeous and immaculately kept. I hope to visit again when the weather isn't so bad.

Stayed November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Gaia was an incredible experience. The location right on the falls along with the accomodations were straight out of a movie set. But what made this trip special was the staff. Everyone went out of their way to make our trip something to remember. Calvert and Darryl for making our tours memorable, and Lucy, Nigel and Reuben for taking care of all of our needs at the lodge.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the falls are worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portia415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Pond, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We originally planned to go to Belize to enjoy some beach time and snorkeling on the reef, but decided to combine our trip with some time in the forest. We couldn't have been happier with that choice and especially with our choice of Gaia Riverlodge as our home base for three days. The setting is beautiful and whether you sit on the deck at the gorgeous main lodge and sip a drink overlooking the river and falls with birds zipping here and there and butterflies flitting from flower to flower or whether you hike the trails and venture down to the river by tram or stairs, you will enjoy being surrounded by nature at its finest. We enjoyed taking a few dips in the river and under falls, both at the resort and at nearby waterfalls also. The cottages are immaculate, comfortable and charming. The restaurant has a small menu with delicious options - as you might expect from the finest restaurants. The staff is friendly and helpful, providing very personalized attention. We enjoyed several excursions-to the Mayan Ruins and to the Actun Tunichil Cave. Both tours were set up through Gaia and were absolutely amazing with very informative guides. This was a dream trip! Gaia Riverlodge is a little slice of heaven!

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lin735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
34.9 km away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
621 reviews
3.4 km away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
433 reviews
12.1 km away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
811 reviews
9.2 km away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
377 reviews
5.5 km away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Riverlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Riverlodge

Property: Gaia Riverlodge
Address: P.O. Box 173, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaia Riverlodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Eco-Lodge is located in the Scenic Mountain Pine Ridge Forest Reserve. We offer earthy yet stylish thatch roofed cabanas with excellent views of our waterfalls or Mountain Range, amazingly comfortable beds, Frette and Matouk linens and towels and bathrooms with hand painted Mexican tiles. Among our amenities are our natural fresh water pools, waterfalls, authentic Belizean cuisine, nature trails, day tours to the many Maya archaeological sites and adventure trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Gaia Riverlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Sisters Lodge
Five Sisters Hotel San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing